We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset over the bridge was view to die for”
Review of Bamboo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bamboo House
Ranked #10 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Couldn't be closer to the water. I loved the location and friendly staff. My husband dropped his glasses overboard (2M deep at that point) and one fellow went after then even though it turned out he couldn't swim - now that is service! Bathroom facilities are basic to say the least but it is clean and cheap. Breakfast fruit was fab. Locality a little quiet in the evenings (except for the party barges floating past between 6 and 8 p.m. - If karoke isn't your thing I suggest this is the time to go out for dinner). Finally dawn chorus was beautiful, loads of wild birds, water clean and full of fish. Surprisingly not any bugs - I usually get eaten alive if there are! A natural beauty if you are happy to go with just the basics,

Room Tip: Go for the raft rooms - it is quite an experience and amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

My friend and I had a wonderful stay at in one of the floating rafts, it was as cozy as can be! Great location by the river, very quiet and great service! And surprisingly enough they cook the most basic but wonderful food. Could not be more satisfied.

Room Tip: The floating rafts have pretty hard mattresses but the feeling of it is far greater than good sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimothyGottlieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This hotel is farther up the main road and set on the river. It is nice to be away from the bars and tourist scene and even better to be near the water. The value is great and the staff were friendly and helpful, they will even arrange a tuk tuk to take you to the bus station. The room was okay. No bugs, but the bathroom was small and more grungy than other places I have stayed. But for the price and location I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

The staff were quite friendly and helpful. The raft rooms are okay but go up and down a little when a fast boat passes. The path to my rafthouse was under water in the evening,so check the water level before you take it. The bungalows are better. If you're there in a weekend and want to sleep early,don't forget earplugs or so, because of the passing karaoke boats. No hot shower but most of the year thailand is warm enough for a cold shower.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katrien86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We all loved it (my girlfriend, best friend and I). Definitely not for those like Maggie who want the high life. Large comfortable rooms with matresses but what do u expect for 200 Baht a room! Within walking distance to the bars. Actually on the river Kwai. Free WIFI. We are definitely staying for another few nights

Room Tip: Call in advance. A bit far from the bus station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank madeinguiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I went to the bamboo house with my boyfriend wanting some peace and quiet after staying in Bangkok. And believe me I got it! Beware only stay at this place if you are a true nature lover and can handle sharing a bed with many creepy crawlies. I travelled Asia for 3 months and never got as many bites the whole time as I did the one night I spent at the bamboo house. The small huts looks quaint from the outside, but inside is very basic. Hard bed, one fan, very primitive toilet and shower covered in bugs, obviously no tv. The gardens are beautiful and it is right on the river which is also breath-taking. I don't want to say this place is the worst I just think people should consider carefully whether they will enjoy it. You would probably get less bites in a tent! Staff weren't too friendly and spoke basic english. It was very cheap to stay here so obviously price reflects accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Pugsandchimps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

This hotel is in a very good location on the river, but the rooms have been neglected and allowed to become quite dilapidated. I disagree with the reviewer who described this hotel as "modern" - I would call it "rustic". The mattress and pillows were hard and lumpy, and the sheets had seen better days. The bathroom was primitive (not a problem), but not particularly clean. The bathroom door had to be kept closed to keep the mosquitoes out of the bedroom, so it was hot and poorly ventilated. One wall-mounted fan provided breeze in the bedroom. Evening meals were not available, so we walked up to the main road. Internet was 40B/hour. The adjoining walls to other half of cabin were so thin you could hear their fan running! (and of course conversation)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaggieKuching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
0 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
1,066 reviews
0.5 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
351 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hop Inn Kanchanaburi
Hop Inn Kanchanaburi
#13 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
72 reviews
3.4 mi away
Duenshine Resort
Duenshine Resort
#57 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo House

Address: 5 Vietnam Road | Tha Makham, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: £13 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Bamboo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo House Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing