We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite hotel - EVER!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sailom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sailom Hotel
Ranked #32 of 133 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“My favourite hotel - EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Can't get enough of this place. Will definitely return. Was actually crying after leaving after our five nights here.

By the way - the hotel is RIGHT on the beach. Its the only hotel in Hua HIn that's actually on the beachfront that you will get for this budget in that area.

Location good, beachfront yet close to markets and city, food superb, TWO pools to choose from, excellent service, really nice features like turtle baths and probably the most comfortable beds we slept in in Thailand.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucychadwick85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    52
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
45
43
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

This must be the best placed hotel right in the center of the beach in Hua Hin. Whereas most hotels in Hua Hin are on the main noisy highway or away from the beach Sailom Hotel is right on the beach. We stayed in the standard superior rooms. Really fantastic room - enormous, clean, two large beds, good bathroom/shower, tea and coffee making facilities, safe, very pleasant staff. Other reviewers should think value for money when reviewing hotels in Thailand. You would not find a broom cupboard for this money in the UK, Scandinavia or elsewhere. Breakfast - which is free - has a huge buffet. The beach in front is very good, clean, and great swimming. All the staff speak very good Englisg. The only quibble I would have is that the wifi is pay for.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. And all for less than €50!!
I am planning a return visit next month and for a longer period.
Well done Sailom management and staff,
BTW- there is a first rate Thai restaurant minutes from the hotel - turn right on the main road.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

As a family we took a long time to choose this hotel based on what seemed to be favourable reviews from trip advisor. How wrong we're we!!!! This was our first visit to Thailand and had read everywhere about how friendly Thai people were. Well the exception seems to be the front desk at this hotel who from start to finish at best were lack lustre in their welcome.

Rooms: We had the garden superior rooms in the part of the hotel away from the main building. This part of the hotel seemed to be the forgotten section. The rooms were extremely tired and worn, as we're the garden area around which was poorly maintained. However on the plus side the rooms were large with 2 double beds, a large shower and was kept very clean. Outside each room had chairs and table and a hanging rail for wet costumes and smalls.

Restaurant : We only ate breakfast at this hotel and was appalled at what was presented. Cold eggs, tough bacon strips pale cold hot dog sausages, and stale bread for toast. No fresh juices only the very sweet packet mix. Not good!

To conclude when walking on the beach front and looking at this hotel in comparison to all the neighbouring hotels, she looked shabby, worn and in need of a face lift. Would not recommend this hotel at all unless you are happy to pay high rates for poor goods and service.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Maz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed here in August (low season) , after searching and reading reviews for a lot of hotels in the same area the reviews on this hotel were very good. We arrived to a mediocre reception, given the keys for our garden view rooms and that was it.

The rooms are dated and the room we had faced out onto the hotel allotment area, where a staff member tendered to her crop! We could never open our curtains and due to the lack of the customary privacy voile/net at the windows, the only privacy we had was to keep the heavy old curtains shut. Therefore our room was dark. I must say the rooms were clean and the cleaner was fantastic ! (Parents if you have the option of an extra bed , don't do it. The bed my son had was an old roll out bed with a worn blanket with stains on it . Don't waste your money the beds are big enough for 2 )


Pool - Salt water pool was in a nice location - but looked a bit grimy.
Main Pool - is ok, however there are no indications of the depth around the pool . It is very deep, in some parts which could be a problem for young families. There were shrubs growing through the pool gratings. The very few sun umbrellas had massive rips and were dirty, so they gave you limited shade .

Sun beds - Worn,stained with birds droppings on the very sparse cushions around the pool. Piles of sunbeds and umbrellas stored around the pool, but not for your use.
After 7pm the staff bring their children to the pool , which is great if they had swimwear on, the children were butt naked ..........young ones without nappies ..you can guess the rest !! Fortunately we only was aware of this on our last night !

Breakfast .- If you like like eating cold fried egg and sausages then this is the place for you! The bacon is like cooked leather. I love breakfast but didn't bother with it and only had a cup of tea. We asked for hot freshly cooked fried eggs and it was a big effort for the staff and the wait was long. The juices are sugary and sweet - not fresh add water to them .

Beach- Ok , 4 wooden beds flung at the side and on the other side horses for rides. No cushions on the sunbeds.

If you check out and need to store your luggage there is no courtesy room . They store your luggage in the foyer under a net, ridden with mosquitoes. You have to shower at the pool in view of all.

I have been to Thailand 13 times with my husband and I have backpacked to staying in top 5 star hotels in Thailand .. This hotel was unwelcoming and the staff need to go on a customer care course.

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. You can do far better for the price we paid. You have to pay for your WIFI each day .

With hindsight when reading the reviews for this hotel I should have taken into account that most of the reviews were written in April (high season,maybe they have more friendly staff) and from mainly guests outside of the EU. This is not an international friendly hotel and in my opinion it should be closed down during low season.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PORKY78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed at Sailom for 4 nights and loved it. Rooms are not the newest but they are clean. The pools are nice. Service and food are pretty great. Also on the food - certainly good value for meals at the hotel and the food tastes great.
Would go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwimBikeRunGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

She may be a little old, but this beach frontage hotel it's amazingly clean, neat, very comfortable and great value for money.
My room was very spacious allowing for me to spread out and also do some writing. It does get a bit noisy with a large number of families staying here, but that is to be expected.
The Breakfast was good, a nice selection fo freshly cooked products and fresh juice.
Sailom Hotel has 2 pools, one is family orientated, and the other is right near reception, so not much chance of relaxing by the pool with a book.
The staff, as in most of Thailand, were attentive, polite and helpful.
If you need to get into the centre of town, I found walking across to the 7-11 and getting a motorbike from there was quicker, easier and cooler!
Beach access is brilliant, just beware of the horses, jet ski's and kit-surfers, there seems to be no rules in the water.
If you want value for money then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramblingrelish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bang Bua Thong, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

the room was pretty old.
there is 7-11 opposite the hotel.
breakfast is just ok (Bacons are too oily and too stiff)
there is a private beach <3 (<< this is what i love about this hotel) and pool for kids.

the safety is nice!

so if you want a private beach in not too high price..Here is the great one!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hedkun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
1.6 mi away
ibis Hua Hin
ibis Hua Hin
#21 of 133 in Hua Hin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.0 mi away
Escape Hua Hin Hotel
Escape Hua Hin Hotel
#27 of 133 in Hua Hin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baan Bayan
Baan Bayan
#25 of 133 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
#13 of 133 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
2.2 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 133 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lapa Hua Hin Hotel
The Lapa Hua Hin Hotel
#43 of 133 in Hua Hin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sailom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailom Hotel

Property: Sailom Hotel
Address: 29 Phetkasem Hwy, Hua Hin, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 133 Hotels in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sailom Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Sailom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailom Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing