We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and Tired Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of R.S. Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
R.S. Hotel
Ranked #51 of 78 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Old and Tired Hotel”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Hotel location is several km from the town centre although it is straight down the road. The staff were friendly but could not converse much in English and thus were of limited help. All about the hotel gives you the tired and shabby look including the rooms and the restaurant. Rooms were big but had old toilet fixtures. We stayed for 4 nights for golfing in Kanchanaburi and was our second choice hotel after our booking at another hotel in town fell through. Fortunately, on days when there were large tour groups, buffet breakfast at the garden was a welcome change from the American breakfast at the restaurant. Nothing else much in the hotel and even the swimming pool seemed unused as tour groups tend to check in late and check out early the next day. Fortunately, there is a row of shops just outside the hotel where you could get a cheap beer and a tom yam soup from a friendly family running this eatery.

Room Tip: Select a room facing the pool as the alternate view is just rooftops and shop buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c2chen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
2
6
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Very dated hotel with a lot of mould in bathrooms. We have checked 8 different rooms and all were the same. Finally we've landed in the best suite they had, where the mould level had to be accepted as there were no rooms in neighbouring hotels available. After the "landing" it turned out there was no hot water. Maybe we should be pleased with running water at all but then let's not call it a hotel. The food quality in restaurant is also far below Thailand street level. You should defenitly keep away from this place. The staff is smiling at you as always in Thailand but it's not enough in this circumstances.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomto147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kanchanaburi hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Positive: friendly people, great breakfast in beautiful garden, pool, safe in room.

Negative: old and bit worn out, not in walking distance of bars, restaurants (they do have their own, but as often in thailand "little spicy" was not little spicy :). At the hotel they can easily call you a songthaew though. If you do walk, at night you will meet aggressive dogs in the streets, so if you go back just try and find the taxi/songthaew that we couldn't (just walk to the busy parts and don't think "ah we can walk those 4 km").

Advice: we would have prefered to stay somewhere around maenamkwai road, which had many bars, restaurants and guesthouses

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secunderabad, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Very good atmosphere and wonderful service. Clean rooms and good facilities. Only thing lacking was communication in English. Not many can speak English and so communicating with them was problematic. At least the front office staff should know to speak English. Other than this, everything else was good.

Room Tip: Try for a room facing the pool. Very colorful and pleasing to the eye.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunilbernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
326 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Me and my 3 friends had booked by Agoda 950 THB stayed in early 10-11 December 2010
As we desperated on all winter season early room online pre-fully booked in Suanpuang Ratchaburi area nearby ;So we end up at these R.S. Karnchanaburi one

These hotel had a big car park with outdoor garden decorative; a medium pool size which we have no time to soaked in it ; also a large lobby at reception area.

We booked Twin bed for 2 rooms (as we comes 4) My room is look ok; They have all room remote control set embbed with bed table panel; No hand carry TV remote control provided;
AC is bit freezing though we set on 25 Celcius ; Toilet is fine with hot water and bathtub.

Hotel Restaurant is set outdoor with plastic roof cover on topped;
They have many plastic table and chair seat with variety of breakfast buffet menu;
but we missed some dishes Due to the day we checked in is long thai democracy holiday;
Hotel have a hugh giant goverment officer had checked in for a seminar ;
4 or 5 big coach had parked at front ,
and these are reason why we missed some breakfast buffet dishes;
since we could not fast hands than them enough; anyhow the tastes of food is ok

Location of hotel is ok ; not far from main Karnchanaburi local night market
and main River Kwai nice restaurant places.

Activities in hotel; They have Karaoke lounge club at ground floor;
Anyhow; it looked a bit like Patpong and Pattaya town bar beer
as they have many pretty girls escort ready to sat drink with you
prices of alcoholic and room karaoke rental is ok and reasonable

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimSip81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I stayed at this hotel for the weekend 7th - 9th December

The reception staff are pleasant and helpful. probably one of its best features.
Breakfast area good and a decent breakfast ,mainly Thai style which was fine

On entering the floor where my room was located I noticed a tray on the floor outside one room - (food serviced to room) - it was still there at least 24 hours later

My room was clean and basically comfortable. No TV remote - controlled by a panel between the twin beds - also very limited channels . A/C was changeable but mostly warm. The window could not close completely leaving a one inch gap - the window may have been put in the wrong way restricting its closure.
Two bottles of water - unfortunately when trying to drink BOTH were completely frozen.
The refrigerator control was missing with only a thin wire protruding so if one tried to change impossible.
A wedding was booked at the hotel so many people around.
Would certainly not stay again at an exorbitant cost of 1400 baht. Stayed at far better hotels for far less cost
The pool area looked OK.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

The room aircon was not adjustable and set at high, with in 2 hours it was way too cold, so had to turn it off and then in 1 hour was too hot in the room! No way in the middle, tried to open up a window but no screens so after 30 minutes had mosquitoes in the room, so that did not work. Finally had to take the entire blanket set off one twin bed (I wanted a queen bed room - didn't get it) and so with two full blankets and sheet sets had enough to keep warm for the night. The shower when turned to hot water just dribbled out however the sink was full on with hot water. When I turned the shower hot water dribble up by adding cold water the shower was way to cold - but had to use it. Everything was old and out of shape in the room and for the price we paid, Baht 1,400, it was not worth it. I have stayed in better Thai hotels for half the price. No one should not book this hotel or wait till they update everything - but seems they were full of tour groups so maybe that will not happen because they were making allot of money!

Room Tip: If you stay, book a room on the interior walls so you have a swim pool view. All outside rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phuket_brad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
2.3 mi away
Duenshine Resort
Duenshine Resort
#53 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luxury Hotel
Luxury Hotel
#44 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
13 reviews
5.9 mi away
ComSaed River Kwai Resort
ComSaed River Kwai Resort
#24 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
355 reviews
22.9 mi away
Riverkwai Park & Resort
Riverkwai Park & Resort
#22 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
18 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ban Sabai Sabai
Ban Sabai Sabai
#6 of 99 in Kanchanaburi
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R.S. Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R.S. Hotel

Property: R.S. Hotel
Address: 264 Moo 5 Saeng Chuto Rd. | Tha Mahkam Subdistrict, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 78 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — R.S. Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your R.S. Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing