We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great private place to start the new year”
Review of AKA Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AKA Resort & Spa
Ranked #106 of 144 Hotels in Hua Hin
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We were group of 5 friends and we had enjoyed our stay there.

We could swim in our own private pool anytime. Breakfast is various and delicious. The villa dining was delicious and not over-priced. We had some drinks at the bar and watching the sunset, beautiful!

The staffs were nice and helpful. The resort is not far from town.

Great start and recharging stay before back to work.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kannika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrille K, General Manager at AKA Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Kannika A

Thank you very much for taking the time to review AKA Resorts following your recent stay.
I am please to read that you have had an enjoyable time with us and that the privacy and facilities provided were satisfying.
Rest assured that your feedbacks will be communicated to all concerned.

Once again thank you for your time and most especially for choosing AKA Resorts for your stay.

We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit and stay at AKA.

Kind regards,

Cyrille.K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

Nice and Quiet!
Somehow you can be nicely surprised after all.
Having spent a few days in AKA Resorts before moving up to Guti (sister property) we were happy to stick with our choice in trying AKA. We were originally skeptical in regards of the previous negative comments that this property has, though the recent ones seemed to make justice to the place so why not go ahead and try!
We were nicely welcome upon arrival courteous and nice not impressive but polite.
The mango and lemon grass welcome drink was a nice twist and original.
Checking procedures done we were then driven to our villa by buggy the resort at first glanced looked impressively quiet with a well manicured landscape.
Discovering our villa we were thrilled to see that this was in very good conditions looks like this villa has had some work on which was very nice and clean.
Good size private pool with again a nice enclosed garden, super private with no vis a vis.
Time for a quick swim even so the weather was unusually cool it was a delight.

To our disappointment we learned the restaurant was closed for dinner but that their other restaurant in Guti was available with free shuttle to get there, this seemed odd at first a resort with no operating restaurant for dinner but we thought to give it a try and were certainly happy with this option.

The following morning we met the GM during breakfast who kindly was inquiring with guests how they were and if there was anything he could do to ensure all was fine with our villa and during our stay.
We thought this pleasant and professional.

We inquired on the activities we could do around while chatting with the GM whom recommended us if interested to visit the Vineyards (Hua Hin Hills) 40 miles away where you can enjoy tasting locally produced wines and have a relaxing afternoon which we did and it was truly amazing.

The standards are not of a five star property this is a fact, the service does need improvement to be consistent but the staff we met were nice, approachable and friendly so this made it up for the hits and miss we encountered. We kept in mind the rate we paid for as well.
So to be honest if you think AKA as a 4 star with the price you pay for a private villa with pool it is good value for money in comparison to a shoe box size bedroom you would experience elsewhere at a similar price.

The space provided and the privacy of AKA is brilliant we really had a very good stay left totally relaxed and ready to experience Guti.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank casastyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrille K, General Manager at AKA Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Casastyles,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property following your recent stay with us at AKA Resort.

Going through your detailed feedbacks and comments, I am very happy to see that you have had an overall pleasant stay with us and that you have enjoyed what we have to offer.
As for all reviews it is being addressed to all concerned this when it is positive to bring the team to realize that efforts are not for nothing and of course when negative that more is required to reach our guests expectations.

I am glad to see that our team even though with its actual lack of English communication skills have demonstrated genuine warmth and friendliness

As you rightly state we are actually working on our villas to palliate the lack of maintenance from the past years which we have inherited.
It is of course pleasant when our guests recognize that we are actually doing something about our issues and shortcomings rather than the opposite.
This said and as we discussed it will take time for us to get back to where we expect to be.
Though in the last three months we can notice considerable changes step by step.
I do understand well your view on our actual standards which I will admit that you are correct as we are not standing at 5 star luxury property level this is true and I will not hide behind false excuses.

I appreciate you have well noticed that the space, privacy and the private pool provided are quite unique in comparison.

Once again thank you for your time and constructive feedbacks.

We are looking forward to welcome you back during your next stay.

Kind regards,

Cyrille.K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Ichreisegern543
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cyrille K, General Manager at AKA Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 January 2014

If you use this resort as a room to sleep in whilst you are out all day sight seeing and spending your evenings in Hua Hin ,you are missing the point. To really experience the essence of AKA you need to spend time at the Villa , luxuriating in the space , tranquility and above all the privacy that the walled garden with its beautiful private pool provides.It was such a privilege every morning to throw open the curtains and step out from our bedroom into our own private idyll. Why would you want to stay in a hotel room when for the same cost you could have
all of this.

Yes sometimes things did not work as they should and the service could be a little patchy but if
something was wrong we just let them know , especially the GM, who is so willing to help and where necessary, put things right. In our experience the difference between a good resort and a great one is they way that they deal with a problem or go out of their way to make the experience a good one.

We ate every evening at their sister resort Guti. The food was wonderful , more so because they are happy to offer to cook things that are not on the menu and even to surprise you if that is what you want. It was like having your own personal chef. Watching the sunset at the bar over pre-dinner drinks was unforgettable.

As other reviews have stated it errs on the side of simplicity rather than sumptuousness, but if that is what you like you will love it here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickybeach2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrille K, General Manager at AKA Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Nickybeach2014,

Thank you for your comments and feedbacks as for reviewing AKA Resort following your stay .
Much appreciate you took the time to do this in earnest way describing your experience with us.
I am impressed on how well you have understood the original idea and what has always been behind AKA concept when it has been first open. Recover, Relax and Rejuvenate! This in total privacy optimizing the wide space available in peacefulness and quietness.

We are well aware of our shortcomings in terms of service and standards which the all Team is of course working on to re-establish it as it used to be when we first opened.
Years have passed since, millions of excuses could be done though this is not the point.
We are all looking into the future and how we will be able to get back to the original essence.

My apologies that the service was patchy which is undeniable and trust me this is coming to change.
As for all things it takes time, tenacity and of course dedication.

I am glad that you have enjoyed our Chef’s cuisine as for its quality, as well his ability to spontaneously provide what is not on the menu.

Once again thank you for your time and review.

AKA Team is looking forward to welcome you back on your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Cyrille.K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The AKA Resort Hua Hin did not deliver to the promises on it's website. While it claims to be a 5-star property, we had a 3-star experience. The only thing nice about the property was the private pool in the Villa. The rooms had a "dorm" feel, with old furniture and dirty tops. The TV's in the rooms were ancient dust collecting boxes with limited channels. The main hotel restaurant offered a very limited selection of food. I ordered a "kra phao ghai" (not on the menu, a typical Thai dish -chicken and basil leaves), and the portion they gave was embarrassingly less. Only fine dining restaurants would have the audacity to serve such portions because of the confidence in their quality. The dish was bland. The service level was also quite terrible with barely any staff in sight. The property is extremely under staffed. The morning buffet breakfast was not bad, but nothing great. Overall, the experience was bad and I would not return to the property again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank devdoowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrille K, General Manager at AKA Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Devdoowa,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property AKA Resorts.
I do appreciate the directness of your constructive comments and feedbacks.
All details mentioned in your review will be addressed to all concerned.
My apologies that your experience with us as for your stay has not been to your expectation from all angles.
One fact though that I would like to highlight is that none of this has been raised to the management at any stage during your stay.
So to be fair for us to improve your experience this should have been addressed directly to us in person while you were here.
If it had been the case this review would not have this content as all necessary steps and arrangements would have been taken to ensure your experience with us would be an enjoyment.

It is of course now too late for us to correct it accordingly and turn it around.

Kind regards,

Cyrille.K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

AKA is a beautiful place, very peaceful and incredibly private. We stayed for 10 days in December, leaving on 27 Dec. The villa was huge and had a private pool to cool off from the heat. It was decorated very simply with clean lines, really cool outdoor showers/baths and good quality linen etc. I loved the rooftop sala as a great place to see the sunset. The resort is very quiet and each villa is completely secluded so you feel like you're the only people there - this was perfect for us.
I had to work for the first few days and the wifi connection was excellent so I could skype etc without problems (from the poolside of course!). We ate in the restaurant and dined in the villa most days. The food was always excellent, the service not always so good but very friendly nonetheless.
Mostly lazy days by the pool which suited us fine. The resort is 20 mins drive from Hua Hin but we made good use of the free shuttle bus into town. Also had a massage in the spa at AKA which was well worth it, laying on the massage table watching the sun set over the lake was just beautiful.
All in all a very special place, friendly staff and somewhere we hope to return to in the not too distant future.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrille K, General Manager at AKA Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear James A,

Warm greetings from AKA Resort Hua Hin.

Thank you very much for reviewing our AKA Resort property following your recent stay with us.
Your comments and feed backs will of course be shared and addressed to the Team.
I am glad to read that our new culinary team has been producing quality cuisine to your satisfaction.
Will make sure that the service provided goes with the quality of the food and is professional and attentive.
Kindly note that since you left us we are now remodeling our service Team in order to add enthusiast professionals to the actual team.
I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your private pool, the roof top Sala and of course the great privacy of your villa.
You certainly have noticed constant ongoing changes during your stay this in our efforts to improve the overall area.

Once again thank you very much for your time and review.

Very much looking forward to welcome you back in the close future.

Kind regards,

Cyrille.K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Having read the recent reviews after we booked, we were surprised to find the AKA Resort an amazingly relaxed resort. The welcome was friendly, the private villa no. 124 was clean, huge and had a great sparkling pool. Yes it was a little tired in some areas but the manager was regularly around the cafe or bar checking how things were and if there were any problems although we didn't have any. Improvements were constantly being made around the resort whilst we were there without impacting the guests and they look like they've focused on areas mentioned in previous reviews.
The menu was limited but the food excellent. However when mentioned to the manager as he passed, he asked what we would like. So out came the tastiest green curry and Pad Thai we have had. Also the Guti sister resort up the road has a wider and still excellent menu and the staff will arrange a car without delay.
And the free shuttle buses to Hua Hin town allowed time to explore and relax outside the resort.
Highly recommended and great value for money.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank andyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrille K, General Manager at AKA Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Andyka,

Thank you very much for your time in reviewing our property as for your constructive feedbacks.
We are delighted that your experience with us proved to be enjoyable and relaxing.
I am glad to read that during your stay you have noticed changes happening as we do take seriously our guests comments and feedbacks.
We do know well our inherited short comings from the past managements but are very active in getting things in order.
We are focused to improve the overall status of our hardware and software step by step to ensure that AKA Resort comes back to its formal splendor.
Having said that we do know this will take time, with our determination and dedication to it the results will show.
I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your culinary experience with us both in AKA Resort and AKA Guti as for your appreciation that we could come out of the box.

It has been a real pleasure having you here with us.

Looking forward to welcome you in the near future on your next visit to AKA Resort.

Wishing you an Happy New Year 2014 all the very best!

King regards,

Cyrille.K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
5.6 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#130 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,390 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn
7.1 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#3 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,356 reviews
4.6 mi away
Escape Hua Hin Hotel
Escape Hua Hin Hotel
#28 of 144 in Hua Hin
180 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dhevan Dara Resort & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Resort & Spa

Address: 160 Moo 7, Baan Nhong Hiang | Hin Lek Fai, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#38 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range: £57 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AKA Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA Resort Hua Hin offers private villas inspired by Thailand's meditative traditions. Tucked away in the hills of Hua Hin, the resort's private villas showcase elegant design and amenities. Personal infinity pools and nature open spas provide guests with a private oasis amidst Thailand's tropical landscape. Reflecting Hua Hin's unique cultural heritage, AKA Resort Hua Hin is a rejuvenating and peaceful retreat from the stresses of daily life. Each villa is infused with an ambience of tranquility, permeating the pools, terraces, and sala rooftop gardens.AKA Resort Guti translates Thailand's traditional monastery experience into an exclusive villa getaway. Nestled in the hills of Hua Hin, the resort offers private villas, each one inspired by meditative Thai traditions and elegant Thai architecture. With infinity pools and garden terraces, the exclusive villas provide relaxing sanctuaries amidst tropical landscapes and panoramic view of Hua Hin. Hua Hin's history as a retreat destination for Thailand's monarchy affords the area with an air of nobility and tranquility, steeped in traditional Thai luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your AKA Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Hotel Resort And Spa
Aka Resort Hua Hin
Aka Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing