We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as some reviewers say”
Review of AKA Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AKA Resort & Spa
Ranked #81 of 141 Hotels in Hua Hin
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This is one of those hotels that is quite difficult to rate. Let's look at facts:
1. Location is 10 min drive from HuA hin
2. You need a car or to hire a moped as there is not much nearby
3. Don't confuse it with aka guti which is nicer and more expensive
4. Villas are huge and spacious
5. Cleanliness level is not what you would expect from a 5 star hotel, but it didn't ruin my stay.
6. If you are very particular about cleanliness then stay away
7. Maintenance is required, again it did not ruin my stay
8. Rooftop sala in each villa is very peaceful
9. Price - if I had paid full rack rate I would have been disappointed. However, if you can get a good deal (I paid 3500THB) then it is ok. It is not worth any more than this.
10. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Overall, if I got a cheap price again then I would return. I would rate this as 3-4 star hotel but is has potential to be so much more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeanutsBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for AKA Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2013

we were fortunate to stay on our honeymoon with our son on the opening day .
the pool was very generous in size and well appointed.The choice of keeping the room totally open is excellent as you get a breeze the entire day.My husband and son was fascinated with the shower in the villa that had jets with various pressure from different angles.the villa was very tastefully decorated and even though it was the first day of the opening they catered for almost every detail needed to make your stay more than comfortable. the staff were very courteous and always ready to help .The daily choices of breakfast especially prepared is an excellent idea and was well prepared.
I would definitely recommend the villa ,
thanks to all at AKA Resorts Hua Hin that made our stay memorable.

Room Tip: One bed room pool and spa
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alizee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Affordable - yes. But, affordable should not mean a resort that appears to have very low standards in maintenance and cleanliness. This resort had the bones to be a fabulous quiet retreat, however it sadly is far from this. We booked AKA as a last minute booking due to our reservation at another resort in Kui Buri being cancelled (heavy storm weather damaged our villa). Five of us travelled from Bangkok to celebrate my birthday weekend and what an absolute let down - I am just thankful that we had a fabulous hotel booked back in Bangkok to make up for 2 nights in filthy accomodation.

I am not usually one to complain much nor do I often write bad reviews. If this resort was simply outdated and a bit simple I would not complain due to the price point - but no one should accept rooms that are not clean.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LukeMcCarthyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

All in all the bargain prices that are on offer at the moment for AKA (we paid 5000 a night for a two bedroom pool villa) reflect the fact that the place is run down and not really worth any more than that. I did think it was reasonable value at 5000 a night, mainly because it's so spacious and the pool is a decent enough size. You can see that when new, this place would have been lovely; the problem is a lack of maintenance and poor standard of cleaning (on arrival we found a used band aid next to pool, plastic bag in pool, toothpaste splashes on tiles in the bathroom as examples) which also must reflect poor level of management given that cleaning hasn't been tackled despite all the customers mentioning it on here! The gym is a joke - a few antiquated machines in a dilapidated building in a room that stank of mold. The check in was very nice with a lovely drink and cakes and the staff were warm and friendly. Even if they could just SORT OUT THE CLEANING this resort could be restored to a place people would choose to come to, without needed vouchers/deals as an incentive.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monsoon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We've spent a great time in Huahin thanks to AKA Resort Huahin. We've booked a full trip with them including 4 days in AKA Resort Huahin. They've organised everything for us and we've spent a great time. Honestly, my husband and myself have enjoyed far more the time we've spent in AKA Resort Huahin than the rest of the trip. The North of Huahin is more quiet and has been far more attractive for us than the ultra touristic parts of Huahin. The quietness of AKA Resort Huahin, the view from the pool, the kindness of the personnel and, above evrything, the quality of the fantastic massages and treatments we've received have made our stay there unforgettable. Thanks to all the staff again and we'll most probably come back again !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yan qin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We are very disappointed with this hotel! It can said a cheating!!! We have never been there and found it online. The pics are very nice and it said it was just established since 2007. We thought it shouldn't be so bad... However, when we arrived, everything is just like a 2 stars hotel in 15 years before China! The rooms are more terrible!!! Dirty pools, old & dirty rooms, bad front desknservice....I belived that this hotel has over 15 years old, with no renovation. Absoultly different with the pics online.... they said they just have 4 rooms renovated like the pics on theirvweb site! Finally, we needed to pay to upgrade to their another hotel , that one-- Guti AKA. In fact, it's Guti got the 5 stars! THIS IS MOST TERRIBLE HOTEL I EVER BEEN TO! DO NOT TRUST THEIR ADVERTISMENTS or you will ruin your vacations! Black listed!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
6  Thank Mandymak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a couple of friends and so I had the chance to see a few villas such as 147, 151 etc. We all stayed in e one bedroom deluxe villas. Generally I find the villas quite well maintained and although some spots such as behind the bed and e outside tub is not very clean, given e size of e villas I can understand. The one bedroom deluxe villas really have 2 full sized ensuite rooms in 2 small separate buildings and so it is possible to stay 4 adults per villa. If you are w friends this is e better option but for a couple you will enjoy the privacy and the open space. The wc is situated inside e enclosed bathroom but e shower n tub are both in the open portion of the bathroom and if you are someone who is afraid of the dark you will not enjoy it. I find the pool n the deck area v clean as well but I saw a villa with a muddy pool however tis was not assigned to any guests and I saw them cleaning the pool the next day with a big filter machine. Actually I have no complaint with the villas and given the rates I paid It was very good value for money. The breakfast area was also very nice and all food were covered up to prevent insects from falling onto them. The egg station is very good serving up all kinds of eggs imaginable including eggs benedict. Many selection of pastries and fresh bread too which we enjoyed. Every morning we have a very relax and unhurried having breakfast here. And the coffee is great. You can have cupacino and lattes instead of just brewed coffee. The staff and the on duty manager, Kate, was really nice and friendly. We made lots of requests and have many questions for her which she readily answered. Wifi coverage is a problem but you can always call them and they will reset it. Overall I like the resort it wasnt as bad as how some reviews made it out to be. It was really pretty well maintained, huge and a very relaxing place. Yes it is not brandnew but i can see them making an effort to upkeep the place and some villas were under renovation when I was there. Some villas even have flat screen tv but most have the old boxy tv.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyFeet25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKATeam, General Manager at AKA Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Dear HappyFeet25,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience of your recent stay at the resort.
We are pleased to learn that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay. We appreciate your kind comments on the hotel 's grounds, room and the service from our team members.
We hope to welcome you back to AKA Resort Hua Hin soon.
With sincere regards,
Kriengsak Hansa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
4.6 mi away
The Lapa Hua Hin Hotel
The Lapa Hua Hin Hotel
#41 of 141 in Hua Hin
142 reviews
5.6 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#10 of 141 in Hua Hin
1,274 reviews
3.1 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 141 in Hua Hin
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
2.7 mi away
Dhevan Dara Resort & Spa Hotel
5.9 mi away
Baan Talay Dao Resort
Baan Talay Dao Resort
#36 of 141 in Hua Hin
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Resort & Spa

Address: 160 Moo 7, Baan Nhong Hiang | Hin Lek Fai, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#35 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range: £47 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AKA Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA Resort Hua Hin offers private villas inspired by Thailand's meditative traditions. Tucked away in the hills of Hua Hin, the resort's private villas showcase elegant design and amenities. Personal infinity pools and nature open spas provide guests with a private oasis amidst Thailand's tropical landscape. Reflecting Hua Hin's unique cultural heritage, AKA Resort Hua Hin is a rejuvenating and peaceful retreat from the stresses of daily life. Each villa is infused with an ambience of tranquility, permeating the pools, terraces, and sala rooftop gardens.AKA Resort Guti translates Thailand's traditional monastery experience into an exclusive villa getaway. Nestled in the hills of Hua Hin, the resort offers private villas, each one inspired by meditative Thai traditions and elegant Thai architecture. With infinity pools and garden terraces, the exclusive villas provide relaxing sanctuaries amidst tropical landscapes and panoramic view of Hua Hin. Hua Hin's history as a retreat destination for Thailand's monarchy affords the area with an air of nobility and tranquility, steeped in traditional Thai luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AKA Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Hotel Resort And Spa
Aka Resort Hua Hin
Aka Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing