We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at the Dune”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dune Hua Hin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dune Hua Hin
Ranked #42 of 134 Hotels in Hua Hin
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at the Dune”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Beautiful small hotel with lovely bedroom and bathroom. Breakfast very good and use of owners pool, next door is fabulous, we have had it to ourselves which has been great. We have not dined in the restaurant as prices are quite steep and also this is not a place for the elderly or infirm as there are no lifts and breakfast is on the top floor. All in all we have enjoyed our stay and would happily recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which was quiet with a pleasant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottlets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    33
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Our bedroom at the Dune Hotel was spacious and modern with an open plan bathroom and lots of mood lighting, glass and wood. The location is mostly residential and a bit far from the centre which means getting a taxi or bus into town or alternatively walking in the heat which is not very pleasant. However the beach is on your door step and you can walk into town this way if the tide is out.

They have a roof top pool which covers the full area of the space so not much room for sitting around sun bathing but you can also use the owner’s pool in their property next door which was lovely and private.

My one big problem with the Dune Hotel was the breakfast. Breakfast has to be selected the night before plus the time you require it, between 8.30 and 10.30. On the first morning our bacon and fried egg breakfast was waiting for us on the table, stone cold. We requested they reheat it which they willing did but this made it hard and unpleasant. Each morning we went through this fiasco and each morning we would explain to the very willing and smiling staff that we required it hot. They kept trying with varying degrees of success but it was only near the end of our stay when I had abandoned a cooked breakfast altogether and my husband ordered poached egg instead of fried, that they finally got it right.

If the staff had more training it would make all the difference.

Room Tip: Try the cafe accross the road for good coffee and homemade cakes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

The suite was somewhat smaller than expected - hardly any space for the suitcases or to sit down.

Bathroom
Very nice and big. The double showerhead was fantastic. The tub is very big - so big that it will take an hour or so to fill it - and there is not enough hot water for that.

Pool
The pool is very refreshing after a hot day. Not very big, but enough to get cooled down. The sunbeds were plastic..

Restaurant
The breakfast is served at the 4. Floor restaurant. OK, but not spectacular. you have to select your breakfast the day befote. A few times we didn't get what we ordered but they were quick to change it.
Their chocolate lava is fantastic but costs the same as lunch and soft drinks for two in the city..

Location
The hotel is located 20 mins walk or 1.5 km from the city. It is easy to walk but can get very hot during daytime. Instead you can tasks a small white/red lorry marked 'suround city' that passes the hotel on as loop around town. The fare is just 10 bath no matter the destination. It passes night market, village city, railway station etc. If you take a stroll you will pass a lot of local restaurants - much cheaper than in the city.

Beach
The hotel is located 50m from the beach. It is however not a very nice beach and often impossible to use due to the tide.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munkesoe1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Dune boutique hotel consist of 5 rooms only so expect a very personalised experience. We checked into Room #1. The only room which comes with our own private lap pool. There is another lap pool by the bar on the rooftop which is a great place to wind down for the day. The rooftop restaurant and bar looks out to the sea too. The food available in the restaurant is pretty exquisite. I have added their cheese wonton dish in my own recipe book!

Breakfast is always served in the room at your convenience, all you need to do is to check the form to indicate what you would like for breakfast the night before.

Dune hotel is a bit of a walk into town especially in the sweltering heat with no shade but this gives more reason to spend more time in the hotel.

Hua Hin does not have much of a beach scene but nonetheless the private beach is just 1 min walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: If budget permits, go for room number 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hua Hin, Thailand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Been to Dune 4 times I know its a nice place to stay but the first time was for cocktails on the roof thought good idea take six friends love the roof but entrees where not good everyone complaind about size and taste and about handing over money EXPENSIVE i thought ok i will take friends for lunch so sad the food was dry small and no one could eat the selection of 4 dishes nearly 2000+ bht never again ...

Room Tip: I know the rooms are nice !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

The Dune is a little out of town center but that's a good thing. It is a really small place - only 5 rooms showing on the web site. We had a Deluxe room (mid grade) and there is only one room that is higher class - the single suite with a pool! The hotel is very stylish and the room was spacious and comfortable with a private balcony w/couch. Bath tub huge and shower stall too. Nice audio features - iPod dock and stereo system with speakers in bathroom too. Staff was nice and private parking is provided. There is a small pool on 4th fl and you can walk across the small entry road to the owner's residence to use their large pool/garden too! Short walk to beach as well. The roof bar is very nice too. The only weakness was breakfast where we could not seem to get a soft egg (how hard is that?) no matter how we ordered. Strangely the scrambled eggs were soft! Staff is friendly and the hotel is truly boutique and very romantic and quiet, so great for a getaway. Not far from BKK too, and the Hua Hin town is not too drastically tourist-y, with a nice night market and even a little shopping mall.

Room Tip: only 5 to choose from! All very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SalsabyJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed at Dune for 5 nights in late September and come back very enthusiastically. This is a really nice hotel with spacious rooms and large bathrooms which are very, very clean. The rooms have all modern amenities, a huge flat screen tv, DVD, iPod dock and complete sound system with spekares in room, bathroom and balcony. The bathroom is modern and sleek and the hotel offers lots of bathroom supplies. The mini bar is well filled and replenished every day and two bottles of complimentary water are provided each day.
The staff of the hotel is a real asset, not always fluent in English but ever so helpful and charming. We were especially fond of the little cook, who went out of her way to make an omelette on our last day, outside the menu, and the leading lady in the restaurant, who was witty and dressed up each day and enticed us to try new cocktails each evening.
We ate in the hotel restaurant a few times and were very pleased with that as well. We tried some very interesting Thai and fusion dishes and all were really tasty, nice and spicy and freshly prepared. The restaurant/bar is available for non-hotel guests too.
On the roof terrace there is a little pool, but it's too small and awkwardly located to spend a day tanning. Instead the pool next door can be used. That pool is big and clean and there are hardly any other guests.
I would have given the hotel a 5 star rating if it weren't for some small inconveniences like a hard to regulate shower temperature, a small leak in the sink, some occasional clogging in the shower after heavy use and the music in the restaurant which could sometimes be heard on the 2nd floor. The blow from the A/C could be a little less too according to my taste, but most people enjoy it the other way around I think. All in all I would love to go back here and can recommend it to any traveller who does not need to be right in the centre of Hua Hin but close enough to be able to enjoy all town facilities.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Syltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.7 mi away
Hisea HuaHin Hotel
Hisea HuaHin Hotel
#30 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.0 mi away
Imperial Hua Hin Beach Resort
5.1 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
#12 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
2.0 mi away
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
#13 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.5 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#1 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dune Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dune Hua Hin

Property: Dune Hua Hin
Address: 5/5 Naebkhehars, Hua Hin 771100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#21 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dune Hua Hin 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small exclusive beach boutique hotel features five modern stylish rooms with an utmost personalized service. You will be indulged with privacy and tranquility in the comfort of your fully-equipped room, while a lovely beach is only a stone throw away. The interior decoration is very minimalist in style but with a fine touch of details, a perfect combination of a modern concept of luxurious comfort lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dune Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dune Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Dune Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing