We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't understand why it's no.1?”
Review of On's Thai Issan

On's Thai Issan
Ranked #1 of 229 Restaurants in Kanchanaburi
Price range: US$1 - US$2
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Thai and Issan Vegetarian/Vegan Restaurant & Cooking School in Kanchanaburi, Thailand
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Went with my thai gf. We ordered very simple dishes, would take about 5 minutes to cook in a decent thai place. We waited about 40 minutes. I think this is why only foreigners go there, Thais would walk out after 20 minutes. When the food came, I had high expectations it being no.1 on here. We were disappointed by it. The one positive thing is that it's cheap so we didn't waste much money.

Date of visit: July 2016
3  Thank willk25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (967)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 327 of 966 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Now we're at the end of our trip in Taiwan and we can say that this was the best thai food restourant that we've found.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank mikiriky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Fantastic, vegetarian/vegan restaurant. The owner cooks outside in front of the small restaurant and everything is cooked to order. Beware if you arrive behind a group of 12 as orders are cooked one by one as they arrive in the kitchen. Fresh, vibrant flavors. Had we discovered this restaurant earlier in our visit, we would have eaten here several more times. You write your order on a pad and the staff reviews it before bringing it to the chef. If you want an adult beverage, pop down the street to the 7 Eleven or the bar next door - BYOB.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank TXND
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We loved On's so much that we ate there everyday, usually twice a day during our week long stay in Kanchanaburi. As vegetarians it can sometimes be hard to find good food. On's is the best Thai food we have ever had, and with the most reasonable prices. Everything is 60 baht plus 10 baht for rice. Awesome smoothies for 30 baht. Even meat eaters go there because it's so good. On is so hard working, she is open everyday and cares for her little son in the restaurant while cooking!! It's a relaxed, family environment. Bonus: On has super fun cooking classes (one on one or you can do it with your partner/friends) that are easily half price of all the classes in Bangkok or chiang Mai. She gives you the recipes, makes it fun and you end up with tons of food. Because there were two of us making 6 dishes (3 each plus dessert) we had enough food for brunch, plus leftovers that she saved in her fridge and then reheated for us for dinner! Wow! We are in northern Thailand now and still wishing we could visit her place again. Go there, you will not be disappointed. You may even end up taking a cooking class so you can show off to your friends when you get home! ;)

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank midwestmasala
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Great place amazing food very friendly. Its great to watch the chef cooking the food while you wait. Loved that I could eat everything on the menu it's a must for veggies

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank deanavidtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed On's Thai Issan also viewed

Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 

Been to On's Thai Issan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.