We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Thailand-Burma Railway Centre
Open today: 09:00 - 16:00
Private Tour : Bridge over River Kwae and Death Railway
0 reviews

Book in advance
from
£126.02
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience The Thailand-Burma Railway Centre
from £167.32
More Info
from £180.95
More Info
Reviews (1,494)
Filter reviews
1,494 results
Traveller rating
988
420
78
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
988
420
78
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent museum war cemetery across the road hellfire pass information exhibits pows railway history terry construction bridge insight burma baht men memorabilia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,494 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2024 via mobile

This is a must see after experiencing the War Grave directly opposite. The exhibits are not complicated and gave a real life view of what happened so many years ago. Lots of memorabilia and artefacts from the POWs, including what the men used to record their experiences, like mess tins and bamboo, as paper was virtually none existent. There is a very good diorama of one if the camps showing g how harsh things were and why so many POWs and locals perished from their ordeals. So, lots of information to take in and plenty to see for all tastes. A little gift shop, so buy something please. The museum Is directly opposite the war graves, so no effort required.

Date of experience: March 2024
Thank B3582WVsimond
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2024 via mobile

Very well presented history of the building of the railway and the suffering of the soldiers and civilian forced labour to achieve the Japanese solution. We found the presentation very thought provoking and enlightened us to some unknown facts. Well worth a visit thb100 entry, free coffee with your ticket, small cafe upstairs. Views across the cemetery, one of the visits for this history trail, perhaps a good start point.

Date of experience: March 2024
Thank Orwelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2024

Great Museum, I found it quite interesting and informative, really well set out, very sad how those brave men were treated, it was a bit emotional thinking about those men in those horrid conditions, the cemetery next to the museum is a very sad place, we got quite emotional reading the grave stones, lest we forget

Date of experience: March 2024
Thank DavenDeb222
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2024

This small museum packs a big punch. Having read the book and seen the movie 'The Bridge on the River Kwai', I was generally familiar with the story about the construction of the railway from Thailand to Burma during WWII. I did not know many details. This museum presents the story in a way that makes the visitor appreciate the horrible conditions that the Allied POW's worked under to build the railway, through the jungle, with very primitive tools, meager rations, all while suffering disease, malnutrition, and mistreatment at the hands of the Japanese guards. Directly across the street from the museum is a cemetery where lie the remains of many who died during the construction of the railway. This is a must-see museum, if you have even the slightest interest in this chapter of the history of WWII.

Date of experience: February 2024
1  Thank Balsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2024 via mobile

Death Railway museum

Very informative, chaotic layout creates bottle necks as visitors try to read information display boards. The loop video is ok but the poor audio quality makes it difficult to follow, this is exacerbated if there is an energetic tour guide chatting away. The museum is just a short walk from the war graves cemetery so it's easy to visit both.
The free coffee included with the tickets is basic but hot.

Date of experience: February 2024
Thank JohnnieC841
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews