We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazing..”
Review of Baan Bayan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baan Bayan
Ranked #24 of 141 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Just arrived from 12 days , living in this wonderfull resort. Close to the beach- shopping and the sound af Thailand all around you. So satisfied.The staff tryed to help all our wishes , come true, in a warm and proff, way. Thank you every one, working so hard- making our holiday just amazing. Thank you Larsen and the rest of our group living on Baan Bayan from 31 juli-12 aug 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
There are newer reviews for Baan Bayan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed at Baan Bayan (Seaview Villa) for ten days with our two children age 5 and 2. This hotel is very good when travelling with children because:

- Location. It is within walking distance from the city (20 minutes with stroller) and just 100 meters from the Market Village mall where you can find Haagen-Dazs, Starbucks as well as a large Tesco and a wide range of shops. Also, just outside the hotel entrance there is a small supermarket which has a fairly good selection.

- Child friendly. The two pools are shallow (120 cm. and 70 cm.) which makes them perfect for children. The beach at the hotel is very nice and clean, and besides people selling horseback riding, you are not hassled at the beach.

- Staff. The staff is very attentive and always helpful. It is a small hotel and the staff is there when you need them but leave you alone when not needed.

All in all, it is a place that grows on you. It is a hotel which provides a setting and atmosphere where you can relax and just enjoy life. There are not really anything negative to say – it is a fairly expensive hotel and breakfast could be better. But if you are travelling with small children we can certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nlassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Baan Bayan marvellous restoration of its antique house reserves every praise. There's vanilla colour house sat right in the middle of the compound where there're accommodation buildings, villas, pool, bar, and garden surrounding. The hotel has its own beachfront with beach beds and umbrellas. You can even do a horse-riding in front of the hotel sometimes. The premise is not big, so don't expect a huge pool with vast garden to run around.

The seaview villa is fully-equipped with facilities. Grand space, big bed, shower, bathtub, TV, Wifi, working desk, and cabinet. Staff is very helpful and attentive. The location of the hotel is not far from Hua Hin town centre. The shopping mall is in a walking distant while seafood restaurants are just few minutes away by driving. You can also take a good walk from the beach in front of the hotel to the beach at downtown Huahin.

Good experience I had when I was there with my family.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview villa if you want a spacious room and antique decoration with balcony. But actuall...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The whole staff was very friendly and make sure that you feel like at home! We visit “Hua Hin” every year and so we had the idea to rent the whole place for our friends and family, and they really enjoy it! My husband and I had our traditional Thai wedding ceremony here and so we had the best experience of our life! Great food, from burgers and club sandwiches until Thai soups, noodles and stir-fries! The breakfast is great with Thai omelets and fresh fruits! It is also a beautiful part of the beach their. Sit back and relax all the day and do not forget to drink coconuts!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill Lewis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

It was a really lovely stay at Baan Bayan but having read the mostly raved reviews, I was expecting more and this hotel felt short. The room that we had, Courtyard, is big and clean and has lots of lovely bright sunshine coming through the curtains and the high ceiling makes it very spacious. The other rooms that hasn't got the high ceiling appear small and rather cramped.

One of the biggest plus is that this quiet hotel is situated at one of the cleanest and nicest beach in Hua Hin. Facility-wise, it is quite first-rate. When we drove into the large open car park in the afternoon, we were rather surprised and disappointed that there were no one there to greet us or take our bags. We had to trudge along a few steps and a long walkway before reaching the reception. The staff were nice but not great. The one shining star is the female reception girl call Tha....she is always smiling and helpful and very sincere as well. She even showed me the other rooms without me asking, in the hope that I will come back again for a stay. And if there is one reason to come back, it will be her. The other night male receptionist is horrible...never greeting us as we walked past, never a smile....worst, one night we returned at 2am to find the reception area empty of duty personel. We had to ring the reception with the phone at the reception area and had to wait 10 minute before the sleepy male reception emerged from the back to give us our key... without any apology. This lapse of service is really unforgivable. Also, the day I checked in was also my birthday and no one at the hotel gave me a cake or at least wished me a happy birthday.

But overall, it was a very peaceful and quiet stay. If we do return to this hotel again, it is for the pristine beach in front and also for the warm and unforgettable service of Tha.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hands22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel in Early March.

LOCATION>>>>>

Good location with Shopping and food mall,night market within walking distance and Hua hin main strip only 3 mins tuktuk ride.

ROOMS>>> We had a garden room.Room was excellent in size and kept clean everyday,and surroundings was lush green.Aircond and small Balcony.There was WiFi in the room,safe deposit box and was very safe surroundings and 2 bottles of complimentary water supplied everyday.

STAFF>>> Although spoke very little english but were very nice,polite,honest and helpful.

BREAKFAST>>>>Ok not 5 star by any mean but adequate.Served in a nice private area.

RESORT>>>>>On the beach which is good with plenty of sunbeds,may needs replacements some of them but generally adequate nos.so no rush to get one in the morning.Although private but they also rent it out to non-residence which i did not like it.Generally the resort is nice but some areas look a bit tired.But very Tranquil.So tranquil it almost lacks atmosphere.But if you want complete tranquility them this is a place for you.The view looking out to sea is spoiled by next door using the whole beach right up to the sea with packed,horrible sighted sunbeds.

On the whole the resort was good.

+++++++Plus Secured,Private,Free WiFi and Location.Tranquil.Nice Honest staff.

----------Minus.....Outsiders using rented sunbeds.Some needs replacing.Little expensive.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room behind the reception and it was pretty good nicely located and good surrou...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShantiGohil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

First it has free wi-fi which is excellent. The hotel is based around a beautiful old teak wood house. The rooms are excellent, it is right near the beach. The rooms are great, the service is great, the food is great. Staying here really feels like being in Thailand whilst enjoying a high level of quality. The town is a little way off but there is a shuttle. This is a real hidden gem

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
3.4 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
0.2 mi away
D Varee Diva Kiang Haad Beach Hua Hin
1.3 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 141 in Hua Hin
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
#11 of 141 in Hua Hin
771 reviews
0.5 mi away
Laksasubha Hua Hin
Laksasubha Hua Hin
#1 of 231 in Hua Hin
502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hua Hin Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Bayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Bayan

Address: 119 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range: £57 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baan Bayan 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Bayan was originally built in the early 1900s. Facing Hua Hin’s white sandy beach, it has the undeniably superb location in one of the most sought after areas there. Baan Bayan forever catches the eyes of passersby with its hundred-year old frangipani tree, its spacious veranda together with its carved eaves and railings embracing the house. Originally a family’s summer retreat, Baan Bayan was one among many summer beach houses owned by Royal Highness Prince Devawongse Varopakarn. Built during the early period of construction of Hua Hin town and railway station, the house had been handed down to Princess Absornsamarn, consort of Royal Highness Chantaburi Naruenart, before being sold to Khun Prabha Chaiyawat on 1 April 1952. The house was then renamed Baan Bayan, as coined by Ya-Khob, the renowned Thai writer. In the past, Baan Bayan was regularly visited by Khun Prabha, her children and grandchildren and great grandchildren. Its charm and ambience render feelings of warmth and happiness in its simplest form. Not only does Baan Bayan hold its value as a rare architectural building, but it also reminds those very fond of the house of times passed and memories still cherished. Today, it is one of the rarest and finest examples of a golden teak Thai style bungalow house, lovingly restored to its former glory. Baan Bayan was awarded the prestigious Historical Architectural Conservation Award in 2005 by the Association of Siamese Architects (ASA) under the Royal Patronage. Guests staying at Baan Bayan can experience the glory of a bygone era, yet with all of today’s modern comforts and amenities. It is positioned as a small exclusive luxury beach hotel offering the charm of a traditional Thai aristocratic beach house. Baan Bayan will allow guests to sink back into a history rich with associations of the swinging, glorious 1920/30’s. Guests who have a desire to experience history and culture and seek a different vacation venue will appreciate the atmosphere at Baan Bayan. Advantageously, the resort is only a few minutes away from Hua Hin town center, market, and airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Baan Bayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Bayan Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing