We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not overly impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pong Phen Guesthouse and Bungalows
Ranked #9 of 103 Kanchanaburi B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not overly impressed”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Just stopping off for one night, took an air con room for 400B. Room itself was a bit of a coffin and the air con unit didn't work as anything other than a fan. If I was staying longer I'd complain however I was up and out early the next day. Place has got a certain amount of character, can see why some would love it, me, I'd like to say it left me cold but it didn't, it left me far too damn warm!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank CJBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    132
    68
    28
    13
See reviews for
63
163
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

500 baht room, near pool, great bar, excellent restaurant, lovely pool. This place can't be beaten for the price. Scooter hire is available from the restaurant, you can arrange excursions, make sure you take in the waterfalls.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here for one night and would have stayed another but the guesthouse was fully booked. Nice pool and great value!

The guesthouse is very near the center of town so you can walk to most places.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roope H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pully, Suisse
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed in a 500 baht room below the swimming pool. Overall it was rather good except the bed bugs. The front desk and waitress do their job correctly but are not friendly. At breakfast (not included), you receive jam to cover only half a toast whereas you have 2 toasts but there is free banana for guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 90JDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to stay at this hotel for over 10 years, all the staff can not do enough for you and are always working hard to make sure your stay is enjoyable. There is a great choice of rooms at different prices, a small swimming pool and plenty of places to sit in or out of the sun. The restaurant offers a great selection of thai and european food that all tastes excellent and at very reasonable prices, lots of things to do in kanchanaburi and the pong phen staff are more than happy to arrange day trips and onward travel etc. Great place to stay if your travelling with children- I have never had one bad word to say about this place and will always make sure I come here for a few days whenever im in Thailand

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank simong90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely outdoor settings, clean and simple rooms, delicious food (and complimentary breakfast), excellent and kind service (as well as pretty good English) and just a nice place to come back to and relax after a busy day in kanchanaburi. Swim in the pool if temps get too hot! Definitely recommend if you wanna stay somewhere nice and affordable :]

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BirdDovahkiin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I will start with the only negative...as a few people have mentioned here before, the traditional Thai smile is missing a little from the staff here. However, I worked hard on charming them during my 4 days there and they did warm up a little each day.

This place was in a great quiet side street, but just 1 or 2 minutes walk from the bar area of town. The room I had was huge and clean and everything worked properly.

The pool was nice and the setting near to the river was lovely and peaceful in the evenings.

I rented a motorbike from the hotel, which was 200 baht per 24 hours, and used this to ride the 68km to the main waterfall in the National Park area.

The breakfast was good and the staff were able to bring me some items that were not offered on the standard menu.

I did not manage to visit everything I intended to while I was in Kanchanaburi and I will have no hesitation in looking to book here again when I return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
0.8 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#8 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
158 reviews
0.9 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tara Bed & Breakfast
Tara Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 103 in Kanchanaburi
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Good Times Resort
Good Times Resort
#1 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
551 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sabai @ Kan Resort
Sabai @ Kan Resort
#1 of 103 in Kanchanaburi
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pong Phen Guesthouse and Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pong Phen Guesthouse and Bungalows

Property: Pong Phen Guesthouse and Bungalows
Address: Soi Bangladesh, River Kwai Road | Tamakam Subdistrict, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pong Phen Guesthouse and Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pong Phen Guesthouse and Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pong Phen Guesthouse And Bungalows Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing