We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beach front hotel”
Review of Baan Bayan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baan Bayan
Ranked #25 of 135 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lovely beach front hotel”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Didn't really like Hua Hin a lot as it is humid and busy. However, once i checked into this hotel, it felt so relax. Nice manicured greenery around the hotel. The hotel is not that huge so didnt have to walk very far to the front desk, pool or beach. Provided free wifi in the rooms and also free shuttle to the night market. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Aircon works well, cooling us down from the heat & humidity pretty rapidly.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fulatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    85
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
65
105
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
167 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 855 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The best first. In my opinion, the hotel has the absolute best location in Hua Hin. It is right in the middle of the long beach, with night-time market, inner city, shopping centre, hospital and all the great restaurants in 5-10 minute walking distance.

The staff are very nice and service-minded, everything in the Thai spirit, of course.

The restaurant offers amazing Thai food. They are not particularly good at European food, but I suppose you would not go to Thailand for that.

There are free beach chairs on the beach for hotel guests, and the beach "hums" with activity, such as massage, water sports and a multitude of beach restaurants.

The hotel pool is small, but big enough for a swim, and a perfect size for children. The bar is right at the pool, which means that the adults can enjoy a drink while the children play in the pool.

The rooms are a bit worse for wear, and unfortunately have the hardest beds ever. I stayed in a room as well as a suite, and both were equally bad. The showers cannot decide whether they want to give cold or hot water, which can give you some unpleasant surprises while showering. The cleaning of the rooms is top-notch, but as I did not go to Thailand to stay in my rooms, the flaws are not that important to me, with the exception of the bed, and if I go back, I will demand a softer bed.

Breakfast is a small boring buffet of questionable quality, and the coffee served is practically undrinkable, but there is bread, fruit, various types of omelettes, Thai food and cereal products, so maybe I am just a bit spoiled with regard to a proper breakfast buffet.

The Wi-Fi is almost faultless and included in the price, which is a big plus in my book.

Like I said, you will not find a better location in Hua Hin, we stayed here for 21 days and would be happy to come back, because if you compare price and quality, these two things fit together very well at Bayan, which must be the main thing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fublife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

If you are looking for a plunge pool only, good wifi, great food, great restaurant staff and a clean beach then this is for you. Our only disappointing issue was that we had booked a twin room well over a month in advance and paid the deposit promptly. On arrival we were shown to a double room and were expected to share a bed for the week. A double room was not what was confirmed between myself and management prior to our arrival and if we had known this prior to paying the deposit we would have sought accommodation elsewhere. This meant that I spent the first night on the not so comfy couch with a view to being upgraded (we think!) to a twin room the next night. It wasn't the best start. The front of house staff are really not that informative or reliable but the rest of the staff (especially the morning chef) were totally accommodating, reliable and friendly.

Room Tip: Make sure you confirm your required room (AGAIN) prior to arrival. The smaller double room in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kflo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Right off the bat, the manager upgraded our room. We walked into a huge, high ceilinged, cleverly designed room with a very comfortable room and huge bath. This is the best hotel we stayed in during our 2 week trip. The grounds are lush and beautiful, and it is just a short walk to a beautiful groomed beach with fine sand. This is a small boutique hotel, which I prefer. you can walk to several malls and local markets. The most touristy district is just a small cab ride away. the hotel bar served a great margarita. Staff are also very accomodating and friendly, especially front desk clerk named "Sister.". She assisted us with directions and things to see. She and the manager also assisted us with a complicated taxi ride to Bangkok which involved several stops. It went off flawlessly. If I ever come back to Hua Hin, lured by the beautifulnbeaches and sea, I will stay there again..

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jplapis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hua Hin, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a seaview villa with extra bed (room nbr 101). We are a family of 4 (2 children 3year and 5year). Super clean, nice furniture in room, aircond working great, quite place, staff very friendly and helpful, VERY close to pool, beach and kite boarding Asia. Breakfast buffet great, food ok but we preferred eating on the beach and dinner at the pier. There are bigger room maybe more suitable for family, but we priority close to pool and no stairs.
Call the hotel directly and ask for prices, the have some promotions sometimes. Travel agency charge to high price. Baan Bayan official website: http://www.beachfronthotelhuahin.com
Staff told me that the Thai women that own the hotel have sold it to a foreigner. I hope this not going to spoil the family feeling.
Negative is all the mosquitoes, but they seemed to be everywhere in Hua Hin.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Smedendahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This beachside hotel is set back from Hua Hin's busy thoroughfare so has a peaceful and charming ambiance. Made up of several wooden structures in colonial style, in lush and beautifully planted gardens, it beats the posher hotels hands down. The fretwork, intricate balustrades and many verandas make each room or little house feel very individual. Staff are friendly and whilst not the most modern, the super comfy rooms are large, airy and with quiet airco! We had a huge room with treetop view and the sea through the trees. Most guests eat out, and on our second night we walked north then took the took the right fork just after the Grand Market on the left. It looks deserted but this road then takes you past the best restauants with nicer interiors, reasonable prices and good food. You have to hunt a bit in this area amongst the tackier bars, but they can be found! The pool is a bit small and shallow at the hotel but the ocean is only 100m further, warm and safe for swimming. The hotel provides lots of free comfy sunbeds on the beach and in the garden, with adequate shade. Overall, very glad we stayed here and would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre but could not un-tick,!!! No lift but lovely tiled staircases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Münchenbuchsee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights with our kids in Baan Bayan. We had a great time. A wonderful courtyard view room and a beachfront location. The room was so big that our kids could even play hide and seek.... The hotelmanager was very nice and helpful. He is doing a great job. We enjoyed the wonderful breakfast and the nice pool and beach. Only the staff in the restaurant could be more friendly and more motivated... However, we can recommend this place and would like to come back. Pascal and Nadine with Clea and Milla

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pascal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
3.4 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
0.9 mi away
Sailom Hotel
Sailom Hotel
#32 of 135 in Hua Hin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.3 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 135 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
#13 of 135 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marrakesh Hua Hin Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Laksasubha Hua Hin
Laksasubha Hua Hin
#1 of 218 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Bayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Bayan

Property: Baan Bayan
Address: 119 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Baan Bayan 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Bayan was originally built in the early 1900s. Facing Hua Hin’s white sandy beach, it has the undeniably superb location in one of the most sought after areas there. Baan Bayan forever catches the eyes of passersby with its hundred-year old frangipani tree, its spacious veranda together with its carved eaves and railings embracing the house. Originally a family’s summer retreat, Baan Bayan was one among many summer beach houses owned by Royal Highness Prince Devawongse Varopakarn. Built during the early period of construction of Hua Hin town and railway station, the house had been handed down to Princess Absornsamarn, consort of Royal Highness Chantaburi Naruenart, before being sold to Khun Prabha Chaiyawat on 1 April 1952. The house was then renamed Baan Bayan, as coined by Ya-Khob, the renowned Thai writer. In the past, Baan Bayan was regularly visited by Khun Prabha, her children and grandchildren and great grandchildren. Its charm and ambience render feelings of warmth and happiness in its simplest form. Not only does Baan Bayan hold its value as a rare architectural building, but it also reminds those very fond of the house of times passed and memories still cherished. Today, it is one of the rarest and finest examples of a golden teak Thai style bungalow house, lovingly restored to its former glory. Baan Bayan was awarded the prestigious Historical Architectural Conservation Award in 2005 by the Association of Siamese Architects (ASA) under the Royal Patronage. Guests staying at Baan Bayan can experience the glory of a bygone era, yet with all of today’s modern comforts and amenities. It is positioned as a small exclusive luxury beach hotel offering the charm of a traditional Thai aristocratic beach house. Baan Bayan will allow guests to sink back into a history rich with associations of the swinging, glorious 1920/30’s. Guests who have a desire to experience history and culture and seek a different vacation venue will appreciate the atmosphere at Baan Bayan. Advantageously, the resort is only a few minutes away from Hua Hin town center, market, and airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Bayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Bayan Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing