We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would turn back to AKA again”
Review of AKA Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AKA Resort & Spa
Ranked #87 of 137 Hotels in Hua Hin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I would turn back to AKA again”
Reviewed 7 December 2009

I stay at AKA Resort for one night at 2 Dec 2009 celebrating my birthday, however it made me feel extremely disappointed.
I and my boyfriend drive to AKA from Cha am, we see lots of signage of other hotels except AKAs. Maintence of the environment is unexpectedly poor, the woodern handles are all old or even broken. A unbelievable smelly natural pool is next to the restaurant.
In our deluxe pool villa room, the woodern floor beside private pool is again broken, iron spike is underlapped and hurt my foot. We called reception for golf cart service from our room to hotel entrance, after 30mins of waiting we haven't see any staff to pick us up.
My boyfriend contacted AKA to prepare a surprise birthday cake for me, however AKA forget this issue surprisely. At the end of the trip, I found that they have overcharged us. I am still processing my complaint over them.
All of the above experience tell me that I can't have any excuse to visit AKA again.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siumice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    117
    44
    34
    31
See reviews for
67
164
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We expected better service from a small intimate resort, but what was supposed to be an exclusive experience became impersonal and we ultimately felt completely alienated. For instance, we were having problems with wi-fi and without offering to determine the cause, we were simply told to take our laptop outside -- it was 11pm and the mozzy-infested patio was simply too dark. Breakfast service seemed rushed and unfriendly for such a small resort of approx. 30 rooms where there is no more than 20 guests at any one time. Communications between staff/shifts are lacking so we had to speak to multiple staff on the same matter.

Location may be a problem for those looking to visit the town, restaurants, and other attractions in Hua Hin -- it is very desolate. There isn't enough within the resort to keep you satisfied for more than a few nights. The free shuttle service by the hotel has limited seats and does not run frequently enough. One-way taxi costs THB 400 to town and does add up on longer stays.

Rooms at the AKA Resort (not to be confused with the newer AKA Kuti) are tired, with signs of wear and tear on furnishings, fixtures. Floor-to-ceiling window panes that run on three sides of the villa open up to the wooden deck, spa cottage, the 10m long plunge pool, and would appeal to those looking to enjoy the elements. The upper patio is nice to have, but floors are moldy and desperately need cleaning.

I wouldn't recommend it to those looking to enjoy Hua Hin and all it has to offer. Lack lustre service, lack of variety within the hotel, and being so desolate -- it may appeal to some, but not enough for us to recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brightfuchsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hua Hin hotels

United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

We chose to stay at the Aka Resort for 7 nights mainly for the Golf. There website stated that there was a shuttle bus every hour into hua hin, and that they could orangise all your golfing requirements, this was not the case.

We arrived and immediately found the Aka very nice, our check in procedure was very long, and we had to sign documentation about the safety of our personal belongings. We did know from Trip Advisor about the robberies, but this document just made us even more wary.

We were golf carted to our Villa, which was a 2 bedroom pool villa. This was very nice, with seperate livingroom quarters, there was security walls all round the villa, so you did feel very secure. The pool was lovely. The accomodation and decking was quite dated, it could be done with an update. We kept catching our bare feet on nail of the decking. The pool itself was very dangerous to get in and out of. The steps were in the corner of the pool but were very deep, and the side of pool was very slippy so you found you were stretching yourself to get in and out. This would be extremely dangerous for families with young children.

We tried to orangeise some golf with the hotel, but they did not have any information for us. They managed to get us booked on Black Mountain, which is just a 5 minute trip in a minibus up the mountain, but as for any other courses in the area, we were having to do it all our selves, which obviously was not what the website had stated.

We also tried to get on there shuttle bus to go into hua hin, 1 day they said it was fully booked but we never seen anyone else going about, and the next day they said it would not be running until 6pm, so both times we had to get a taxi to and fro which cost us 300 baht each way. The road up to the hotel was also in a very bad way. All the taxis drove really slow to avoid either the dogs or the great craters of pot holes, so the journey to hua hin took you about 20 minutes.

We ate in the restaurant 1 night, and the food was really really good, hats off to the chef. It may have been a bit pricey but you can't complain about good food here, it was excellant.

As i said at the beginning of my review, we had booked here for 7 nights, but we checked out after 3 and headed to a hotel that could organise the golf for us.

I would not return to the Aka, i have been there, it is not somewhere i would wish to return as its a bit to desolate and is not up to the standards received at other high graded hotels.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foreveralways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chavenay, France
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2009

I was not disappointed. I chose the Aka because I wanted to stay in a quiet hotel during a short trip to Thailand. I loved the privacy of the villa !

Only 2 things I did not like :
- The gym is small and does not have air conditionning !
- When I checked out, my credit card was charged in euros not in Thai Bath. I knew if it was the case that the exchange rate would be very poor. I insisted to be charged in Thai Bath, was assured I would be (both the euro and thai bath amounts were on the receipt) ... when I checked my bank account I found out I had been charged in euros. Not very honest.
In any case, its a beautiful hotel and I very much enjoyed my stay !

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Not long back from the AKA. It is such a "chill out" relaxing resort. The staff are always very attentive and friendly, day & night. Food in the restaurant is a little pricey but is excellent. Of course it has to be "Eggs Benedict" for breakfast which is a meal on its own. Just wonderful. The Villas are very private & are very clean & up to a very high standard. There is a library there with 2 computers on internet. At night you can get the courtesy bus to Hua Hin & eat & maybe have a few drinks & a taxi back where there are very attentive security guards with torches to see you to your villa. Hua Hin is only 10 mins. away. I will definitely be back.
I would call it "Thailand's Hidden Little Gem".

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valiumIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

A beautifully designed resort just outside Hua Hin.

All private villas with private pools - outdoor showers, huge bed, private sala on the roof. Quiet and relaxing.

The location of the report is a little remote - but to us this was not really a problem - only 10 mins to town. Hua Hin as a town did not really impress me that much - so luckily we had a great place to retreat to and hang out.

We had a lovely evening with room service by our private pool - each course was delivered individually - with candles placed all around the pool - very romantic!

Lovely food, delightful staff, a great place if you want to escape from it all.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcg79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

wow what can i say from the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff treated us like princesses!! the location is very secluded and set within acres of land with all villas and private pools the location is not for everyone but if your after complete peace and tranquillity then this is the place for you!!! we spent 2 nights here to get away from the noise of Bangkok took about 2 and half hours by private transfer!!! we stayed in a one bed deluxe villa with a ten metre affinity pool garden massage room private outside shower and bath and a roof top sala so lovely clean and private!!! room service serving all kinds of lovely food delivered throughout the day and a restaurant for tasty breakfast lunch and dinner!!! because of the location there are plenty of lizards and bugs around that may scare some we had this huge spider in the rooom and housekeeping came and got it for us she also laughed at us darting across the floor ha ha ha there is also free wireless in every villa and a computer centre and library

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicquie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
4.6 mi away
The Lapa Hua Hin Hotel
The Lapa Hua Hin Hotel
#41 of 137 in Hua Hin
141 reviews
4.6 mi away
Escape Hua Hin Hotel
Escape Hua Hin Hotel
#31 of 137 in Hua Hin
156 reviews
7.1 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 137 in Hua Hin
1,243 reviews
3.1 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 137 in Hua Hin
1,286 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dhevan Dara Resort & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Resort & Spa

Property: AKA Resort & Spa
Address: 160 Moo 7, Baan Nhong Hiang | Hin Lek Fai, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — AKA Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA Resort Hua Hin offers private villas inspired by Thailand's meditative traditions. Tucked away in the hills of Hua Hin, the resort's private villas showcase elegant design and amenities. Personal infinity pools and nature open spas provide guests with a private oasis amidst Thailand's tropical landscape. Reflecting Hua Hin's unique cultural heritage, AKA Resort Hua Hin is a rejuvenating and peaceful retreat from the stresses of daily life. Each villa is infused with an ambience of tranquility, permeating the pools, terraces, and sala rooftop gardens.AKA Resort Guti translates Thailand's traditional monastery experience into an exclusive villa getaway. Nestled in the hills of Hua Hin, the resort offers private villas, each one inspired by meditative Thai traditions and elegant Thai architecture. With infinity pools and garden terraces, the exclusive villas provide relaxing sanctuaries amidst tropical landscapes and panoramic view of Hua Hin. Hua Hin's history as a retreat destination for Thailand's monarchy affords the area with an air of nobility and tranquility, steeped in traditional Thai luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your AKA Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Hotel Resort And Spa
Aka Resort Hua Hin
Aka Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing