We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Snaptravel
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
37
46
17
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
37
46
17
8
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I am not sure if I really recommend this resort or not, so I will share with you the plus and minuses and you can decide by yourself:

+: great location, koh kasem is very quiet in general so it is the perfect location if you want to relax; the staff is lovely and very helpful; the view from the rooms is fantastic; there is a (small) pool if you feel like going for a swim; breakfast is generous, varied and very good.

-: The place was probably amazing when it first opened, however it needs to be refurnished big time. The aircon in our room was noisy, the shower head was broken and overall it felt like we were paying far too much for such standards. Finally it seems they just opened a restaurant karaoke opposite the resort and they are very loud. Some of the nights they played until very late and you could hear the bass from the bedroom itself...On top of that the person who runs the place is a business woman who is not always so friendly (compared to her staff or other Thai people), which is not what u need when u are on holidays

I hope that this will help u make up ur mind about this place!

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank liline92
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Kanachanaburi is pretty quiet. But the Kasem Island Resort is the quietest place in Thailand. Right on the Mae Klong and only reachable by river boat, the resort sits on about 5 acres of riparian land. I booked via Agoda for 3 nights and paid about $70. Cheap for February when it isn't too hot out.

It was lovely. The best weekend I've had in a long, long time. If you are unhappy, stay at a noisier, more expensive place. For my money and for a much needed escape from the noise of Bangkok, it's right here at this rather unremarkable little resort.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OutMosquitoMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I booked 2 nights here but left after 1.
The setting is very nice but it appears that the hotel is under staffed; the ferry driver is also the "Bell Boy", Repairman etc.
The rooms ( which are small cabins around the edge of the island) could do with some updating and the outside area needs a full time gardener; I think this place was once very nice but has been left without any maintenance.
We went back to the mainland to eat but there was very little choice in that area and no taxis available so we got the car out and drove a couple of kilometers up the road.
Very quiet rooms, hot water, no TV; nice view of the river from outside the room but everything outside needed a tidy up.
There is computer access in the lobby but it cost about 40 Baht for 20 minutes so I didn't bother.
Breakfast was fine and served in a pleasant area beside the river.
The staff were good but I didn't see many of them.
There was a swimming pool which was one of those above ground affairs with a plastic liner.
I think if someone bought this place and spent some money it would be a fantastic place to stay!

Room tip: Most of the rooms appeared to have river views.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Located on a private island in the river, a 5 min taxi ride and a ferry ride away from any hussle and bussle.A great place to escape and recharge. Lovely grounds and gardens surrounded by the river - lots of wild life and brilliant sunrises and sunsets.
Lovely helpful staff - nothing was a problem. Food and service was good.
Resort need's TLC and maintenance.
My room (not one of the raft types) was well maintained tho; lovely room with large windows overlooking the river and small private terrace. Very peaceful and relaxing. Room was clean and fresh with good shower and separate toilet. I found the swimming pool refreshing and clean.
It is not handy if you want to go back and to the town or are looking for nightlife/bars etc but for a very peaceful escape I found it fitted the purpose well.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Kasem's is a realy run down place. The bathroom is not clean (bathmat used to be white but was horribly stained), hairs everywhere. Pool is full of green stuff (?). Blankets dirty and old. Location is great and food not to bad plus they have a Nespresso machine!!!!!!!!
Staff is not as helpful as in other places.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dutchy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews