We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Reviewed 3 December 2011

The Felix River hotel and spa is situated directly on the River Kwai on a vast piece of prime property 10 minutes walk from famed Bridge over the River Kwai (which can be reached from the Hotel's front entrance).

It is a real surprise and true "find". An immense "gem" tastefully, thoughtfully designed and expertly maintained and managed. Rooms are huge as are bathrooms (with tubs). Dark hard wood floors, simple decor pleasing to the eye but not overly done or overly embellished. Rooms face either the river or the hotel's gorgeous interior garden. It is impossible to say which location is best. They both meet (if not exceed) expectation.

The magic is best captured when one enters the interior of the hotel. Beyond the interesting lobby with a myriad of nooks and private crannies for lounging, tall ceilings and 3 restaurants, one arrives at a the heart of the gem: a lush, vast tropical garden. This streak of tropical gardening genius is surrounded by a huge swimming pool that winds prominently through the garden augmented by natural streams, small fountains, birds, and butterflies. A large lap pool is tucked at one end of the complex for serious exercise.

Along the hotel's back side on the river is a brick path dotted by numerous places to lounge and relax and watch river life float by. The setting feels like a private spa. While large enough to keep one's eye entertained, it is also tranquil, a place to truly relax and unwind.

Off season rates make it a real bargain and value for money. While high season prices are substantial, the quality and generally high standard nonetheless make it worthwhile.

Room Tip: River view (rooms with patio and outdoor lounge chairs) OR interior garden/pool view. Either is goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simmonsparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

Ok did a return trip to River Kwai and stayed at Felix yet again. Hotel is still going good and the experience was great fun yet again. Room still of good standard, also enjoyed meals at the hotel, complimentary breakfast still good too. Was very busy at the time I was there with young Thai's studying to work in the hotel industry doing a tour of the facilities and staying at the hotel aswell.

Was there with a group of 3 couples and we had the chance to take in some of the live entertainment on offer at the hotel bar area. It was a pleasant evening, drinking, dancing and good music.

So would still happily recommend Felix, great location, good for all traveller types unless on a very tight budget.

Picco

Room Tip: Get a river view room if possible, makes for a great experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Picco01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Huge resort with hundreds of rooms. all buildings have three floors without elevator. We got third floor. The resort is huge. So, you don't see much people except for breakfast. Room provided TV, fridge, hair dryer. Room is big with balcony. The cleanliness is good.

There are two swimming pools in the hotel. One is huge with child pool and pool bar. Another one is standard swimming pool for those who want real swim. Many ponds and garden for you to walk around.

You need car to stay here. It's not far from city and very close to River Kwai bridge but the area is very quiet without any transportation.

Room Tip: asking for connecting room if you come with family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonhonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Not much more i can say other than that it was amazing ! First class service, excellent food, rooms, location and facilities. Only thing that was wrong was that we only booked for 1 night :(

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The hotel is in lovely grounds and has a very nice, large swimming pool with a swim up bar.

The buildings and rooms could do with updating and the fact that the reception and bar area are very large did not help the atmosphere as there were few people staying there at the time.

The husband and wife duet who provided the evening music were average ,but again the fact that we were at times the only audience did not help the atmosphere. The bar service was excellent though and very friendly.

There was an excellent buffet breakfast, but I felt other meals we had in the restaurant were of average quality. One night they brought me the totally wrong dessert and seemed surprised that I didn't want to eat it !

The hotel is in a great location just across the river from the main town. We used it as a base for a bit of sightseeing and some R &R around the pool and to this extent it served it's purpose well.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boogster54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We spent two nights in this hotel. The hotel is not very recent but it has a beautiful garden (very well maintained) and a nice swimming pool; the room is not very “new”, mainly the bathroom, that needs to be “refreshed”, but I can say that, on the whole, it is a beautiful place to stay at and quite charming Unfortunately, when we were here, the floating restaurant of the hotel was closed (it opens only during the week end) so we had to go to Kanchanaburi. I guess you can go by foot, but it is not very close and moreover, in the area there are many stray dogs and it might be a little bit scary. We had our car hired and used it; we did not see taxis or tuc tuc in Kanchanaburi, so if you plan staying here, I would suggest to contact the hotel to know if there is any possibility of having a taxi service.

If you stay at Felix River, I would suggest spending some time enjoying of the garden and of the swimming pool; we had no time to do so, but it was worthy to do.

The staff was helpful and nice, thus not everybody speaks English….

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sara_psq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed in the Felix for two nights. When we checked in we were given a room over looking the river in the no smoking block, which on first impression was a real bonus. When we walked into the room for the fist time it looked really nice with its wooden floors and great balcony overlooking the river. Then when you went into the bathroom the novelty and the aura fell away. The bathroom needed a government health warning as most of the surround to the shower, which was over the bath, was covered in black mould; the shower curtain was in a terrible state and should have been thrown out. The style and decor of the bathroom was old and well worn and could have benefited from replacement. When you came back into the room, after the "nightmare in the bathroom", and started to look around the bedroom this again was tired and well worn. "mossi splats” all over the walls, dust etc everywhere and in the area of the AC the walls were covered in brown leak marks from what was most probably condensation or pipe leaks.

When we came to have a shower there was no hot water and we had to call the reception to get the system working.

The restaurants were hardly used in the evening, which may have been down to the price of the food (particularly in Chinese restaurant) and the buffet restaurant where you had breakfast was manic and the tables a mess.

This is big hotel and is used by all the tours of many nationalities, however, the staff did not appear to be able to cope and the service was very poor. We had a couple of drinks in the bar and when the bill came there were drinks for a bout 20 people on my bill, when this was challenged it took about half an hour to get it changed and they still charged 10% for the service.

As stated in many reviews the grounds and setting are excellent, however, the main swimming pool is another health hazard. The pool was full of people, even though all the pool walls were covered in green algae even to the extent where the water came up on the "walk-in" for the pool there was a thick green line on the water line. There was definitely a problem with the pool systems and we never saw the pool being cleaned in the evening or morning

Over all the hotel is in a great location but it is very tired and needs a refurbishment. I would not stay here again or recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank handyspanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
0.2 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
1,068 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#10 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
237 reviews
5.7 mi away
X2 River Kwai Resort
X2 River Kwai Resort
#6 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
117 reviews
1 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi

Address: 9/1 Moo 3 | Thamakham Subdistrict, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: £40 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most famous addresses in Kanchanaburi with a well known luxury and elegant ambiance that has been playing host to many high profile events and VIP from worldwide. An Oasis for both Business and Pleasure. Welcome to The Felix River Kwai Resort Kanchanaburi. Felix River Kwai Resort, a four star plus resort in Kanchanaburi, Only two hours from Bangkok. The resort sits on 130 rai or 20 hectares plot of pristine riverfront land adjacent to the infamous Bridge On The River Kwai. Just 10 minutes away from downtown Kanchanaburi, the resort caters to an interesting mix of corporate, incentive, government clients as well as local and International Visitors who enjoy the low rise architecture, lush & beautiful garden, privacy and space the resort generously affords them. The resort maintains 255 rooms and suites, each has a private balcony, with complete amenities and an uncompromising standard of services. There is also an enchanting Log Cabin Home popular occupied by VIP, Local and International Celebrities In addition there are also two large swimming pools, two tennis courts, sauna, The Ficus SPA center, snooker lounge, fitness center, 2 kilometers of jogging track, bicycles, canoes for rental, Felix Station 9 (obstacles courses for team building) and an elegant river raft cruise. The resort exotic gardens act as a layover for different species of migratory birds and feature many different species of trees. The Kwai Yai (Bigger) meets the Kai Noi (Smaller) and the Meklong in Kanchanaburi, and these feed the resorts labyrinth of lagoons that host many species of giant fresh water fishes. The Pailin Convention Center is a premier and prestigious venue for events of all levels and sizes. The non-pillar convention center can accommodate up to 1,000 delegates theater seating with a long and spacious adjoining pre function area. There are smaller meetings room designed to accommodate various settings for meeting, seminar and workshop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sawasdee, Agoda, Fastbooking, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix River Kwai Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing