We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like come to visit old friend”
Review of Baan Bayan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baan Bayan
Ranked #25 of 136 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just like come to visit old friend”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We just departed on April 15, 2013 for our holiday vacation, but stayed only 3 days and 2 nights, when we check in , just like we come to visit old friend at the seaside. The small beautiful hotel in Hua Hin, Thailand, take a few hours from Bangkok,now they have V.I.P. shuttle buses running from The Subarnabhumi Intl Airport to Hua Hin directly, easy for everyone to take off from the flight and catch a bus to there. As we said just to see an old friend, the friendly staffs remain recognize us when we arrived to check in, especially the front manager Mr.Thawat Insuwan, Mr.Pui reception clerk at the arrival desk who driving the shuttle to and from as much as the hotel could available and also Ms.Khanitta who provided us very late check out and also opened the guest house for us to shower before in the evening, that was a beyond services for us for this time, we insist to stay there whenever we go to Hua Hin.

Room Tip: A small beautiful beach front hotel that is a must if you want the beachfront hotel with best qualit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUTHON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    86
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
65
105
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Bann Bayan is a charming boutique colonial property,it is ideally located right on the beach so you can both enjoy the sea at a distance or live in the waters. The service is excellent - efficient, and friendly.
The rooms (we stayed at Bannika Suite) is spaciuos with 100 yr old wooden flr, so you are required to not use your shoes but the hotel provide u with footwear appropriate for indoor and outdoor usage. Its connected to beach facing balcony, an ideal place to enjoy a cup of tea or a drink in the evening.
Food is excellent though we had most of our meals out side the hotel but the two occasion when we did have food at the hotel we found the quality exceptionally good.
In all we had a fabulous stay and found a place we will go back to for sure.

Room Tip: Sea facing room / Suites are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikskam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This hotel has a beautiful setting and was perfectly situated about 200 meters from where my husband took his kite surfing lessons. There was plenty of space for lounging in the sun that didn't require getting up at 6AM to claim a spot. The room was beautifully decorated, spacious and quiet making for a sound sleep at night. The location is great with an easy stroll to a large shopping center that provide lots of choices in food, bars, clothing, etc.

The only cons were that the pool was heavily chlorinated so making it less appealing...however, the ocean was well worth the extra walk!!, and some staff had very little English skills and lacked the knowledge of other surrounding venues making it necessary to seek information about locate attractions from off site.

Yes, we would stay here again and hope to do so in the near future!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AK65Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This was my second trip to Baan Bayan and it is now my favorite place to stay in Hua Hin. I love the charm of the place along with the setting and the staff. I came with a larger group so we were booked into the old house and had the upstairs patio all to ourselves. What a beautiful place to spend time unwinding and relaxing from the beginning of the our trip. The location is beautiful, right by the ocean with a lovely pool area, gardens and patios to relax in. The staff is attentive to your every need and there was nothing we lacked. We joined them for a special evening of food out in their garden area which was absolutely fabulous. It was 'Grilled Night" where it was all you could eat salad, main course and desert. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was even better. Simply a wonderful evening. The manager, Mr. Tawat is a gracious and kind host. He made us all feel at home and very welcomed. The rooms are impeccable and very comfortable. This is an exceptional place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel is in a lovely setting and the staff is very friendly. You have your choice to sit poolside or to sit overlooking the beach, or to sit on the beach, all of which are delightful with your choice of umbrellas, sun, etc. The location is great with an easy walk to restaurants, bars, shopping, etc.

Our adult kids enjoyed a two hour massage and they were extremely happy! My only wish is that they had a longer Happy Hour as their drinks are not a bargain otherwise. But the beer is cold!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
163 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We had the most amazing three night/four day stay at Baan Bayan in January 2013. It was my third stay in the last 15 months. This 21-room boutique hotel offers the charm of a historic family home with the amenities of a small resort and incredible service overseen by its manager, Mr. Tawat.

This time we had one courtyard room with two beds, which I love, plus the main house, which has four bedrooms and three bathrooms and a huge veranda on which we would gather for cocktail hour and to reflect on the adventures of our day. The rooms are very well appointed, have large bathrooms, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, safes, bathrobes, hairdryers, complimentary water, beach shoes, robes, slippers and room service for food or drinks.

The hotel has its own stretch of beach, with enough beach loungers for every person staying at the hotel, without feeling crowded. Your chairs do not have to be right next to another guest, so you still have a feeling of some privacy. There are beach vendors that walk by but they were friendly and none of them were high-pressured. We actually bought quite a bit from the vendors and enjoyed the art of bargaining with them.

The small pool is lovely and is surrounded by umbrellas and loungers, small tables around the outdoor bar, and tables overlooking the ocean. We often sat here and ordered the spicy green papaya seafood salad and a drink and sat in our lounge chairs overlooking the ocean.

There is a large outdoor courtyard with tables in the sand where you can congregate or eat breakfast or lunch, in addition to the breakfast area on the main floor of the house. Breakfast includes made to order omelets, eggs, pancakes, waffles and plenty of fresh fruit, pastries, hot dishes, cereals and yogurt and juices.

The lunch/dinner restaurant is next to the pool and is an open-air outdoor restaurant that overlooks the ocean. There is both a Thai and a Western menu. I enjoy the Thai food on the menu more than the Western food.

Probably the only thing that bothers me about the hotel is that it markets to Europeans who tend to smoke more than Americans and we would at times find ourselves wanting to move to avoid being by smokers. During Grilled Night, the hotel was kind enough to create a no smoking area for our group of 10.

Grilled Night was fabulous. We sat outside with our feet in the sand and enjoyed grilled meats, salads and dessert and listened to old 60’s and 70’s soundtracks the hotel was playing.

There is a massage area, where most of us had two-hour Thai massages.

The service throughout our stay was remarkable. The front desk staff, housekeeping, bar staff and breakfast staff were always attentive and aimed to please.

This hotel provides such tranquility and has a magical presence about it. I’d definitely recommend a stay.

Broder

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Broder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Stayed here for a week and was delighted with this lovely little boutique hotel. The location is perfect - central Hua Hin on the beach and very close to a good selection of shops and restaurants. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel has nice gardens, and a good sized pool with plenty of poolside and beachfront seating. I will definitely be staying at this hotel when I next visit Hua Hin.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James_Snell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
3.4 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
0.4 mi away
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
#12 of 136 in Hua Hin
736 reviews
1.3 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
#13 of 136 in Hua Hin
446 reviews
2.0 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Laksasubha Hua Hin
Laksasubha Hua Hin
#1 of 218 in Hua Hin
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Bayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Bayan

Property: Baan Bayan
Address: 119 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Baan Bayan 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Bayan was originally built in the early 1900s. Facing Hua Hin’s white sandy beach, it has the undeniably superb location in one of the most sought after areas there. Baan Bayan forever catches the eyes of passersby with its hundred-year old frangipani tree, its spacious veranda together with its carved eaves and railings embracing the house. Originally a family’s summer retreat, Baan Bayan was one among many summer beach houses owned by Royal Highness Prince Devawongse Varopakarn. Built during the early period of construction of Hua Hin town and railway station, the house had been handed down to Princess Absornsamarn, consort of Royal Highness Chantaburi Naruenart, before being sold to Khun Prabha Chaiyawat on 1 April 1952. The house was then renamed Baan Bayan, as coined by Ya-Khob, the renowned Thai writer. In the past, Baan Bayan was regularly visited by Khun Prabha, her children and grandchildren and great grandchildren. Its charm and ambience render feelings of warmth and happiness in its simplest form. Not only does Baan Bayan hold its value as a rare architectural building, but it also reminds those very fond of the house of times passed and memories still cherished. Today, it is one of the rarest and finest examples of a golden teak Thai style bungalow house, lovingly restored to its former glory. Baan Bayan was awarded the prestigious Historical Architectural Conservation Award in 2005 by the Association of Siamese Architects (ASA) under the Royal Patronage. Guests staying at Baan Bayan can experience the glory of a bygone era, yet with all of today’s modern comforts and amenities. It is positioned as a small exclusive luxury beach hotel offering the charm of a traditional Thai aristocratic beach house. Baan Bayan will allow guests to sink back into a history rich with associations of the swinging, glorious 1920/30’s. Guests who have a desire to experience history and culture and seek a different vacation venue will appreciate the atmosphere at Baan Bayan. Advantageously, the resort is only a few minutes away from Hua Hin town center, market, and airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Baan Bayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Bayan Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing