We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great colonial hotel on the river front”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dheva Mantra Resort
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great colonial hotel on the river front”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay for bridge over river Kwai and Kanchanaburi. Hotel was great although service in the bar can be slow if there's a few of you drinking cocktails.

Rooms are large and very clean. Well appointed too and ours had a large balcony overlooking the river which was great.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lomas1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    112
    39
    4
    4
See reviews for
113
107
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Have just stayed here for 5 nights. Colonial style hotel on the famous River Kwai about 6klm out of Kanchanaburi. If you use the hotel limo it will cost you 400 to the bridge, try a taxi 200THB.

The hotel is starting to show its age, needs a little TLC. It is quiet, only a few other guests. Try for a river view room 2 large balconies. We had room 331 on the 3rd floor, no lifts, so if you don't like stairs get one on the ground floor.

The hotel has a large swimming pool with pool bar never open. Nice tropical gardens. Small gym. Three restaurants, good selection for breakfast. Staff are friendly, but have very limited understanding of English.

Dinner in the main dining room is hit and miss, first night was the best meal I have ever had.
Be careful of the promotions. Yes they reduce the price, but also half the portions.

If you want to explore the area, go into town and find the Japan memorial. You will find taxis at that location. Not far from the bridge, you can get one and do a deal for the whole day, work on about 200THB an hour. To Hell Fire pass and waterfall 1200THB return.

Room Tip: Rive view room in building 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth,australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Lovely colonial style building with grand lobby area overlooking the pool.
Stayed in a junior suite for 6 nights overlooking the River Kwai. Very peaceful and relaxing. The hotel was very quiet for the first few days which gave us the large pool to ourselves. The pool could have done with a bit of cleaning as there were some mossy areas in the pool.
Extremely pleasant and helpful staff, especially at the front desk.
Hotel is a bit far from main town area. They do provide a private service to take transport you around but costs BAHT 350 per way. Bit pricey. Especially if you want a return pickup.
All in all, thoroughly enjoyed my time there with my husband. Celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary and had a lovely cake presented to us for dessert!! Delicious. Thanks so much!!!!

Room Tip: Junior suites are nice and roomy and positioned at the end of the wings overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklingshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVMT-Kan, info@dhevamantra.com at Dheva Mantra Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking a time to write a lovely review and suggestions from your recent visit. we are glad to hearing that you were enjoyed during your stay,Your message will be pass to the Management department and all staff.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Regards,

Veeranuch Aorchaiyaphoom
Asst. Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I was there for a shoot, so the distance was not an issue.
It was definitely one of the grandest looking hotel we came across there.

The colonial architecture is beautiful.
The rooms are huge and are nicely appointed.
Though not a wide breakfast spread, the quality of the food was very good.
The restaurant next to the river serves fantastic Thai food.
But, it's quite expensive.
Eating out requires driving out, so we did not try that.

If you're looking for a very quiet, relaxing hotel while visiting
the historical River Kwai nearby, this must be it!

Room Tip: Watch out for mosquitoes trying to get into the room when you open/close the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yeh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVMT-Kan, info@dhevamantra.com at Dheva Mantra Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are glad to hearing that you was happy during recent stay. hopefully that we will have a chance to welcome you to our resort again.

Best regards,

Veeranuch Aorchaiyaphoom,
Asst. Reservation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Beautiful colonial style hotel with lovely service. Swimming pool is fabulous. Good breakfast. Rooms have big balconies. A little way out of town but if you drive yo the Felix hotel about 1 or 2 km down the road, you can park there next to the bridge over the Kwai which you can then walk across.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazzooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVMT-Kan, info@dhevamantra.com at Dheva Mantra Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Cazzoo,

Thanks for your lovely review, I will share this massage to our staff.

Hope fully that we will have a good chance to welcom you back in a near future.

Best Regards,

Veeranuch Or,
Asst. Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Two of us stayed at Dheva for one night, wanted to check out the historic sites in Kanchanaburi. The hotel itself is nicely appointed, well-maintained and has a full service scale of all services and facilities. A great outdoor pool, fitness center and dining facilities with lots of good promotions on spa treatments, meals and accommodations.

The rooms are really nice, modern but with a touch of Thai old-style, good quality linens on the beds and excellent shower (temperature and water pressure). Stock of amenities was ample and of good quality. Our room had a nice balcony overlooking the quiet river, very peaceful, especially in the early morning.

Breakfast, included with room cost, was typical buffet style, eggs and omelets to order and variety of hot and cold items. Service staff in the restaurant were attentive though only a few staff could communicate in English so best if you know a few Thai phrases.

Overall a good stay though one thing to be aware of is transport to town. Because the hotel is a bit out of the way (around 8 km from center), taxis and tuk tuks are not available near the hotel. Hence, the only reliable and ready form of transport is the hotel shuttle van, which charges a steep 350 baht (approx $11) one way for what is less than a 10 minute drive. It would be good if the hotel offered complimentary scheduled shuttle services to and from the city center since most people are in the area to see the sites and museums.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the river is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPNY206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVMT-Kan, info@dhevamantra.com at Dheva Mantra Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed during a stay at our resort recently. And thanks for your lovely comment to our property and service; I'll share your comments with the rest of the team for their information, to keep doing the best for the happiness of our guest. That is our ultimate goal.

We all looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

With regards,

Veeranuch O.
Asst. Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed here for two nights with my husband at the beginning of April.
The hotel itself is stunning - very grand and opulent. We stayed in a Junior suite which was huge and very nicely decorated, with a huge veranda overlooking the River Kwai.
The pool, spa, and gardens are also beautiful, and the service was impeccable.
It wasn't perfect however. It felt extremely empty - I think we only saw two or three other guests while we were there. I'm assuming that because of this they didn't open one of the restaurants - the Rice Barge, which served traditional thai food on the river and looked so nice. Instead, the only option for dining was to eat in the lobby, with very few options of western dishes only. What a disappointment! Very uncomfortable too- to be the only guests with several members of staff hovering over you. Breakfast was pretty awful too, with a buffet that looked as though it had been sat out for some time.
Location wasn't great either - felt like we were in the middle of nowhere.
We did have a massage at the spa which was fabulous, and the staff we're very attentive, but all in all it wasn't a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
1.1 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.9 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
1.4 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#8 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
#3 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
31.4 mi away
Boutique Raft Resort
Boutique Raft Resort
#5 of 103 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dheva Mantra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dheva Mantra Resort

Property: Dheva Mantra Resort
Address: 9/99 Moo 3 | Tha Makham, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#3 Spa Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#5 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Dheva Mantra Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dheva Mantra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dheva Mantra Hotel Kanchanaburi
Dheva Mantra Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing