We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good, memorable stay - no faults.”
Review of Bamboo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bamboo House
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
London
Level Contributor
111 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“All good, memorable stay - no faults.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I think it's unfair to rate down a place solely because it offers no luxury. Bamboo house is very well located and has a superb setting right on the water. The room we had - family raft was simple but clean and excellent location. Shared toilet was a bit inconvenient but hey, you can't have it all.
No soap or blankets are provided, just a towel to use as blanket and some bed covers. There are four matresses on the floor, side by side, leaving little space for walking. No aircon, just fans.
The raft moves when boats pass by. The river Kway bridge is minutes walk away. I recommend to visit and go away as the place is swarming with tourists and prices and quality reflect that. There are boat tours which cost 800 baht bookable at the hotel and take you around the river for one hour, quite pleasant.
There are better restaurants south of the river, where local go but it's not walking distance.
As for the guest house, there is a nice garden and the restaurant is not on the river, but by the garden. We didn't eat there so cannot comment.

Room Tip: The whole experience comes from renting a raft room. There is no point in staying in a normal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canerandagio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    69
    30
    7
    8
See reviews for
14
71
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here only one night, it was in one of the floating bungalows, which was £7 for two of us including breakfast!
The room was basic, the mattress was on the floor but a bed would slip about when waves from boats came.
The room had a fan and was clean,
The service was great, and we rented out bikes for only £1.20 each
It was amazing waking up floating on the river, defiantly stay here for a night!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Bamboo House from July 4th-6th.We travelled all over Thailand for the month of July and this was by far our favorite accommodation and town. The woman and man who work at the front desk are so pleasant and helpful. The first night we stayed in an air conditioned room and the 2nd night we stayed on one of the floating huts. The air conditioned rooms were great very clean and each had their own balcony. The floating hut was great as well. It is a mattress on the floor and there is a fan in each room. You have to use a shared bathroom and shower but it’s all part of the experience. There is a small sitting area out front of the hut right on the river and the views are amazing!!! You can walk into town , however it is a bit of a hike. It is only 50 baht by scooter taxi. The bridge is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We also booked a tour to the waterfalls as well as our mini bus back to Bangkok through the front desk and it was very well organized we couldn't have been happier. There is a man that comes daily with fruit and chicken skewers. The chicken skewers are to die for! And only 10 baht!! The restaurant on the premises is great. Breakfast was a full breakfast and dinner was always made fresh. All in all I can't say enough great things about this place. I hope one day we can make it back here!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel_Girl_6487521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We originally paid for their most basic room - a floating bungalow on the river Kwai. Admittedly it was as described, two mattresses on the floor of an incredibly creaky wooden hut. It was incredibly hot, even with the fan on. Having said that the views were incredible looking over the river Kwai and seeing the bridge in the distance. Having decided we couldn't stomach the idea of staying in the room all night however, we asked to upgrade to their air conditioned room. The lady at reception was incredibly helpful, and in fact rather than charging us for both rooms she knocked the price of the original room off the bill for the upgrade, effectively meaning we didn't have to pay for both. Not only did this impress us, but she was also very helpful with giving us information about the city. It was in a great location, only 5 minutes from the bridge. The upgraded room was brilliant, with a little balcony floating on the river that we could sit on at night. The only annoyance was that when boats went past the house rocked slightly! But this wasn't much of an issue. My advice is pay a little extra for the nicer room!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton. England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Tranquil, beautiful location, walking distance to the bars and restaurants. Choice of brick bungalows or floating bungalows on the river Kwai. Very basic inside with just a mattress on the floor, but waking up in the morning the views compensate for everything it lacks. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this if you like nature and beautiful settings.

Room Tip: The floating bungalow is perfect for budget backpackers. Ask for a towel on reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieRudkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanchanaburi, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had the cheapest room (wood cabana) on the river and it was soooo nice ! We wanted to book for more nights, but it was busy .

-Amazing view (by day and by night).
-The staff was very good : reception + cookers (but dont speak english)
-Great food and not expensive at all for a restaurant (breakfast incuded)
-Wifi
-Clean, no problems

I RECOMMEND THIS GUESTHOUSE SPECIALLY THE FLOATING ROOMS FOR PEOPLE WHO LIKE NATURE and also there are normal rooms with fan

Room Tip: Floating rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at this place in October 2013. The rooms were basic, but clean and a great location on the river, HOWEVER......

The rooms are not very secure, being that they are on a busy river, and there are holes in the screen windows and just a padlock on a very old rickety door. So we decided to leave our valuables (laptop, passports and money wallet) in the hotel safe.

We left the valuables on Sunday afternoon when we arrived and we organised a cheap bus for Tuesday at 1.30pm to take us to Bangkok. We asked for our valuables at about 12.45pm when we arrived back from lunch and they said they would bring them to us in the restaurant. We were checking emails on the internet, and then realised it was 1.20pm and we still hadn't got our valuables back. My friend went to check and they brought us the laptop case. We check that we had passports and money wallet (containing $1500 Canadian in $20). All looked to be accounted for.

I then decided to count the money and we were $400 short! I went straight up to reception to report this and ask the receptionist (who had checked us in 2 days before and spoke PERFECT english). She then claimed she didn't speak english, and called the boss, who I spoke to and said she would come over.

I went back to the restaurant and mysteriously the internet had stopped working, thus preventing me from getting the tourist police number or the number for my travel insurance. Suddenly our transport arrives, and I asked the driver if he spoke english, he was about to answer me and the receptionist says something to him in Thai and he says NO ENGLISH! but that we had to leave on the bus NOW or we would have to wait till tomorrow and lose our money.

I ended up contacting my travel insurance, and they said I was not covered for loss of money, but I emailed the hotel and they said the standard they were looking into it etc.

Great location but not worth $400!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Lolaloo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
0.5 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
969 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
357 reviews
3.6 mi away
Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
#3 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo House

Property: Bamboo House
Address: 5 Vietnam Road | Tha Makham, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bamboo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo House Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing