We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kasem Island Resort
Ranked #14 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The resort in in a tiny island with all facilities. The lady who manages the resort was very cordial and informative with good English . The breakfast was good. It is a nice place to relax with family and friends. A swimming pool is also there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HanifaJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a superior room for 2 nights. The room was fine and the teak furniture and decorations (something Konchanaburi is famous for) were a nice touch. Conveniences such as towels, soap, shampoo, tea & coffee, fridge, free bottled water were provided and the room was cleaned daily. The room was right up on the water's edge and the views out the window were just stunning. It was always very quiet so good if you want some peace, away from the hustle & bustle of the town.
There is also a very small pool which I didn't use. There is a free shuttle ferry to/ from the mainland every hour until 10pm, after that you gave to pay for it.
The staff were very friendly and the manager was very efficient and spoke excellent English. She was able to help with all my sightseeing and onward travel needs and is able to call up a tuk- tuk to get you around if needs be.
The breakfasts were good. You get a choice of about 4 options (basically American, British & Thai). I loved the pancakes!
All-in-all this hotel is located away from the crowds (about a 10 min tuk-tuk ride from the River Kwai Bridge) and is perfect for relaxing after a hard days sightseeing.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smartej32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

The hotel is great, the food is edible, but the location really sells this one. We stayed in a raft bungalow with the fan and cold showers. I don't mind the cold showers, but my husband wasn't keen on them. If you want pure privacy request a room on the corner, we had some peeping neighbors who may or may not have had a lovely view. The pool isn't the best, but it is a pool, and I like to swim, so it did its job - the best part is waking up to the sounds of the birds on the quiet island. Internet is available in the lobby and everything was serene and lovely.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Poetita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Actually a no-brainer; pretty cheap, quiet, intimate and beautiful views. Lovely staff and a friendly boatman. Once on land there's a afternoon/evening market within a 2 minute walk (the baked fish for 60thb over there you simply can't find more fresh), and even left from the market on a near distance, there are 2 very good therapeutic thai massage places for locals. Plus a 10 min drive by car from the bridge of river kwai. I was a bit sad leaving the place ..

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexcochez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Very quiet resort which we visited for one night only. We swam as soon as we arrived as the pool looked very attractive then we had dinner in the restaurant which was very good.

Our room was good although we did not have a view.

We were bitten by the mosquitoes in the evening as we sat by the pool.

Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I am not sure if I really recommend this resort or not, so I will share with you the plus and minuses and you can decide by yourself:

+: great location, koh kasem is very quiet in general so it is the perfect location if you want to relax; the staff is lovely and very helpful; the view from the rooms is fantastic; there is a (small) pool if you feel like going for a swim; breakfast is generous, varied and very good.

-: The place was probably amazing when it first opened, however it needs to be refurnished big time. The aircon in our room was noisy, the shower head was broken and overall it felt like we were paying far too much for such standards. Finally it seems they just opened a restaurant karaoke opposite the resort and they are very loud. Some of the nights they played until very late and you could hear the bass from the bedroom itself...On top of that the person who runs the place is a business woman who is not always so friendly (compared to her staff or other Thai people), which is not what u need when u are on holidays

I hope that this will help u make up ur mind about this place!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank liline92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Kanachanaburi is pretty quiet. But the Kasem Island Resort is the quietest place in Thailand. Right on the Mae Klong and only reachable by river boat, the resort sits on about 5 acres of riparian land. I booked via Agoda for 3 nights and paid about $70. Cheap for February when it isn't too hot out.

It was lovely. The best weekend I've had in a long, long time. If you are unhappy, stay at a noisier, more expensive place. For my money and for a much needed escape from the noise of Bangkok, it's right here at this rather unremarkable little resort.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OutMosquitoMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
2.6 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#10 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
168 reviews
3.1 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
3.1 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
339 reviews
2.6 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
231 reviews
2.0 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasem Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasem Island Resort

Address: 44-48 Chaichumphol Road | Tambon Ban Tai, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: £37 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kasem Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kasem Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasem Island Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing