We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal comfortable getaway, I will certainly return.”
Review of Thai Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thai Garden Inn
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2013

First of all booking - the hotel recommended booking through booking.com who do not charge a fee. Location, as other reviewers say. is very close to main street and the famous bridge over the river kwai but across the river in a very peaceful setting. The accommodation comprises two sets of bungalows, one set with twin or double beds and the other family rooms. The bungalows all have a nice veranda with a table and two chairs. Inside they are simply but well furnished with tea and coffee making facilities and safe. They all have private shower room / toilet.

The staff are all very helpful and the food, both Thai and Western, is excellent.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnpattaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that our staff has been helpful and that the cooks have done a good job.

By the way, if you book directly at our website, you will also be entitled to some discounts. We run offers now and then but only from our website. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

Only a 10 minute stroll from the main tourist street but could be a million miles away, so tranquil and peaceful is this lovely place. All bungalows are set in a beautiful garden with fishponds and a swimming pool at the back. Great restaurant with the best chips I have had in Thailand. Each ac or fan bungalow has a safe, mini bar and tea making facilities. The owners vey helpful in arranging trips and transport. Will return here without a doubt.
A nice place for an evening drink on the river is the Sudjai restaurant 5 mins away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pusscat54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to read a review that appreciates the peace and tranquility here. And we will look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Thai Garden Inn is located about 5 min by 3 wheeled taxi from the tourist street. I took a walk there in the morning to eat breakfast with the locals, and visit the convenience store, before returning to the hotel for my free breakfast spread (includes continental and thai choices, good).

The hotel is nicely decorated with 2 fountains, new orchid pots, and an inviting swimming pool. I feel at ease with this type of decorations which is clean, pleasing and not overpowering as those in 5 star hotels. Facing the garden for breakfast (refreshing) and dinner (zen) adds brownie points to my entire Kanchanaburi stay. The dog Mandy shake my hand, and the cat drank from the garden fountain, it is a place that travelers can relax.

2 out of the 3 front counter staff speaks English, and the lady that doesn't is also lovable.

Hopefully Thai Garden Inn's standard remains as pleasant and clean upon my next visit.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in (fan room) is warm at night, it took a while before I could fall asleep. A lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Thank you for your review. It is always good to hear the good things we have done and we certainly will make sure that Thai Garden is kept up to standards for the comfort of all our guests.

The weather now is even hotter than when you were here in February. This was one of the reason why we installed air cons in all the fan bungalows when we took over in 2011. We felt that guests should be given a choice to upgrade to air con should the fan proof to be still too hot for their taste.

We will be very happy to see you again when you next come here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My husband & I really enjoyed our stay at the Thai Garden Inn. We were there for 8 nights in February. Owner Judy was really helpful in arranging our transfer from Ayutthaya to Kanchanaburi & again when we left to go to Ban Pong to catch a train to our next destination. We were very comfortable in our garden lodge, good size bedroom with lots of storage space & very adequate bathroom & efficient aircon. The garden was lovely & the swimming pool was great. Breakfast in the open sided restaurant was a pleasure each morning. We also had dinner there a couple of times & although the menu isn't extensive the food was freshly prepared & very tasty. The free wifi was much appreciated & worked well. Owners Judy & John couldn't have been more helpful & really looked after us, as did their friendly & helpful staff, especially B. The rooms were cleaned daily & the safe & fridge (free water every day) were much appreciated. We liked the fact that we were in a quiet location but within easy walking distance, over the bridge, to lots of restaurants, shops & bars. The area is lovely, especially the river & we enjoyed interesting excursions to the Kwai Bridge, the railway, Commonwealth War Graves cemeteries, museums etc. some of which are within walking distance & others a short tuk tuk ride away. The Thai Garden Inn is fantastic value for money & we liked it so much we are already planning a return visit next year. Judy & Mike Smith, England.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for your great review, Judy and Mike. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We certainly enjoyed having you both with us and we will be looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Stayed here at the beginneing of February 2013. Both the couple that runs this hotel as well as the staff are very nice and helpful. Rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast was good. In the afternoon, when you come back from a daytrip (I suggest Erawan Falls and the Tiger Temple!) it's very nice to sit in the garden or by the pool with a drink. It's not in the center of Kanchanaburi, but we liked that. Within walking distance there are several nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for your review. And we are glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself in Thai Garden Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Stayed at this accommodation for 3 nights 2 weeks ago with my partner and in-laws. Enjoyed the location and bungalow we stayed in. Food was very nice and very reasonably priced and the service at reception and bar was excellent. However there seems to be an issue with the cleaners/maids. My mother in law noticed that her suitcase had been rifled through and upon inspection found that 2 pairs of shorts had been stolen. We informed management straight away and Judy the owner was very embarrassed and offered to call the police, however she said that it would likely be a waste of time as it would take months to get anything sorted and our stay would already be over in Thailand. We decided to not let this ruin our stay so we let the issue go. However later that evening my sister in law noticed that money was missing from her suitcase. Due to our earlier conversations with the owner we decided we would wait until the morning to make the complaint as we knew nothing would be resolved but it would allow her to approach the issue with her staff.
I am disappointed to read Judy's response to my sister in law below as she was genuinely sorry at the time we complained and we were not trying to gain any compensation but trying to help her resolve a staff issue for future customers security.
As previously stated I enjoyed my stay at the place and all other staff were helpful and accommodating but I would not recommend staying there unless you have locks on your suitcases. Also I feel that the owner should admit that there is a issue with the maids and should be dealing with the situation. Surely the response we should have had was that the maid in question was let go or disciplined.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thaigardeninn, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

This is the third review by the same party on the same subject.

Each time the review is made by your party, the content of the storyline varies.

We are sorry when your mum-in-law said she lost her items. But without proof, neither you or us can accuse our cleaner of stealing your items. As it is (as mentioned in our second reply), our staff has already resigned as she did not like being labelled as a thief.

The recommendation for informing the police is to ensure that the matter is treated in the legal manner.

Hmm...would we be expecting another three reviews on this subject...??? (For those who are interested in reading the two previous reviews, please looking up the heading "Great Place to Stay but with staff issues and Avoid - Cleaner is a Thief")

As a byline - we do take all reviews very seriously and we do act on them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Just returned from our 16 day trip to Thailand having stayed in the Thai Garden Inn for three nights during our first week.
On arrival we found the owner Judy to be very welcoming and loved the complex/accomodation.
Every part of the complex is clean and well maintained.
Food in the restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced. Free use of the pool table.
We were enjoying the whole experience of our stay until we arrived back to our bungalow on the last day to find two items of clothing missing from one of our cases.
Judy went out of her way to try and resolve this issue but unfortunately I had to resign to the fact that they were well and truly gone! Chalet maid obviously has good taste!!
I would like to make other travellers aware of the staff problems so it does'nt spoil their stay at the Thai Garden Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prof22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry about the missing items but this has been addressed in your earlier review.

As a sideline - the cleaner that you accused was very upset and has resigned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
0.5 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#10 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
169 reviews
0.6 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
237 reviews
1 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
1,066 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
351 reviews
4.1 mi away
Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
#3 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thai Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thai Garden Inn

Address: 74 / 11 Moo 4 | Tamakham, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: £27 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thai Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thai Garden Inn is nestled in the heart of the Kanchanaburi countryside. We have 11 individual, well appointed Thai-style bungalows overlooking either our gardens or our pool. We have another 3 individual family bungalows overlooking our swimming pool. All bungalows have en-suite bathrooms including hot shower, western toilet and free WiFi. In addition there is also a fully stocked mini-bar. We have a choice of air con or fan for our standard bungalows. Our family bungalows are fully air conditioned only. We also have 2 bedroom house, fully equipped with TV, western kitchen, spa tub in the master bedroom bathroom and private parking. At the heart of our resort is the swimming pool and sunbathing area. Perfect place to escape the sun for a while, then cool off and relax on one of our shaded recliners. Our games include free pool table and darts. For those who wish to read, we have a small library of books for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thai Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thai Garden Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing