We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor condition, but very cheap!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sam's River Rafthouse
Ranked #61 of 103 Kanchanaburi B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Poor condition, but very cheap!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Let's be clear, this place is an alternative to camping, not an alternative to a hotel, hence the price! The rooms are made of tin, there are holes in the walls, the shower has been screwed to the wall next to the toilet, it is pretty rough!
Unfortunately, we had 2 cockroaches in our room too :-( The host did change our room for us, but i wasn't convinced we were alone!! It'd be OK, but there was a hole in the wall with a bin bag pushed in it and some of the wood was rotten around the botton of the walls, so animals/pests could come and go at their leisure!
So why 3 stars not 1?

Well, it's a super location, by the river, 5 mins walk to the main street of bars etc, and we paid 5 Pounds for the night, so that's 2.50 each! The staff are pretty friendly, and there's Wifi.

I was rating it 2 stars but my wife reminded me we were in Thailand, and my expectations were too high!

Take some insect killer for the cockroaches and a sense of humour, and you'll be OK.
Some rooms look out onto the river but you downside is the party boats come past at night and wake you up!
Breakfast is available, but it's just toast and jam, for a small fee.
Would i stay again? Prob not cos i hate cockroaches!!
I they could fix this it'd be OK!

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the river mean no waking up for the party boats!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    23
    24
    8
    7
See reviews for
5
33
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vietnam
Level Contributor
247 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hostel has a great location. Right on the river, close to all the restaurants and bars and about a 10 - 15 minute walk to the river kwai bridge. Our room was really nice and good value for what we paid. We had confusion over hiring a bike through the guesthouse. We ended up walking 5 minutes and finding another cheap rental place. The staff were great, really chatty and could answer any questions we had about the area. We stayedin a raft bungalow, this was very unique to anywhere else we've stayed in Thailand.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed in the double stone bungalow, tgey are a little bit run down everything that you need. At 200 baht a night, only the jolly frog offers cheaper prices. You have direct access to sit out on the river, if you can brave the mosquitoes.
The food is good, about twice the price . Located just off the main tourist strip, it is a short walk to all conveniences.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGrundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
229 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The location is great for being close to the backpacker strip: just a 3-5 min walk-- also to a convenience store and restaurants, cafes, bars, ATM-- all are close! The staff is friendly, though with little English--yet they are helpful and courteous. They were helpful with Tour details. The banana pancake was good. I moved from the stone bungalow -- very poor physical condition!!-- to the rafthouse, and paid more for WARM (not hot) water.
The physical condition (doors, toilet seat, lights, shower, "locks," raft flooring--VERY uneven, unsafe!) is the most decrepit I have ever experienced in Asia-- even for a lower price. No mosquito net, no mosquito coils--just mosquitoes, at night, less in the room (tho still some there!) than on the raft deck or at reception-sitting area. Internet only at reception. Light bulbs burnt out, not replaced.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LightSplash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

The room stank, the ceiling was all black mould and so were the very wonky mattress and pillows. If I hadn't been so tired when I arrived I would have run screaming. Kanchanaburi offers 70 baht backpackers accommodation and I would have expected that but at 400 baht it is grossly overpriced. The staff hardly speaks English and is quite unfriendly. Seeing the amount of cockroaches scurrying around the room I was amazed I didn't get bitten by bedbugs. Definitely a night to forget, it put a real damper on my visit to Kanchanaburi.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bram C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kanchanaburi hotels

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The rooms are situated on 2 raft houses which are located directly on the River Kwai. It is most of the time quiet here as there are only a few boats crossing by. Gorgeous location!
The great night market and the main tourist street of Kanachanburi are only a few metres away.
The staff is quite friendly. Drinks and breakfast are served at the reception on the river bank where there also are some table and chairs for chilling and meeting and a TV. Free Internet is provided via W-LAN. There are only 2 parking positions for cars.
The rooms have different sizes but overall are very simply. The cheapest offer just only a bed and fan. The on-suite bathrooms are very very small and simple. Cleanliness is ok, but could be better. But you can not expect much more for a price of just only 400 THB/night. :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Campinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanchanaburi, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Absolutely fantastic location but the state of the accommodation lets it down, needs a lick of paint and a few odd jobs doing. Such a shame as this could be a premium place to stay in premium location. It lets itself down. Staff we're brilliant but somehow this place has lost its soul.

Room Tip: Bring some paint and your own bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onebubblygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kanchanaburi
0.0 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#8 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.0 mi away
VN Guesthouse
VN Guesthouse
#3 of 103 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Boutique Raft Resort
Boutique Raft Resort
#5 of 103 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sam's Guesthouse
Sam's Guesthouse
#37 of 103 in Kanchanaburi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam's River Rafthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's River Rafthouse

Property: Sam's River Rafthouse
Address: 48/1 Rong Heeb Oi Road | Tha Makham, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Kanchanaburi
Hotel Class:3 star — Sam's River Rafthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sam's River Rafthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing