We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Ranked #3 of 134 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good, but......”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

All good but only one BIG remark:
My child broke his finger at the pool, no one of the staff could help with any first aid. I had to phone a doctor myself at the reception.
Very bad, lets hope that nothing will happen with future guests....... no first aid available in this hotel.......

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arthur W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Arthur W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review of the resort. We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We are sorry to hear about the incident happened to your son. Regarding the first aids, I can confirm you that we have the first aid a kit available at most places in the hotel. In your case, the closest one would be at Kids Club where normally the minor injured guests from the pool or the sea are brought in for assistance. In major cases, the guests are recommended to see doctor or specialist for proper treatments.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,718
    385
    86
    40
    19
See reviews for
651
1,130
72
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was my second visit to the Centara with my family. The last time we had visited was 7 years ago and we stayed in a pool villa, this time I booked the deluxe club room and I have to say found the Hotel even better than I remmeber it. Our room was magnificent with 2 double beds and plenty of room to move around, the room has such a high ceiling that it feels even larger. The bathroom was also very large with a seperate shower and bath. Our terace was furnished with sun beds and table and we were only seven steps away from the garden pool!!! The club facilities have much improved and I also prefer were it is now. Staff at the club were extremly helpful, freindly and pleasant, nothing was too much trouble for them.There are 4 pools here with 1 being near the villas and we would visit most of them most days. Garden pool in the morning to chill and sunbath, one near the beach to play ball in and use the swim up bar and then the other near the beach we would use when we wanted a swim in the sea. Food was so good here we did 3 of the buffet nights and they offered so much choice!!! Breakfast was amazing too with such a wide choice and cooked freshly. I used the spa as well and was not dissappointed. I personally prefer the deluxe rooms to the villas, felt more in the middle of it all in them.The Hotel is right in the center of Hua Hin, so a short walk to the shops, resturants, bars and night market, you can also get a tuk tuk to Market Village which is a large shopping center for 100bath. I have travelled a lot in Thailand, and Hua Hin and Krabi are my favourite places and the Centara is the only place to stay in Hua Hin. Amazing hotel, amazing staff, amazing food and only a short walk away from all the action!! I will be booking again for next year, you should too!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morrison5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear morrison5,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback following your stay at the resort recently. It was great to welcome you back again to the resort after seven years the last time you were here. We are delighted that you had a good time.

We also very much appreciate your continued support and patronage to our resort. It is very flattering to acknowledge that Centara Grand Hua Hin is the benchmark for you in terms of relaxation resort in Hua Hin, as we continue to do our best to ensure guest satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back again next year, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

After 14 visits in 12 years I think we are sufficiently experienced to review this exceptional Hotel. Please don't go to the Centara Grand (previously Sofitel) in Hua Hin if you are looking for characterless white walls, minimalistic furnishings and average service that some travellers seem to crave. At the Centara Grand Hua Hin you will be transported back to an era when service meant just that - and service with a smile (after all, Thailand is known as the Land of Smiles!).



The rooms, irrespective of grade, are always faultless. Nothing is too much trouble - if one needs picking up at Hua Hin Station, the loan of crutches (following an injury perhaps), help with travel arrangements - even a lift to the nearby Hospital(!) - nothing is too much trouble. All one has to do is to immerse oneself in the style of the Hotel and your every need will be fulfilled.



The staff make the Centara Grand the 1st and only choice in Hua Hin. The Head Chef at breakfast is a real character, always ready to share a few words and remembering just how one likes ones eggs! Cleaning staff (how often does one want to remember them in many hotels in the UK?) are charming and go out of their way to be pleasant and accommodating - and not just for their tip at the end of one's stay. The bar staff, the receptionists, the Management - one could go on and on - suffice to say that this Hotel is a gem and if you hear anyone saying otherwise then suggest they go somewhere else instead next time and not spoil it for the rest of us!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazonemerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear amazonemerald,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review of the resort, which is very much appreciated.

We are very happy to note that as one of our valued returning guest you have enjoyed our service and facilities during your most recent stay with us.

Thank you once again for the wonderful review and we sincerely look forwards to being able to welcome you back to Centara Grand Hua Hin in the future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This place is different from the normal resort with it's sprawling manicured lawns, shrubs cut into shapes of animals and the Colonial architecture which transports you back to a bygone era. From our balcony we overlooked the fountain and two of the pools with the beach as the final backdrop. Our spacious Suite with it's Colonial period furnishings and fitout, dressing room, huge bath (in the huge bathroom) was comfortable and all class. The wrap around balcony with it's sun lounges was a great place for afternoon drinks, reading or to just enjoy the scenery. The Club facilities are highly recommended and it's great to have somewhere to drop into during the day for the complimentary drinks and nibblies or to go to for the complimentary cocktail hour(s) prior to setting out in search of somewhere to dine. The staff are all friendly, helpful and made the stay more memorable. We have stayed in Hua Hin many times before but this place is definitely the best, by a long way.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and get a Suite it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Phillip B,

Thank you very much for highlighting your experience at the resort and we are glad that overall you had a pleasant time.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again to the resort in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely grand colonial hotel amazing staff and wonderful food. Family friendly. Won't disappoint. My only issue and one that is quite personal is the beds need to be softer. Very firm highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All beautifully furnished, lovely gardens and on the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yolanda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear yolanda f,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our resort.

It has been a pleasure to have you with us and we are looking forward to a possible future visit.
Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I now regard this delightful villa resort as our second home in Thailand. When we arrived this time there was a message at reception saying the Manager wished to see us on arrival, he came swiftly to welcome us and make sure that we were satisfied with the arrangements and to assure us that we would be well looked after. We had asked for the same pool villa each time and as you would expect they do say that they cannot guarantee to be able to do this, we have been lucky enough to stay at villa 442 every visit. The standard of provision, standard of service is second to none. The staff are all very charming and delightful, their aim is to make your stay as perfect as possible, most staff have been at the hotel for many years and will recognise you as soon as you see them and will remember your name as well. I shall mention the restaurants in other reviews, but the breakfast beside the pool served by such charming and attentive staff with an excellent choice of very varied food to tempt you to eat heartily. Managers from all departments are always on site making sure everything is spot on, they like to talk to you about your experiences and you really do take the trouble to make your stay as enjoyable as they possibly can. It is said by many of the staff that they just enjoy working in this hotel and I am sure you will see and feel from the atmosphere that it is a happy place! Reception staff will always be helpful and get you taxis, tuktuks and other arrangements. We are getting on a bit in years so like to take advantage of the electric buggy service that ferries back and forth from the Villas to the main hotel complex. I can unreservedly recommend this hotel to anyone, please just do not take my word for this go on book and try it for yourself. I would also advise taking advantage of the club class which gives you snack lunches, drinks, tea.time snacks and evening cocktails all very enjoyable.

Room Tip: I can recommend Pool Villa 442
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johng59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Johng59,

Thank you very much for sharing your relaxing experience at the resort and appreciate your loyalty and patronage. It was great to welcome you back again to the resort.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and truly appreciate the fact that the hotel services meet your expectations.

With our reiterated thanks and look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Centara Grand Hua Hin the next time your travels bring you this way.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We spend just three days here and had the most relaxing time. The resort is spread out around beautifully maintained gardens. The breakfasts were amazing, so much choice. Coffee each afternoon at the "Museum" with cute little macarons, and a lovely cool breeze on the verandah. Our room was the standard Deluxe Room which had plenty of room to spread out. We didn't use the large balcony as it was too hot during our visit. The bathroom was great with a large shower, separate to the bath. The whole decor was well thought out. I think any of the rooms would be fantastic. But I think it is the gardens that set this resort apart from the others. There are paths everywhere, wandering through beautiful gardens. There are three large pool areas, plenty of lounge chairs, and quiet shady areas away from the pool edge. The topiary animals in the grounds are so cute! Well done Centara, a most relaxing end to our six week holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DG_Sydney77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qmgr, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear DG_Sydney77,

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed stay with us. As our main objective is guest satisfaction and we are always motivated when guests are telling us that we succeeded.

With our reiterated thanks and we sincerely hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#1 of 134 in Hua Hin
1,235 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
4.0 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#6 of 134 in Hua Hin
1,849 reviews
2.6 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 134 in Hua Hin
1,115 reviews
2.6 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Address: 1 Damnernkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin first opened its doors in the early 1920s at a time when Hua Hin was still a sleepy coastal village. This five-star beachfront resort was built along the classic lines of that era, with phenomenal gardens and beautifully spacious rooms and suites (up to 170 square metres) with high ceilings, polished hardwood flooring, period furniture, and the warm tones of Thai silk. The resort is also home to 42 single-storey villas that offer privacy and space (up to 120 square metres) and the choice of a Jacuzzi or plunge pool on the terrace. Beside Hua Hin’s gorgeous beach, a stone’s throw away, and a relaxed atmosphere to enjoy to the full, the resort also offers plenty of leisure options for adults and children: four swimming pools and children’s pools, a superb spa, a fitness centre, tennis courts, Muay Thai and Tai Chi classes, and two kids clubs. Plus, the town is outside our door, and some of the best golf courses in Thailand are within easy travelling distance. The, and include a colonial style café and all-day dining restaurant, a Japanese restaurant, a Thai restaurant located near the villas, and the modern COAST Beach Club & Bistro. With its setting on the beach and its elegant atmosphere, the resort also is the perfect setting for a dream wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas Hua Hin
Sofitel Hua Hin
Accor Hua Hin
Hua Hin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing