We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Baan Bayan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baan Bayan
Ranked #24 of 134 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Münchenbuchsee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights with our kids in Baan Bayan. We had a great time. A wonderful courtyard view room and a beachfront location. The room was so big that our kids could even play hide and seek.... The hotelmanager was very nice and helpful. He is doing a great job. We enjoyed the wonderful breakfast and the nice pool and beach. Only the staff in the restaurant could be more friendly and more motivated... However, we can recommend this place and would like to come back. Pascal and Nadine with Clea and Milla

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pascal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    83
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
64
104
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have been coming here for six years as a weekend escape from Bangkok. And that it is. Baan Bayan is a beautiful property right on the beach -- arguably the best beach in Hua Hin. This small boutique hotel has lovely, airy rooms with high ceilings, beautifully decorated, most with small balconies for sitting, watching the sun rise, and listening to the variety of birds. Breakfast has much variety, and you can enjoy lunch, cocktails and dinner sitting by the pool, overlooking the beach. The property is immaculate and staff is very efficient. And you can do your shopping right on the beach as local vendors parade up and down selling their colorful wares. There is an evening free ride into town, but it is a very easy walk. So the best of all worlds -- peaceful, secluded beach, lovely small hotel, but close to restaurants, bars and restaurants. It couldn't be better!

Room Tip: We always get a garden room. Less expensive than the sea front but with large balconies. If you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

we try ro go there each time we go to hua hin, family trip or just with husband.We love the old Thai house, service is vrey friendly and we fill like in our home...beach is ok, swiming pool a little bit too small. But we love tjis adress

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asian_Traveler_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

This hotel is amazing! First line to the sea with its private beach. There is a restaurant on the beach with candles at night next to hotels beach. The hotel area is so green and I loved the sounds at night. I like the wooden floor in the rooms, it's a good feeling when you coming back from outside with +30 to cool room and stepping to cool natural wooden floor. For those who likes active sports kitesurfing school just next to it. Location of the hotel is good as well, you can find massage salon (with better price than in hotel) and shopping mall just across the Petchakasem road. I will defenetly back to this magical hotel with my boyfriend!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

It was a long ride from Bangkok to Kanchanaburi and finished at Hua Hin for the night. Baan Bayan is really nice, spacious, comfy and rusty. I had a relaxing day on the pool side and on the beach too. Just outside across the main road is a shopping mall.

Room Tip: Get the room with balcony preferable top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poseidon74SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taichung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed during off season, which probably explains why there was no functioning pool bar, why the beach in front of the hotel was not well kept, why the breakfast was mediocre at best, and why the service was not so great. It is a relaxing place , don't get me wrong. However, having stayed at other "boutique" hotels in Hua Hin and in nearby areas, the Baan Bayan is not a place I would revisit. Stayed for three nights and must admit that the place grew on us. At the end of our stay we were satisfied. BTW, there is a great local beach-side restaurant right next to the hotel that serves great local Thai food. Very popular with Thais, especially on weekends and holidays.

Room Tip: Either stay during high season or find a different hotel, such as the Baan Talay Dao.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We arrived quite early at Baan Bayan, and our room was not ready yet. Despite not having checked-in yet, the manager and the rest of the staff made us feel very welcome and offered us some towels for the beach and also giving us a round-tour of the hotel. A few hours later when we got our room, we immediately fell in love with it. We had a room with a garden view, and while perhaps the view was not the best, the room itself was really nice - clean and spacious, with a really nice bathroom.

We did try the swimming pool and while it was quite nice, we felt that maybe the location wasn't optimal (pretty much right in front of the restaurant). In the lobby area, the hotel provided books in various languages and also some board games, which we found enjoyable (good old Monopoly). Something that many other has mentioned in their reviews is how friendly the manager is and we definitely would have to agree with this - also, the service was excellent!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavyChoky185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
3.4 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
0.9 mi away
Sailom Hotel
Sailom Hotel
#34 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.3 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#1 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
#13 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marrakesh Hua Hin Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Laksasubha Hua Hin
Laksasubha Hua Hin
#1 of 215 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Bayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Bayan

Property: Baan Bayan
Address: 119 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Baan Bayan 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Bayan was originally built in the early 1900s. Facing Hua Hin’s white sandy beach, it has the undeniably superb location in one of the most sought after areas there. Baan Bayan forever catches the eyes of passersby with its hundred-year old frangipani tree, its spacious veranda together with its carved eaves and railings embracing the house. Originally a family’s summer retreat, Baan Bayan was one among many summer beach houses owned by Royal Highness Prince Devawongse Varopakarn. Built during the early period of construction of Hua Hin town and railway station, the house had been handed down to Princess Absornsamarn, consort of Royal Highness Chantaburi Naruenart, before being sold to Khun Prabha Chaiyawat on 1 April 1952. The house was then renamed Baan Bayan, as coined by Ya-Khob, the renowned Thai writer. In the past, Baan Bayan was regularly visited by Khun Prabha, her children and grandchildren and great grandchildren. Its charm and ambience render feelings of warmth and happiness in its simplest form. Not only does Baan Bayan hold its value as a rare architectural building, but it also reminds those very fond of the house of times passed and memories still cherished. Today, it is one of the rarest and finest examples of a golden teak Thai style bungalow house, lovingly restored to its former glory. Baan Bayan was awarded the prestigious Historical Architectural Conservation Award in 2005 by the Association of Siamese Architects (ASA) under the Royal Patronage. Guests staying at Baan Bayan can experience the glory of a bygone era, yet with all of today’s modern comforts and amenities. It is positioned as a small exclusive luxury beach hotel offering the charm of a traditional Thai aristocratic beach house. Baan Bayan will allow guests to sink back into a history rich with associations of the swinging, glorious 1920/30’s. Guests who have a desire to experience history and culture and seek a different vacation venue will appreciate the atmosphere at Baan Bayan. Advantageously, the resort is only a few minutes away from Hua Hin town center, market, and airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Bayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Bayan Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing