We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a peaceful retreat:)”
Review of Baan Bayan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baan Bayan
Ranked #25 of 144 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We visited Hua Hin August 2013 and stayed at the 70-style Baan Bayan Hotel HuaHin, an old colonial style boutique hotel that has just 21 rooms. And we absolutely loved it.

Set just off the main Hua Hin road, the hotel is located in the heart of old HuaHin but is an oasis of calm and beauty.

Rooms are big, comfortable and simply furnished, with loads of space. We stayed at Room 102, which is on the ground floor and has a lovely view of the pool and the sea beyond. I suspect all rooms would be nice except for 103 and 104, which unfortunately are tucked away slightly below the lobby and therefore I expect would be rather dark.

The bed was a comfortable king, and there was more than enough room for a sofa and coffee table. There's also a separate dressing area, great for luggage and beach paraphernalia.

Bathrooms are spacious but sadly don't feature standing shower stalls -- you have to shower in the bath, which I positively hate; am convinced there's a fall waiting to happen.

Rooms cum with a good sized fridge, coffee & tea making facilities and TV & DVD player. The lobby has a whole range of DVDs in different languages, including kids movies. TV channels are limited.

The hotel is simple -- a small, square pool and a simple children's pool alongside it, but set right on the beach. It doesn't have much else by way of facilities, which I think is part of the charm. The aim seems to be for everyone to just have a lazy swim, read a book, take a nap and have some nice food.

Alongside the pool is the bar cum restaurant, which serves excellent food and a wide range of drinks. Plus ice cold coconuts -- we had several each day.

There are a couple of cabanas where you can have an outdoor massage or simply while the day away.

Breakfast is simple, fruit, toast, pancakes and waffles, some Thai dishes. The coffee is pretty bad, but there's an Illy cafe down the road if you want some good coffee, or a Starbucks across the road if you're in a pinch. All other food excellent.

The beach is stunning -- the highlight of the hotel. A long stretch of pristine beach as far as the eye can see, and the best part -- no water sports, no peddlars, no tourists. Just some locals taking walks with their dogs or having a run. Some simple beach cafes along the stretch, but very simple, very quiet. Sunrises and sunsets are stunning.

Service is excellent -- staff available round the clock, happy to oblige for laundry, ice and other requests, and room service works on a very convenient system of door hangings -- just hang the tassel on your door when you'd like your room to be done up. And they are done fast. Very thoughtful too -- extra towels for our son travelling with us, plus extra pillows, and bottles of water.

The hotel is about 20 mins away from the main tourist tracks (where the Hilton is), which we liked -- we didn't see many tourists. There are a number of good restaurants in the vicinity, and a good sized mall across the road if you need to pick up a coffee, wine or have a meal. There's also a supermarket and a cinema.

Across the road from the hotel are about 3 - 4 massage places which have excellent foot massages (a real treat).

At the centre of old HuaHin is the Railway Station -- what a blast from the past. It's very well preserved, landscaped quaint railway station, and you can see a myriad of people -- lovely for people watching. The Railway Coffee Shop serves excellent coffee and has benches set outside so you can watch the world ride through the HuaHin Station -- very nice.

Terrace 90, a 10 minute walk away, has excellent ribs and a very decent margarita.

The German Bakery, a 10 minute ride away, serves an excellent array of sausages and pastries, and freshly baked bread that comes out of the oven at 830 in the morning. Obviously something the locals are all familiar with as there's quite a queue to pick up the bread:)

We popped by the Willaiwan Cafe, set in a pretty English style home and garden, just down the road. Hello Kitty meets Laura Ashley. All very flowery, but tea was excellent and the cakes were good.

The tourist area was typical -- restaurants, shops selling trinkets and clothes, bars and restaurants. Nothing spectacular except for the Hua Hian Brewing Company, which had excellent food and a great array of beers. Plus nice views of the tourist stretch; you could basically sit on the deck and watch HuaHin host its visitors!

The hotel has bicycles if you're comfortable with them, otherwise there are always tuk-tuks available at the hotel entrance and in front of the mall. Agree on the price before you jump in!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bentong66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

We were lucky to get a very good deal as we visited in the low season so could almost be 5 stars. The hotel is very close to the centre - just a shortish walk down the beach though I must admit we took a tuk tuk home at night. (Most hotels in Hua Hin require a lenghthy ride to the centre.) We loved the spacious old teak rooms and ours was not shabby.
The breakfast was an excellent buffet. The pool area was lovely but the beach was so good - not so at any other hotel we have stayed at in Hua Hin - that we swam in the sea several times a day.
Do try the simple beachside restaurant just north of the hotel. The food was tasty and cheap for either lunch or dinner. The large supermarket in the nearby Market Village Mall was good for supplies.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jillfromnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A lovely hotel right on the beach at Hua Hin, albeit a little way from the centre. Excellent staff, well designed rooms that combine a seaside feel with traditional Thai architecture. I was a solo traveller but can imagine the hotel would be perfect for a romantic break. One minor suggestion is to improve the tv channels. Would return at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Review Baan Bayan 5/10
Room no 202 Seaview Deluxe from 2013-07-31 to 2013-08-05, non-smoking
This hotel has an absolutely beautiful garden and that’s what you will be paying for, as the rooms are old and just ok. Clearly the money from the heavily overpriced rooms are not going back into bringing this hotel up to par. The bed in room 202 is absolutely horrible and I’m guessing that many guests have spent a lot of sleepless nights on it. A friend of mine informed me that the beds in the seaview villas are just as bad, or even worse!
The hotel and rooms are impeccably clean, the hotel staff is forthcoming and polite, with ok English. There are some outer disturbances as the rooms aren’t so well isolated. The shower has low water pressure, yet warm water. The thermostat/AC in room 202 was very bad, leaving our room at almost outside temperature. The security box is ok, though a bit on the small side. The TV has BBC, CNN and some other English channels.
The hotel has no gym. The pool is nice, but small and shallow. There are plenty of sun chairs around the pool and down by the beach. The beach is absolutely spectactular at this hotel, as the sand is fine and white, it sqeeks as you walk on it!, and the water is free from rocks.
The hotel has ok location, as everything in Hua Hin is spread out. There’s Minimart and even a shopping mall very close by. As for getting around the hotel does have a minibus, but it comes at a price.
The internet/Wi-Fi is very slow!! I measured it to 2,24/0,32 Mbit/s by Bredbandskollen.se
The WiFi wasn’t working at all when we arrived, but they had it fixed by 10 am the next morning.
Breakfast was very good with a lot of mixed fresh fruits, toast, coffee and tea, cooked thai dishes and some sausages and of course an omelet of choice. The restaurant at the hotel bar also serves excellent thai food. There is also a restaurant down below the hotel directly to the right, on the beach, which I highly recommend over anything else. They are only open during the day if you don’t book them for the evening. Their Massuman Gai is one of the best I’ve ever had!
I would recommend this hotel to people who value gardens and beaches more than comfort. We could come back to this hotel, should they renovate their rooms and fix their appalling beds. Who knows, they might even update their Wifi in the future.
My tip; don’t stay here, as you can get much more value for your money elsewhere, but do pay a visit to their garden and do swim at the beach, if you happen to pass by.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mats_of_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

AS a regular visitor to Hua Hin I was tempted by a reasonably priced offer and overall this was a value for money deal. Room was fine (beware though no sign of a lift), staff pleasant, room service good and the mini bar wasn't the oft found rip off (plus there's a convenience store right outside the main entrance for food, water and beer supplies at shop prices). Breakfast OK but not great. I need WiFi but found this to be much better than some other locales.(unlike a previous commentator). Beach is nice as is pool and poolside bar. Overall if you are looking for a relaxed stay I would recommend the Baan (but if mobility is a problem try a ground floor room). I gave the place 5 for location as it's very central for everything you need - opposite Market Village.

Room Tip: From the top rooms you can watch the grey bellied black tail tip squirrels play in the trees in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BIGFOOT3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I say that because i have a couple of small issues i will cover at the end.
Overall this is an excellent hotel , i stayed from July 1st- 8th in room 204, not your normal bulk standard room but a little quirky with the bed in the middle of the room, but plenty of space & a small balcony overlooking the garden. A dvd player is provided & a resonable selection of dvd,s are on offer in reception, just as well as the tv channels were very poor, but then you do not come here to watch tv unless it is raining.The white sandy beach is right there with a warm shallow sea awaiting. Food is superb considering there is only 21 rooms, the quality of the food from the restaurant was outstanding & so underused, breakfast however was typically bland which is standard in most Thai hotels.Staff all very good but my employee of the week goes to Koy who is an asset to this hotel & they should be proud of her.
There is a shopping centre opposite, a seven eleven at the entrance & a 100 meters down the road a tuk tuk can be obtained for 100 baht which will take you into town.
My two issues are one the flies at the moment are everywhere making it quite unpleasant at meal times & this is probably why the restaurant is underused, my second issue is they only allow you one key,presumably to stop you leaving the air con, but not good if your partner tend to do different activities ie shopping staying out late, getting up early etc. i pleaded for another key but to no avail.
However i will return & hopefully these issues will be sorted.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fatszone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Hua Hin is a relaxed, family orientated resort on the Gulf. The water is warm, the sandy beaches are clean and white, and the seafood is great. We passed on the basic rooms, although they were fine for the price, and grabbed the main Villa. Tremendous value! Colonial architecture, teak floors and furniture, very clean and well maintained. Perfect for a short get away, I could easily stay in this Villa for a week.
WiFi was terrible, which is an issue for me.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KPboulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
3.4 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
1.1 mi away
Marrakesh Hua Hin Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
#11 of 144 in Hua Hin
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#4 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,327 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ruenkanok Thai House
Ruenkanok Thai House
#22 of 144 in Hua Hin
141 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
#14 of 144 in Hua Hin
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Bayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Bayan

Address: 119 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range: £77 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baan Bayan 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Bayan was originally built in the early 1900s. Facing Hua Hin’s white sandy beach, it has the undeniably superb location in one of the most sought after areas there. Baan Bayan forever catches the eyes of passersby with its hundred-year old frangipani tree, its spacious veranda together with its carved eaves and railings embracing the house. Originally a family’s summer retreat, Baan Bayan was one among many summer beach houses owned by Royal Highness Prince Devawongse Varopakarn. Built during the early period of construction of Hua Hin town and railway station, the house had been handed down to Princess Absornsamarn, consort of Royal Highness Chantaburi Naruenart, before being sold to Khun Prabha Chaiyawat on 1 April 1952. The house was then renamed Baan Bayan, as coined by Ya-Khob, the renowned Thai writer. In the past, Baan Bayan was regularly visited by Khun Prabha, her children and grandchildren and great grandchildren. Its charm and ambience render feelings of warmth and happiness in its simplest form. Not only does Baan Bayan hold its value as a rare architectural building, but it also reminds those very fond of the house of times passed and memories still cherished. Today, it is one of the rarest and finest examples of a golden teak Thai style bungalow house, lovingly restored to its former glory. Baan Bayan was awarded the prestigious Historical Architectural Conservation Award in 2005 by the Association of Siamese Architects (ASA) under the Royal Patronage. Guests staying at Baan Bayan can experience the glory of a bygone era, yet with all of today’s modern comforts and amenities. It is positioned as a small exclusive luxury beach hotel offering the charm of a traditional Thai aristocratic beach house. Baan Bayan will allow guests to sink back into a history rich with associations of the swinging, glorious 1920/30’s. Guests who have a desire to experience history and culture and seek a different vacation venue will appreciate the atmosphere at Baan Bayan. Advantageously, the resort is only a few minutes away from Hua Hin town center, market, and airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Baan Bayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Bayan Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing