We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too far from other parts of town”
Review of R.S. Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
R.S. Hotel
Ranked #53 of 80 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too far from other parts of town”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Positive: friendly people, great breakfast in beautiful garden, pool, safe in room.

Negative: old and bit worn out, not in walking distance of bars, restaurants (they do have their own, but as often in thailand "little spicy" was not little spicy :). At the hotel they can easily call you a songthaew though. If you do walk, at night you will meet aggressive dogs in the streets, so if you go back just try and find the taxi/songthaew that we couldn't (just walk to the busy parts and don't think "ah we can walk those 4 km").

Advice: we would have prefered to stay somewhere around maenamkwai road, which had many bars, restaurants and guesthouses

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
3
6
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Secunderabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Very good atmosphere and wonderful service. Clean rooms and good facilities. Only thing lacking was communication in English. Not many can speak English and so communicating with them was problematic. At least the front office staff should know to speak English. Other than this, everything else was good.

Room Tip: Try for a room facing the pool. Very colorful and pleasing to the eye.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunilbernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Me and my 3 friends had booked by Agoda 950 THB stayed in early 10-11 December 2010
As we desperated on all winter season early room online pre-fully booked in Suanpuang Ratchaburi area nearby ;So we end up at these R.S. Karnchanaburi one

These hotel had a big car park with outdoor garden decorative; a medium pool size which we have no time to soaked in it ; also a large lobby at reception area.

We booked Twin bed for 2 rooms (as we comes 4) My room is look ok; They have all room remote control set embbed with bed table panel; No hand carry TV remote control provided;
AC is bit freezing though we set on 25 Celcius ; Toilet is fine with hot water and bathtub.

Hotel Restaurant is set outdoor with plastic roof cover on topped;
They have many plastic table and chair seat with variety of breakfast buffet menu;
but we missed some dishes Due to the day we checked in is long thai democracy holiday;
Hotel have a hugh giant goverment officer had checked in for a seminar ;
4 or 5 big coach had parked at front ,
and these are reason why we missed some breakfast buffet dishes;
since we could not fast hands than them enough; anyhow the tastes of food is ok

Location of hotel is ok ; not far from main Karnchanaburi local night market
and main River Kwai nice restaurant places.

Activities in hotel; They have Karaoke lounge club at ground floor;
Anyhow; it looked a bit like Patpong and Pattaya town bar beer
as they have many pretty girls escort ready to sat drink with you
prices of alcoholic and room karaoke rental is ok and reasonable

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimSip81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I stayed at this hotel for the weekend 7th - 9th December

The reception staff are pleasant and helpful. probably one of its best features.
Breakfast area good and a decent breakfast ,mainly Thai style which was fine

On entering the floor where my room was located I noticed a tray on the floor outside one room - (food serviced to room) - it was still there at least 24 hours later

My room was clean and basically comfortable. No TV remote - controlled by a panel between the twin beds - also very limited channels . A/C was changeable but mostly warm. The window could not close completely leaving a one inch gap - the window may have been put in the wrong way restricting its closure.
Two bottles of water - unfortunately when trying to drink BOTH were completely frozen.
The refrigerator control was missing with only a thin wire protruding so if one tried to change impossible.
A wedding was booked at the hotel so many people around.
Would certainly not stay again at an exorbitant cost of 1400 baht. Stayed at far better hotels for far less cost
The pool area looked OK.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kanchanaburi hotels

Phuket Town, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

The room aircon was not adjustable and set at high, with in 2 hours it was way too cold, so had to turn it off and then in 1 hour was too hot in the room! No way in the middle, tried to open up a window but no screens so after 30 minutes had mosquitoes in the room, so that did not work. Finally had to take the entire blanket set off one twin bed (I wanted a queen bed room - didn't get it) and so with two full blankets and sheet sets had enough to keep warm for the night. The shower when turned to hot water just dribbled out however the sink was full on with hot water. When I turned the shower hot water dribble up by adding cold water the shower was way to cold - but had to use it. Everything was old and out of shape in the room and for the price we paid, Baht 1,400, it was not worth it. I have stayed in better Thai hotels for half the price. No one should not book this hotel or wait till they update everything - but seems they were full of tour groups so maybe that will not happen because they were making allot of money!

Room Tip: If you stay, book a room on the interior walls so you have a swim pool view. All outside rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phuket_brad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This is a big hotel, set back from the main road in Kanchanaburi. It has lots of car parking space and lush looking gardens. Its location means that it is a quiet place to stay. From the outside it looks grand and imposing with a large entrance at the top of steps and a big glass arched frontage that I think is a conference centre. That is where the positives ended for me. On the inside it was old, tatty and in need of urgent refurbishment.

The big reception desk has a wall-sized mural of a man on a horse leading soldiers into battle. It was also a bit of a fight to get a half-decent room. I was taken up to the third floor in a dirty lift and led along dirty corridors. The first I was shown was dirty and smelt musty so I asked to see another. They didn't have any more doubles left and reluctantly opened up the room next door which had two singles. It was marginally better and as my schedule was tight, I decided to stay. All the furniture was dated and in need of replacement and the bathroom wanted ripping out and a new one putting in. The decor was damaged in places and the carpets were dirty. The connecting door to the next room didn't look secure and there was no room safe. The entrance door also looked like it had been broken into in the past. There shower had no hot water either, but at least the bedding looked clean.

The area that was used for the breakfast was outside under a lean-to type bit of the hotel that had a trellis ceiling under a semi-opaque sloping roof. Everything was covered in dirt. It ran the full width of the hotel and was open and airy, bordered by lots of greenery that looked like a garden. The tables were big circular ones on steel frames and the chairs the cheap white plastic type that a roadside cafe would use. Although there was a lot of food, most looked un-appetising so I started with tea and toast but then a lady turned up and began to cook omelettes which were actually okay.

Few people spoke English. Although there were many westerners staying, perhaps on coach tours by the look of things, I understood that the hotel catered mainly for Thais. The staff weren't friendly and welcoming and on a number of ocassions could be seen to be openly talking about guests in a manner that didn't seem appropriate.

This hotel must have been one of the best when it was originally built but that must have been a long time ago. It is desperate need of a lot of money spending on it. Until that time comes, I won't be going back.

Room Tip: The two I looked at were not very nice. I don't have any tips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I stayed at this hotel as part of a package visiting the river Kwai from Pattaya. The river view hotel was full so we were given rooms here. It's a large hotel, with a cute (small) pool, and the most beautifully kept orchid gardens complete with aviary and bunnies. The breakfast buffet was very impressive.
HOWEVER... the rooms were pitiful. They were very old and in extremely poor condition. This was sad and disappointing given the potential in the rest of the place.

Room Tip: I don't know if there are renovated rooms, but it's worth asking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
0.0 mi away
Mittapan Hotel
Mittapan Hotel
#27 of 80 in Kanchanaburi
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 80 in Kanchanaburi
362 reviews
0.0 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#9 of 80 in Kanchanaburi
165 reviews
0.0 mi away
River Kwai Hotel
River Kwai Hotel
#46 of 80 in Kanchanaburi
262 reviews
0.0 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#10 of 80 in Kanchanaburi
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R.S. Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R.S. Hotel

Property: R.S. Hotel
Address: 264 Moo 5 Saeng Chuto Rd. | Tha Mahkam Subdistrict, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 80 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — R.S. Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your R.S. Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing