We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine mantra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dheva Mantra Resort
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Dheva Mantra was the last hotel with my family on our Thai trip. What a great closure for a holiday!
The grounds were magnificent, the gardens luxurious, the pool was as big as my neighborhood and the spa, well, there is no word to describe the wonder of the jacuzzi, steam room, and professionalism of the masseuses.
I went kayaking on the River Kwai, and in all the hotel/resorts I passed, Dheva was clearly the most grand.
One of us had a birthday and the staff not only graced us with a sumptuous chocolate cake but also scattered flowers on the bed with the letters 'happy birthday'. Never have I seen such beauty and grace.
A reviewer mentioned bad internet, well, there are many places to look for wifi in the hotel so it was tricky finding the right one. But who cares when you are in paradise?
We didn't try the Rice Barge restaurant on the river due to the rain.
The inside restaurant was a bit bland at dinnertime, but if you dine into town that is not a problem. Breakfast is for all tastes.
Oh and the gym has some of the fanciest equipment I have ever seen. Made me, of all people want to work out!

Room Tip: Because of the scale of the place you are going to have to walk to get to your room. But the view on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HealWithMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed for two nights. Hotel was very quiet and was used more by Thai people than westerners. Staff so friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Some great offers in the spa with reduced rates and top class service. The Rice Barge thai restaurant in the river wasn't open but we ate from the Thai menu in the main restaurant and the food was great.

Rooms really comfortable and free wifi throughout although it is a bit temperamental and set in lovely grounds next to the river

Overall a lovely two days and worth visiting just for the friendly staff,

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The most gorgeous hotel, amazing rooms no grounds, breakfast was lovely with lots of choice of delicious food. The tours offered were also brilliant and the staff couldn't do enough for us. The river view and location were also brilliant. Can't recommend it enough.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Philippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This is a difficult hotel for me to rate. While the building and grounds are beautiful and spacious, for some reason it falls short of being an excellent place to stay. It could be, as some others have suggested, that it is lack of staff or lack of service. It felt like it was almost deserted, at times. The hotel restaurant was closed for part of our stay, until a conference group came in and it was worth it to them to have it open? Lovely pool bar, and lovely lounge bar, both closed for our entire stay. It gave it a strange sort of desolate feeling.
That said, the room was spacious, the view was lovely, as it is set right on the Kwae River. Food at the River Barge was very good. We felt there was probably a better value for the higher price this hotel requires.

Room Tip: We liked our room looking out over the River Barge on the Kwae River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PassportEnvyTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My wife and I chose to stay at the DM Resort & Spa for a quick overnight explore of Kanchanaburi and break from Bangkok. The hotel is located around 8 minutes driving time from the main (small) restaurant and bar strip, and 15 minutes from the tourist focal point for the Bridge. The hotel itself is very well maintained and a grand complex with large central swimming pool and lovely outlook over the river itself. We were upgraded to a river-view room on arrival which was huge and very nicely appointed - personal but functional. Given the size of the complex, some rooms (like our river view one) can be quite a walk from the main reception, but its worth it for the absolute peace and quiet. The breakfast was decent and broad, however some of the food options were left to run down 20 minutes before breakfast closes (at 10 am), only to have them all topped up again at 9:59 am.... Interesting. We also had a nice treatment at the spa, which was professional and well-priced. Overall service throughout the hotel was very good. We may stay again based on the quality of the hotel for the price - the only downside is that the distance to any food/drink venues means that one has to be a designated driver, as there is no public truck network readily available to the resort (reception will book you a limo or the gate guard might call his friend, but where does that leave you when you want to come back?!). But in all a very nice place to relax & see some of Kanchanaburi (by car).

Room Tip: Its a big resort with large guest wings so be mindful that some of the rooms are a long way from rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandCAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The Dheva Mantra is a lovely low rise mock colonial style resort. It is spread over several blocks so always has the appearance of being quiet even if it is busy. However, this can be a negative as the bars and restaurants have a ghostly feeling about them, even on a holiday weekend.
Reception staff are functional but seem to be a little distant and are not as welcoming as you may expect. When I checked out there was absolutely no attempt at any conversation or any interest in the quality of my stay.
The pool area is lovely, especially the small pool bar.
The rooms are a good size with a nice balcony overlooking the immaculately kept gardens.
I would happily return here, it is ideal if you want to be left alone in nice surroundings.
TIP: If you intend to do some work on your stay that involves internet access, don't bother. As other reviewers said, the interenet connection here is woeful. The strength is ok but it disconnects every few minutes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirkbyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

A great resort, beautiful maintained garden located on the river. Service is friendly and attentive. Please try their Thai restaurant on the river. Location is awesome and the food very good.
A great place to relax from hectic Bangkok.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
1.1 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
1,068 reviews
0.9 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
5.1 mi away
X2 River Kwai Resort
X2 River Kwai Resort
#6 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#10 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
169 reviews
1.4 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
237 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Glory River Kwai Hotel
The Glory River Kwai Hotel
#11 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dheva Mantra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dheva Mantra Resort

Address: 9/99 Moo 3 | Tha Makham, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#3 Spa Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#5 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: £63 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dheva Mantra Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dheva Mantra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dheva Mantra Resort And Spa
Dheva Mantra Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing