We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must See” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Thailand-Burma Railway Centre

The Thailand-Burma Railway Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Must See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We hired our own driver for the day so were able to spend a deal of time here. Don't let the basic facade of the building fool you…this is a must see

The story of the brave boys and men who built the Burma - Thailand railway is on display here.

The information provided in this museum is comprehensive and breathtaking. I had a basic understanding of the exploits of these men however I have a great appreciate of the awful conditions these men had to endure and the human spirit that lived in these guys after visiting this museum.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Scanotrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    309
    52
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Excellent , I was able to view photographs of my fathers' battalion.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Liked to be bale to touch base with my father and feel his presence. I retraced his footsteps in Hell Fire Pass.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Amamzing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Everyone should visit this Museum to see and feel the experiences of the brave men who were Prisoners of War on the Burma Thailand Railway System. Take a couple of hours and wander through. Ask to see Rod, Andrew or Terry if you have a personal visit re your father, Grandfather or Uncle as they are obliging to help you research. There is a small gift shop/book shop on the 1st floor and Café on the 2nd floor. There is a lift so please ask the staff if you need assistance.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aussietraveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Thailand Burma Railway Centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Every minute spent in this Museum is worth the entrance fee. Always ask for Rod, Andrew or Terry as they have all of the history that you will hopefully find. These guys have spent many years researching, walking the Railway line, visiting the sites of POW camp areas & you can let them know well in advance if you would like to have your own personal pilgrimmage to honour your father and those brave men with him. We have just spent 5 days in Kanchannaburri & the surrounds - ANZAC Day service in Kanchannaburri. Everyone needs to know this story of the Burma-Thailand Railway built by so many brave men.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussietraveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really tells the story”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Managed to visit while staying at nearby River Kwai Village Hotel. The museum is small but lots of detail and exhibits. Loved the many personal stories on display and it also gives accurate accounts of the treatment and conditions. Very Interesting place!! It was because of my trip here and the local area that made go and see the movie The Railway Man, which by the way was also great.

Helpful?
Thank s_volante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Thailand-Burma Railway Centre also viewed

Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 

Been to The Thailand-Burma Railway Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing