We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past its prime .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The Resort is right on the river and has a good view of the Bridge and nice gardens. Starting to show wear and tear ( slates missing around pool ; some paths missing tiles or uneven . There was a lack of maintenance - algae on the pool walls and floor and some of the missing slate was in the pool . My balcony had not been cleaned for some time ( dirty and covered in bird droppings ).
The room was very nice and clean . Service was good but the staff had a very poor command of English . Food was good and varied but if you wanted to eat out it was a good 10 minute walk to town via a dirt track and the Bridge or by taxi . Some very good restaurants in town .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hlhballina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

When I went to use the gym pre-breakfast, I was confronted by the sight of a morbidly obese falang enveloping an exercycle, with a packet of cigarettes propped up on an adjacent bench - his apparent reward for 10 minutes of sweaty wheezing. His 2 young daughters were using the decrepit 90's era exercise machines as an adventure playground. This was a fitting symbol of what the hotel has become. For many years, the Felix was Kanchanaburi's finest, but with the likes of the Dhevi Mantra and Oriental Kwai, it seems management has made a very conscious decision not even to try and compete at that level, and rather than spend the money to restore or even maintain things properly, just to let the place decay and market it "as is" to less discerning Russian, Indian and Chinese group tours and conventions for middle management Thais. Even when new, the design and decor was questionable. Now, parts look outright ugly, e.g., the circular concrete aggregate dance floor in the lobby bar looks like it should house marine mammals. On the plus side, the Felix is priced fairly for what it now is, the breakfast food is OK, and it still occupies the best site on the river.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank delmonte4218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a room with a river front view, ground floor so our back door opened onto a lawn looking straight at the river.
Very clean, great service. Expensive for Thailand but not expensive for what you got.
Great pool, very relaxed place to chill out.
Easy access to the local attracion and the local town.
A great place to stay.
Use a local driver rather than book any tours at hotel reception they were just way too expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 1Matthew1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Very big resort with a many meeting room and full of facilities for a group of company. Enjoyable and relax with a pool, suana, tennis and green garden with a frash breath. Everything look good if a food is delicious !

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WizKiez P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed in Felix resort in the last week of July for 3 nights. I must say This Resort is amazing situated on the bank of river... This is not just a resort its a destination in itself... The rooms are good, the lobby is good. It has two good swimming pools (6 Ft and 5 Ft), Floating lotuses, greenery, trees add a beauty in it.

Staff in this resort are always smiling purely welcoming... A SPECIAL THANKS to Mr David for arranging a memorable dinner on the cruise.

I will again come back in this Resort for sure....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeepakSanjivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

At first glance the hotel grounds were beautiful. Lovely pool and grounds. The room was pretty bad. Our ceiling leaked so much that my husband fell in the slick floors. Our neighbors did not have a working air conditioner. It is obvious no work or updates have been put into hotel. We were excited to use the pool and bar but at 8:00pm we found them both closed.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank JodiLove2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We came here for a group of 6 ppl. The hotel room is better than I was expected considering to the price. The room and washroom were bigger than average. The bed was comfy and clean. The pool was big and good design for little kids.

The breakfast came in buffet line with varieties such as western, Thai, local Thai. Most food was just average. I like the Pa Tong Ko+ serving together with Thai style hot drink. The bad thing was that Pa tong ko ran out so fast. I had no chance to try and it was just before 9 am - so, this is a minus!!! Anyway, Thai style hot drink is very yummy.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank O_obk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
0.2 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
1,108 reviews
0.9 mi away
Away Kanchanaburi Dheva Mantra Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#11 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
X2 River Kwai Resort
X2 River Kwai Resort
#5 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
128 reviews
0.5 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
243 reviews
1 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#6 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi

Address: 9/1 Moo 3 | Thamakham Subdistrict, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#4 Spa Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: £38 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most famous addresses in Kanchanaburi with a well known luxury and elegant ambiance that has been playing host to many high profile events and VIP from worldwide. An Oasis for both Business and Pleasure. Welcome to The Felix River Kwai Resort Kanchanaburi. Felix River Kwai Resort, a four star plus resort in Kanchanaburi, Only two hours from Bangkok. The resort sits on 130 rai or 20 hectares plot of pristine riverfront land adjacent to the infamous Bridge On The River Kwai. Just 10 minutes away from downtown Kanchanaburi, the resort caters to an interesting mix of corporate, incentive, government clients as well as local and International Visitors who enjoy the low rise architecture, lush & beautiful garden, privacy and space the resort generously affords them. The resort maintains 255 rooms and suites, each has a private balcony, with complete amenities and an uncompromising standard of services. There is also an enchanting Log Cabin Home popular occupied by VIP, Local and International Celebrities In addition there are also two large swimming pools, two tennis courts, sauna, The Ficus SPA center, snooker lounge, fitness center, 2 kilometers of jogging track, bicycles, canoes for rental, Felix Station 9 (obstacles courses for team building) and an elegant river raft cruise. The resort exotic gardens act as a layover for different species of migratory birds and feature many different species of trees. The Kwai Yai (Bigger) meets the Kai Noi (Smaller) and the Meklong in Kanchanaburi, and these feed the resorts labyrinth of lagoons that host many species of giant fresh water fishes. The Pailin Convention Center is a premier and prestigious venue for events of all levels and sizes. The non-pillar convention center can accommodate up to 1,000 delegates theater seating with a long and spacious adjoining pre function area. There are smaller meetings room designed to accommodate various settings for meeting, seminar and workshop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix River Kwai Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing