We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The food is decent enough, which is helpful because this resort isn't really close to any other restaurants. But the pool is beautiful, comfortable and huge, and the gardens are very well done and maintained with classic garden sculpture everywhere. At times I felt like I was in Cambodia or Laos. The room is well appointed with a nice balcony. I didn't have hot water the first day but this was rectified within an hour. Staff is kind and helpful, although at one point I ordered a fresh coconut and for some reason nobody in the kitchen knew how to open a coconut, which was weird. It took about 15 minutes. Other than that, a wonderful stay & great value for money. Would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond_Carver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed here as a part of a tour having just visited the bridge and taken a train ride up the line to eat by the river. This hotel came as a jaw-dropping surprise. It's location, on the banks of the River Kwae is stunning. security at the ground entrance is tight and the reception organised and professional. The pool is large by hotel standards and therefore great for swimming in. The grounds are lush and there are lovely views up and down the river. The town of Kanchanaburi is a very short taxi ride away if you want to visit the bridge or the night market. We returned to eat at the hotel restaurant; the food was some of the best I tasted in Thailand during a fortnight's tour. he rooms are large and spacious and flip-flops are provided for wear to the pool and back. We only stayed the one night but it left a memorable impression and have since recommended it to friends who live in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

overall are good. except Spa person, she do not know how to treat thai massage well. cost is quite expensive. the environment is excellent and very good breakfast. in room television need to improve the quality and shower not do good.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worakot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Ok rooms but great pool and grounds on the river kwai.
The bathrooms let the rooms down and the bed was really uncomfortable but the pool and ground were like being in paradise.
the restaurant was ok had a large selection of east and west food. Breakfast was ok but quite bland.
we came here as part of a tour so had no choice to stay here, no i have stayed here i would go back if only i could change the room.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franckeiss23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Spent a nite here on our holls in Thailand. Really nice relaxing place. Charming tp say the least. Rooms are beautiful facing the pool. Quiet and peaceful
Lovely views and overall a great place. We got a thai massage im the spa and can highly recommend it. Felt great.
The resturant is lovely especially sitting outside and the staff very friendly.

We would have liked an extra day but had to move on. Pity as we loved it.!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martingore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Disappointed by the standard of accommodation here. Bathrooms were not up to standard and lack of hot water in one and bad smell in another. However, not a lot of hotels in the area that we saw. Pool was good although very warm. Restaurant was OK. Lots of mosquitos in this area and bitten a lot!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel is located directly on the River Kwai but is some distance, about 5 miles, from the famous bridge (and the city center). Because of the location the hotel is very quiet so come to relax and do little. There are no shops or other facilities within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel has a fine outdoor restaurant (wearing bug spray for dinner is advised). Other facilities are a good spa, a large pool, and a bar on the river. The swimming pool, and associated gardens, was probably the best feature of the hotel and had plenty of loungers. The room was spacious and had a balcony overlooking the garden and pool. Breakfast was a buffet that featured a selection of both Thai and western dishes. While the service was great, the resort can use a bit of work to bring it up to its full potential.

Room Tip: Bring lots of bug spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thevinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
3.2 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
1,066 reviews
3.1 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
2.4 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#10 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
169 reviews
6.3 mi away
X2 River Kwai Resort
X2 River Kwai Resort
#5 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
117 reviews
3.6 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa

Address: 88 Moo 2 Kangsean,Kanchanaburi-Saiyok Road, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#2 Spa Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#8 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: £38 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal River Kwai Resort And Spa
Royal River Kwai Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing