We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blown away”

Safari Park Open Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Blown away”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Put the Safari park on your list of things to do and a place to visit in Thailand even if you don't have the time to volunteer there. Knowing I was going to be in Thailand for 5 weeks in March I looked into volunteer work and fortunately came across the web site for the volunteer programme at the safari park in Bo Phioi. What an amazing experience that was! The welfare of the animals is uppermost, as in some cases they have been rescued from stupid humans who think it's ok to OWN a wild animal. The volunteer co-ordinators along with volunteers have been working extremely hard for the past 18 months both physically and mentally to make a success of the rescue retreat and change the face of animals in captivity. During the 2 weeks I was there, headway was made into clearing an abondoned butterfly garden to make way for a haven for teenage leopards and a lot of thought constantly goes into enrichment for the animals. Tom and Lucy (2 volunteers) spent a few days putting together a day in the life of a volunteer video which can be viewed on the safari park website.
Joe the owners son is a delight and eager to do anything within his power to improve the animals welfare and surroundings.
Put a day out to the safari park on your list of things to do whilst in Thailand or even sign up for the volunteer programme. More people need to know about the good work being done there. Enjoy

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank onthemove6535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    71
    30
    15
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A safari success”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

450 baht entry fee. We all agreed this paid for itself with the giraffe experience alone. I don't think there are many places in the world where you can hand feed giraffes who half climb into the bus! People with small children may want to think about this :)

Such a nice, non- touristy, rustic place. As other reviewers have written , talk to the volunteers and you will hear how they are making life for the animals better. There is a tiger on chain on a table at the entrance. Doesn't look good. Please don't let this put you off the ret of the park. We were assured by one of the volunteers that he was not drugged, just a docile tiger who has been tamed from an early age. The volunteers' goal is, however, to get him off the table where he poses for photos. They are making small but positive steps towards that goal.

The animals appear to have lots of space and are well fed and happy.

We went mid week in May and practically had the entire park to ourselves as well as our own safari bus!

Everything is well priced....100 baht for 5 bowls of carrots to feed the animals. Drinks and snacks not much more expensive than a 7 Eleven really.

Please don't compare it to an animal park in the Western World. The park grounds are more natural, rustic and maybe even tatty in some places but surely it's better to spend the money on the animals before the decoration?

Easy to find. Just 30 mins drive outside Kanchanaburi centre. Have fun!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kamalachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Talk to volunteers for the real experience...”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This park is, without a doubt, changing for the better.

The best advice I can give when visiting is:
1) to talk to the volunteers who have been working extremely hard over the past year to give this place a better and more humanitarian approach to dealing with the animals.
2) to look at the volunteer website (www.safarivolunteer.com) BEFORE you go so you can find out how to improve your visit and book any packages you may be interested in. That way you won't miss out on some of the most unforgettable experiences the park has to offer!!

It IS saddening to see Blue the tiger chained to a table for photographs at the front of the park, but thankfully, the owners have agreed with the volunteers that he will be the last.

The safari experience (particularly the giraffes) is undoubtedly a highlight within the park... customers can also interact with the animals through feeding/playing with the big cat cubs and/or other animals within the park - and packages are available to get the most out of your visit... unfortunately these packages are put together by the volunteers and are therefore not widely advertised within the park, or in the local town of Kanchanaburi - hence my plugging of the volunteer website.

The long term volunteers, Tat and Ned, are doing an amazing job, working together with the director of the park and the other Thai staff in order to make this place better - and have already completed some amazing accomplishments through sheer hard work and passion.

I genuinely had a completely and utterly unforgettable experience here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe1718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A park full of personality and friendliness”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Visitors might have had a bad experience on their visit, if they only did the safari busride and the commercial elephant or crocodile show. In the past some animals were abused in the interest of earning more money, just like a big tiger called Blue, that was chained on a table in front of the entrance. We are happy we could accomplish that after Blue will never be a wild animal treated like that anymore.
I volunteered at the Safari Park for three weeks at the end of 2013.
Nowadays the staff is taking good care of the animals. An achievement which is partly due to the ongoing volunteer program and the engagement of Safari Park's warmhearted director, Mr. Joe.

My advice to you is:
Talk to the volunteers or park staff members. Everyone is open to share their knowledge about animal care and they will be happy to tell some stories about the unique every day life in a safari park. The cooperation between Thai people and volunteers mostly out of the western world works perfectly great in the safari park and if you think about volunteering, I can highly recommend it to you.

A big thanks to Mr. Joe, Tat and Ned and all the rest of the park community, you work together as a great team, you are full of enthusiasmt and I am grateful for everything you tought me.

I hope to see you again,
Nicola

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NicolaWuendsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Chon Buri, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So much fun is hard to forget”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Aside of seeing some exotic large predators there is an enclosure where one can get out of a car and hug real, huge, smiling giraffes! They are playful, harmless and know how to smile. They pose for pictures and I even showed the pictures I took my camera to them. They gathered around and seemed like talked to each other and laughed as I scrolled the images. I visited the safari park place twice and it's absolutely unforgettable!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Safari Park Open Zoo also viewed

Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 

Been to Safari Park Open Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing