We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely bungalow, great pool, good location”
Review of Thai Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thai Garden Inn
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Three of us stayed in one of the bungalows here and really enjoyed our short stay. The bungalow was clean and tidy, included a safe, kettle and bathroom. The pool was lovely and refreshing when it got hot. The pool table and bar were great to use in the evenings! The location was fine for us as we didn't mind walking and rented bikes so the ride the bridge, museum and market wasn't long at all. With kids or the elderly you may have to book tuk tuks. The breakfast was good with a good amount of selection for Thailand.

The only downside was the noises from the farm animals next door. With earplugs or if you're a deep sleeper this wouldn't bother you and at the great budget price it didn't bother us too much!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Susanna1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for your review. Good to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I do agree that the rooster crowing in the morning can be a bit of nuisance sometimes. But this beats the honk of cars and buses. And the birds chirping can be enjoyable too. At certain times of the year, we even have cows that graze in the land next door to us. Guess that's part of the joy of being in the countryside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay here with our 15 year old son. Clean bungalows, tasty food and also reasonably priced.
Reception staff were very helpful, their English language was excellent thus booking excursions, transport and general tourist information was easy and nothing was too much trouble we felt that they were a huge asset to this resort.
Thai Garden Inn also had a friendly, relaxed and chilled atmosphere.. home from home unlike some hotels we have stayed in previously.
Location - It is possible to walk to the town but we frequently used the Tuk Tuk (approx 60baht) there is also a night market which is worth a visit.

Room Tip: If you want easy access to the pool ask for accommodation near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDavies67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for your review. It is nice to hear that our staff has been helpful and that our cooks dish up tasty dishes. We use no MSG or excessive sugar in our food and only use natural ingredients to bring out the flavour in our food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is a difficult one to review, a bit of a curate’s egg. The grounds are lovely to sit out in and beautifully kept. The pool is great, very clean and the canopy to keep the sun off is a great idea. Layout is good and the cosy loft above reception has TV room, library and small restaurant and is a super place to relax. There’s a mile or so to walk into town but to be fair, that is very clear in the description, and makes for a rural retreat feel; free pick up from RKB station was provided. We rented bikes on one day which made getting around fun and easy. Downside is the maintenance; we couldn’t close bathroom door in family room and when we reported it, we were told nothing could be done. Lots of other minor points, loose floor tiles, empty paint tins around the pool. Complimentary breakfast is a little parsimonious and they didn’t even bring the advertised items unless you asked so we didn’t bother after day 1. Other staff were great though. Overall you probably won’t find nicer pool at this price point in Kanchanaburi. On balance, I’d probably stay again but with a bit of better maintenance, the place could be amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GF158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review. It is refreshing to read such a long review.

We take our guests complaints seriously and thank you for bringing up these matters.

On the main subject of maintenance, we have to disagree with you on the supposedly lack of maintenance. We take pride in our resort and do continual maintenance on a yearly basis and carry out repairs as and when required. However it must be noted that things can break down anytime but not all things can be fixed at the time of the breakdown.

We do apologize that the bathroom door could not be locked from the outside but there was a sliding bolt on the inside to allow the person using the bathroom to close and lock the door. The problem of the door not being able to be locked from the outside will be corrected. The sliding bolt was an emergency repair when someone broke the door knob recently.

The loose tiles are recent and happened just in this high season. Unfortunately the bungalow is fully booked until next month, which means we will be unable to tear the flooring apart and work on it until after end August.

We certainly agree that an empty paint tin can do not blend in with the beauty of our garden. The disagreeable object was found in a corner of a pathway (near the shower area) and has now been removed.

On the complimentary breakfast, we apologize that our staff sometimes forgets all the items. Rest assured that this is not intentional, just a human mistake. But I do understand that they did serve everything that was in the menu in the subsequent days.

We certainly would love to see you and your family again and hope that you will see that we do not forsake maintenance of our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our kids and we loved to stay at the Thai Garden Inn. A good place to relax and a lot of things to do. If you needed anything , the staff and owners would arrange it.
Thanks for making our stay in Kanchanaburi extra special.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Letteke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review.

We equally enjoyed having you and your family here and we are happy to hear that you have all enjoyed yourselves here.

It is particularly nice to note that we have been able to contribute to making your stay in Kanchanaburi special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Have just returned from our 17th trip to Thailand and our 4th visit to TGI in Kanchanaburi. ALWAYS a great stay with helpful friendly staff, clean rooms and good food. It is fun to return and see the additions and improvements made each year. John and Judy always looking for ways to make sure your stay is enjoyable. New this year were the reading room and movie viewing area above the restaurant/reception area. The garden areas are beautiful and are always being added to and enlarged. One of our favorite stops in Thailand.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review.

It is always good to see returning guests and we love having you and your husband here yearly. I am glad you liked our improvements and definitely look forward to see you both again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

my friend and I have just spent a month at Thai Garden house, the house has everything you need and more. The swimming pool is pristine and covered so you can relax in the pool without getting sunburn. The food in the restaurant is delicious, and all the staff including the cleaning staff are all very helpful and friendly, will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThailandMiss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you and your friend have enjoyed yourselves during your one month stay with us at our brand new TGI House. And we certainly look forward to seeing you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

A nice small hotel with bungalows.
Plus:
Very friendly staff
Pool (small but nice)
Beautiful garden - nice to relax

Minus:
Location (a bit far from main road)
heat - in May, despite the air con, the bungalows are very hot.
Minimal comfort

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gourma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyksp, Owner at Thai Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your review.

Kanchanaburi is well known as the hottest province in the whole of Thailand. But still, we do our best to maintain and service our air cons regularly to make sure they keep the rooms cool at night. If you have told our staff, I am sure they could have assisted to look into the matter for you especially since the air cons were just serviced in the month of April. It is most likely a change of the settings on the remote which is what we found out in most cases.

As for the location, it really boils down to preference. Some like it and that's the reason they stay with us. Others seem to prefer to be in middle of all the night activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
0.5 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#11 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
172 reviews
1 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
0.6 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
1,108 reviews
1.7 mi away
Away Kanchanaburi Dheva Mantra Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
River Kwai Hotel
River Kwai Hotel
#45 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thai Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thai Garden Inn

Address: 74 / 11 Moo 4 | Tamakham, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: £24 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thai Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thai Garden Inn is nestled in the heart of the Kanchanaburi countryside. We have 11 individual, well appointed Thai-style bungalows overlooking either our gardens or our pool. We have another 3 individual family bungalows overlooking our swimming pool. All bungalows have en-suite bathrooms including hot shower, western toilet and free WiFi. In addition there is also a fully stocked mini-bar. We have a choice of air con or fan for our standard bungalows. Our family bungalows are fully air conditioned only. We also have 2 bedroom house, fully equipped with TV, western kitchen, spa tub in the master bedroom bathroom and private parking. At the heart of our resort is the swimming pool and sunbathing area. Perfect place to escape the sun for a while, then cool off and relax on one of our shaded recliners. Our games include free pool table and darts. For those who wish to read, we have a small library of books for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thai Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thai Garden Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing