We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Privacy”
Review of AKA Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AKA Resort & Spa
Ranked #73 of 135 Hotels in Hua Hin
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Privacy”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The villa is actually very private, which was excellent as it allowed the entire family to skinny dip and swim as late as we wanted. We were placed in an older villa, as we have seen other villas undergoing some renovation then. Service was fine as they came to pick us up on their buggy very fast whenever we called them. But breakfast was limited, for the amount of money spent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VandenHooven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrille K, General Manager at AKA Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear VandenHooven,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your feedbacks and comments in regards of your stay with us last year.

As you stated many things have been ongoing and some villas have been touched up and revamped.

I am glad to read that you totally enjoyed the privacy of your villa and the full use of your private pool as you wished.

Since your visit we have tried and are continuing to improve things at all levels.
One of those has been the quality and variety of our food offerings. Breakfast has been seriously updated with a good balance of Asian and Western favorites.

I will share your constructive comments to the team as for your appreciation of the level of service provided.

We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to AKA Resort & Spa.

Kind regards,

Cyrille K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    115
    43
    32
    29
See reviews for
65
161
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I went there on the begin of April. I bought the promotion package of the pool villa.
First day, I didn't spend much time in the room because I went to the town. When I came back and found out that the light in the pool didn't work. So, I called the reception about the problem.
They sent a mechanic guy to fix. The mechanic guy told me that it take time to fix and he would bring spotlight instead. What !!!! I rent the pool villa but I had to swim under the spotlight.
I mentioned to manager that I wanted to change the room. At first she told me not to change room. They would fix the light pool. I said "how long does it take". She said 30minutes.
Its about 10.30pm. I asked her its 10.30PM, do I need to swim at 11PM?
Afterthat its take for 10 minutes, she told me to change the room.

I wondered why they don't change to room when I mentioned the problem. It liked you bought stuff and I hadn't used it. the first time you wanted to use it, it didn't work. So you need a replacement but they didn't show their responsibility.

The morning breakfast, I ordered pancake around 9.40. Breakfast end at 10.00. Until 10.01, I hadn't gotten what I ordered. And no such a living creature come to tell me that the pancake I ordered would have been served or not.

By the time I checked out, They tried to charged me about drinks in the refrigerator.
On my promotion, I have a privilege for 1 set of drinks in minibar. I just only took one can of soda in the first room.The rest remained in the room. But they didn't check what I drank at first room. When I had the minibar in the second room. They tried to charged me.

I left the feedback letter, my email, my number about this situation in my room. No one respond back. It show that this resort don't care about their customer. If you want good price pool villa and don't care about service, you can choose here. But for full price you can find a lot of good pool villa, great service in Huahin.

Good bye AKA. no more for me>
I want to give 1dot but the place ok ok. breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: Check all light in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kritti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrille K, General Manager at AKA Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Kritti K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and feedback’s of your recent at AKA Resort & Spa.
Reading through your review I would like first of all to apologize sincerely for the ordeal you went through as for the way things have been handled during your stay.
I know well that my apologies are falling short.
Kindly note that none of this has been brought to our attention what so ever, so I am rather flabbergasted to discover this in such a way.
No mention of the incidents, nor your comments or contact details have been provided to us.
I am not finding excuses in all due respect only stating the harsh reality.
Certainly confused to understand why this has been left under the carpet and never raised.
I truly understand your frustration and the ignorance you have received, though we are by no mean running a resort trying to take advantage of our customers to the contrary.

We have had similar cases in the past which I am sure you may have read the comments when such occurs it is always best to seek to address in person all this to the management either the GM or EAM whom will straight away take the necessary actions to turn around immediately your disappointment and your overall experience.

I am sad to realize that we have not been able to achieve so it is of course well to late.

Your comments and feedbacks have been of course addressed to all concerned.

Once again my sincere apologies.

Kind regards,

Cyrille K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hua Hin hotels

Bangkok
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My best friend from high school and wanted a girlie getaway and I recommended her to book this place. I have been here with my family just when it opened. Probably almost ten years ago. I returned here and find so much disappointment. I in fact wasn't that surprised and the villas are now much cheaper than before. Our villa was run-down, lights outside were not working. We had asked the staff to look into it, but took them over a day. And nothing was fixed. Our bath room was dirty with smell from the drain. Horrible. The outdoor bath tub was dirty, so forget it, I didn't touch that! Water from the outdoor shower was boiling hot!! At 9pm, I could barely take a shower.

Furniture was old and smelled musty. The lamp in the living room was mangled and with spots of mould... Walls were dirty with finger prints. I really don't think a 5-star resort should be like this. There used to be little ponds from the entrance leading to the pool inside the villa, but they were gone. It was later explain by the girl at the front that there was an accident, so they had to cover them in rocks. Understandable.

My family also runs a resort and I did not want to complain and make a fuzz so much as AKA was my very first experience of luxurious villa when I was a kid and I just want to hold on to that. With a heavy heart, I decided to approached the receptionist and asked for a new villa. I explained EVERY detail to her. She quickly moved us to a new villa which was a bit better. The minute we got into the pool, the light in the pool fell off.

Never the less, the spa is amazing. It is small and can accommodate only two persons at one time. Which I really don't mind. Just have to make sure you book in advance. The therapists were friendly and know what they are doing. We used the spa twice over two days, a few hours each time. The resort has recently changed the spa menu so all treatments are cheaper.

I admire the manager who writes replies to all the reviews. It is not an easy job to do that. Please understand I only wrote this so that travelers know what to expect. I wish the manager all the best in getting the resort back to its original standard.

All in all, if you do not mind staying in a run-down villa, the whole stay of two nights with one dinner plus spa sessions came down to really really good price for a 5-star resort...

Room Tip: Villas with ponds have much nicer environment. Ones with ponds now filled with rocks just look horri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TropicVino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrille K, General Manager at AKA Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear TropicVino,

Where should I start?

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments and unfortunate disappointment as for your recent stay with us.
I have no excuses nor will i create any as I clearly understand what you highlighted having open this property 9 years ago.
It is of course heart breaking to come back years later to discover what it became but rest assured that the all team is trying hard to correct step by step what is needed.

I would like to apologies sincerely as I won’t be able to turn around your experience with us.
All your points are clear and valid which of course are being highlighted to all concerned that we can in the long run, ensure that our short comings are not disappearing as such but are no longer that frequent and repetitive.

Yes indeed we have definitely revised our prices for the Spa in order to be in phase with reality! I will of course compliment our Spa therapist on your behalf.
Certainly glad that at least during your stay Spa has proved to be a total enjoyment.

Thank you for your kind compliment in my regard, yes you are it is not easy, so we do have to try harder isn’t it!

I do hope that in the future you will possibly grant us the chance one more time to prove you that we can get things right.

Looking forward to welcome you on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Cyrille K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

It's resort is quite far away from the beach. But it is very beautiful also the food tastes really good as well. The room is very big with your own private pool. The villa is very private, it is surrounded by high walls to separate the rooms so you cannot really see any view from the villa.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arporn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrille K, General Manager at AKA Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Arporn H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in regards of your stay at AKA Resort & Spa.

We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the privacy and space provided was appreciated and recognized as such.
The views are certainly limited once you are by your private pool but you can enjoy it once on your roof top Sala which provides you a total different feel.
Kindly note that our culinary has taken another twist and that our new menu is very interesting as for the variety of the dishes on offer.


We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Cyrille.K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The AKA resort is a Villa resort with private, enclosed, villas of different sizes, each with a private pool. There are two locations and we stayed at the first to open. The other one is called AKA Resort Guti Hua Hin.

We drove to Hua Hin from Bangkok. Bangkok is easy to get lost in, but once outside the road is fast and easy. The resort supplied a map, obviously made by a driver with plenty of landmarks to follow. With the help of Google street view I made all the turnings in the town. But the resort is in the countryside and it REALLY needs more signs. We finished up going up a country road and thinking we were lost when all of a sudden we were there.

The staff are friendly and very helpful. The site is big and so there are golf carts to ferry you about. One night we were on our way back to our villa from the car park on foot, when a member of staff passed in a buggy and stopped to give us a lift, unasked. Another evening we came home to find a group of staff trapping a snake they had found in the bushes near out Villa. But saying that, some of the staff could learn to smile (in the land of smiles) a bit more.

Breakfast is better than average, but not spectacular. The Eggs Chef is friendly and helpful. Strange lack of Pineapple, a staple of Thai hotel breakfasts. Lots of choice of bread and a good choice of western and (for the time of year) Chinese breakfast food.

The villa itself was very nice, with a roof sofa, private pool, no light pollution at night, so you can lay outside and see the stars, Bar area, fridge etc.

Ours had a separate Spa building so we could have had in room spa. But it did come in useful for his & Her’s showers. It is a little understood fact by hotel designers that a pipe with a cross-section of maybe 3cm sq, cannot feed one of those overhead shower sprinklers that are 20cm across. To get enough water down the pip the water would have to flow 100 times faster(pi R Sq - 10*10*3.14) . This rarely happens and so the showers at AKA are feeble. Also the water heater is local and very hard to balance between too hot and too cold. We also had an ongoing discussion with the management over the TV picture. Channel News Asia (Which I like) was the only English news available and had a very poor picture. Most channels were not clear. But they did keep trying and did improve it a bit. Wi-Fi in the room was fast, for Thailand, but subject to sudden stalls. OK for website viewing, skype and email.

But this is a quiet restful place, with good friendly staff, management that take an interest in your stay and good value. You need a car as you are in the middle of no where. But you can relax and go to downtown Hua Hin for shopping, eating (excellent market) and the sea if you want a beach. About 15 mins by car.

We want to go there again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apple-FM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrille K, General Manager at AKA Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Apple-FM,

Thank you very much for your detailed feedbacks and comments following your stay with us at AKA Resort & Spa.

I appreciate very much your straight forward comments and I am glad to read you have enjoyed your stay.
Since your visit we have gradually upgraded our breakfast selection and have a launched our new a la carte breakfast menu.
We are still facing hick ups with the reception of certain channels but are working on it.
For the water pressure and the right balance of heat, if all goes according to plan serious renovations will take place and this problem will be dealt with.
I will of course as for all reviews share your comments with all concerned and make sure the land of Smile is well represented.

It was nice meeting you both and I appreciate you recognize that the management does care and is genuinely concerned for all guests ensuring they do enjoy their stay and are able to relax while with us.

We have since your visit revised our signage and added new ones as well replaced the old ones which were no longer visible so it should me now much easier to find.

As I can read you have enjoyed very much the privacy of your villa as for the space provided it is indeed a restful place which definitely need to be emphasized as such.
Away from stress, pollution and all disturbance.

Once again Apple-FM thank you for taking the time to review your stay at AKA Resort & Spa.

I am very much looking forward to welcome you on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Cyrille.K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My daughter gave me a treat in this fabulous resort in Hua Hin, Thailand, on my birthday. It is such a nice resort, with all facilities you can imagine. The villa , with private swimming pool, gives you all the privacy, yet rustic with ultra modern amenities. The staff was so polite, gentle, helpful and the total atmosphere, was just out of the world and very relaxing.
The spread in the breakfast was great and the dining area, next to the main swimming pool, was so beautiful, that you can just sit and relax for hours.
There was regular coach service to the town at regular intervals.

Room Tip: If you are old, take rooms/villa near the main office, though they help out with buggies, if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subratamallik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrille K, General Manager at AKA Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Subratamallik,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review AKA Resort following your stay with us.

I am thrilled to read that the surprise treat from your daughter for your birthday has been a great enjoyment during your stay with us.
I am glad that you have fully appreciated the privacy of your villa as for the space and private swimming pool available. It is certainly different.
The management is of course pleased to see that you have enjoyed the genuine kindness and friendliness of our staff.
Meeting you several times during your stay it was a pleasure for me to see you capture the moment relaxing totally.

As for every reviews it is shared with the team in order for us to continue in our constant search of improvement.

I am looking forward to welcome you on your next stay with us at AKA Resort.

Kind regards,

Cyrille.K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We were group of 5 friends and we had enjoyed our stay there.

We could swim in our own private pool anytime. Breakfast is various and delicious. The villa dining was delicious and not over-priced. We had some drinks at the bar and watching the sunset, beautiful!

The staffs were nice and helpful. The resort is not far from town.

Great start and recharging stay before back to work.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kannika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrille K, General Manager at AKA Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Kannika A

Thank you very much for taking the time to review AKA Resorts following your recent stay.
I am please to read that you have had an enjoyable time with us and that the privacy and facilities provided were satisfying.
Rest assured that your feedbacks will be communicated to all concerned.

Once again thank you for your time and most especially for choosing AKA Resorts for your stay.

We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit and stay at AKA.

Kind regards,

Cyrille.K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
7.1 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
3.0 mi away
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
#11 of 135 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
5.6 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#12 of 135 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Escape Hua Hin Hotel
Escape Hua Hin Hotel
#28 of 135 in Hua Hin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
5.9 mi away
Baan Talay Dao Resort
Baan Talay Dao Resort
#31 of 135 in Hua Hin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
4.4 mi away
Korawan Garden View
Korawan Garden View
#46 of 135 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Resort & Spa

Property: AKA Resort & Spa
Address: 160 Moo 7, Baan Nhong Hiang | Hin Lek Fai, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#33 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — AKA Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA Resort Hua Hin offers private villas inspired by Thailand's meditative traditions. Tucked away in the hills of Hua Hin, the resort's private villas showcase elegant design and amenities. Personal infinity pools and nature open spas provide guests with a private oasis amidst Thailand's tropical landscape. Reflecting Hua Hin's unique cultural heritage, AKA Resort Hua Hin is a rejuvenating and peaceful retreat from the stresses of daily life. Each villa is infused with an ambience of tranquility, permeating the pools, terraces, and sala rooftop gardens.AKA Resort Guti translates Thailand's traditional monastery experience into an exclusive villa getaway. Nestled in the hills of Hua Hin, the resort offers private villas, each one inspired by meditative Thai traditions and elegant Thai architecture. With infinity pools and garden terraces, the exclusive villas provide relaxing sanctuaries amidst tropical landscapes and panoramic view of Hua Hin. Hua Hin's history as a retreat destination for Thailand's monarchy affords the area with an air of nobility and tranquility, steeped in traditional Thai luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your AKA Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Hotel Resort And Spa
Aka Resort Hua Hin
Aka Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing