We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best of the best”
Review of Kanpura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kanpura Hotel
Ranked #67 of 106 Kanchanaburi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This places' only downside is that it's a little ways out of town (a 6 minute taxi ride). We rented a motorbike and absolutely loved our stay. The staff were extremely pleasant, the room is kept impeccable (even fold the clothes you leave out), and if you walk in to the front gate the staff rushes to get a little car to provide you a ride down the hill. The best part is the room's indoor/outdoor shower. The hotel tabby cat is a nice touch also, so friendly and cute!
I'd recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Even the lowest grade room has an indoor/outdoor shower!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyx B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Kanpura Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night around May 2014. The bed was very comfy. The bathroom is the outdoor style. Though I do like the outdoor bathroom, I couldn't enjoy the atmosphere as I was attacked by some mosquitoes.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank nunae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The Kanpura Hotel is about 6 kilometres out of town past the War Cemetery and River Kwai Bridge turn off. Turn right at the Sai Yok turn, and the hotel is about one kilometre further on, over a bridge, on the left. It is a new hotel designed as an ancient building, with terra cotta brick walls, similar to the city walls of Chain Rai or Chiang Mai, and with white towers. There are various accommodation styles, and some appeared to be still being finished. The rooms have a double traditional style dark wood door, with a tiled floor. Our room was on the ground floor of a wing of rooms , was well designed , quiet, with comfortable mattresses on a wooden platform, which allowed for an extra mattress to be placed there to accommodate the third member of our group. The room is air-conditioned, with a safe, fridge, desk, gilded mirror, and cable TV with some English channels. One interesting feature is the bathroom which has an open shower looking over an enclosed garden. The bathroom also featured a gilded mirror, a dark wood table with a modern basin, and modern fittings. The curtains are good quality and block out the light when drawn. The hot water was very welcome after a day trekking the Hell Fire Pass. The room was very clean. It seemed that there were little design touches that gave the rooms an up-market feel, especially for the price. There are 2 pools—one by the river, and the other further back in the resort between two accommodation wings. There were not many people staying at the hotel, and breakfast was in a lovely round building with very high ceilings overlooking the river. Perhaps due to the number of people staying at the resort there was no breakfast buffet, but table service, which was prompt and friendly. The breakfast was western style, consisting of ham, bacon, 2 eggs, salad, and toast, all of generous proportions. The coffee and tea were also very good. The restaurant at this time is not open for other meals. There is a large sign at the front of the hotel advertising for more staff. The hotel is in a very convenient location to visit the main tourist sites such as Sai Yok, Sri Nakarin dam, the War Cemetery and River Kwai Railway etc, however due to its location a car or other transport is required. The room was exceptionally good value. The staff at reception, in the restaurant, and in particular the car par attendant were all friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again, and will be interested to see how the hotel develops when it is fully staffed and completed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a gem in the making.. Although some parts need a little tlc, the rooms are nice, with cosy beds and an outside shower! A great extra feature on top of its luxurious look and feel. The first swimming pool is nice, the second one overlooking the river should be magnificent when the last details are fixed! Nice breakfast (ham, eggs on toast and juice) and real good value for money and great for a visit to the river kwai! Recommended but don't expect a five star resort- just yet!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This hotel is not completed and not fit to stay in, the pool has no tiles and stagnant water there is rubble and unused building materials everywhere. The rooms could be amazing but have no door from the outside garden to the bathroom and are very dark. The staff are friendly and try their best but the hotel needs a lot of money and time spending on it to get it fit for purpose. Older reviews from last year say the hotel will be finished soon this is not true even now.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParamaliJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Airco very noisy could not sleep. 8 km out of the city centre in an industrial area on a very busy highway. Not a restaurant in sight. We had to have our evening meal at the only food stall on the roadside. The property is not finished still a work in progress.
Room very small.
Friendly staff, very clean. Good beds.
For this price there must be better hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Kanpura was a nice place to stay in Kanchanaburi but the location felt a bit isolated, a bit further north of the town. Also, the hotel seems new and unfinished, as construction workers and noise were constant during the day. Also there were two pools but one was completely drained of water and the other was much to dirty to swim in. There was no room service and the little restaurant was only open in the mornings for a simple breakfast....no choice...no buffet, just simple ham,eggs and toast. However, the staff were super friendly and nice. The rooms were comfortable and clean except for the bathroom, which is private but totally an outside area adjoining the room and mosquito infested whenever we needed to use the facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tominthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
0.0 mi away
Saiyok River House
Saiyok River House
#30 of 106 in Kanchanaburi
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#10 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tamarind Guesthouse
Tamarind Guesthouse
#41 of 106 in Kanchanaburi
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hop Inn Kanchanaburi
Hop Inn Kanchanaburi
#13 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanpura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanpura Hotel

Address: 99/12 Sangchuto Rd. Tumbon Kaengsian Ampur Meung, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Kanchanaburi
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanpura Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kanpura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing