We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Royal here, basic hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nothing Royal here, basic hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Pretty basic hotel, the name of the hotel pretends more than it actually is. Restaurant is very good, breakfast is very poor. It's not very expensive, so don't expect much. Good to use it when travelling from one place to another, that's it

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maschadriessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    180
    63
    14
    5
See reviews for
111
155
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I really enjoyed our time here. Came by train from Bangkok ($3 AUD) and enjoyed the scenery on the way. Great food and sized meals. Excellent large pool in very lush settings, by the river. I found the office manager had great English and very helpful and patient with me while trying to organize my own transport to nearby attractions. Erawan waterfalls are well worth a visit. Also Hellfire Pass and Museum. I would highly recommend staying here for a few days. It is about 10 mins out of town but there are two free trips into town each day but you must give them one hours notice.

Room Tip: Only had a noise issue one time and it came from a hotel next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Barrier Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
133 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here with my family in July for 4 nights, must say if it wasn't for the great pool area we would have left. The manager at reception is the only person that really can communicate effectively in English( yes I know we are in Thailand, however English is the common travel language). She was very helpful in organising tours and transfers etc. Thanks. It would be money well spent on some English classes for the other staff?. That's if they want to attract westerners as guests? The breakfast was hit and miss, changed depending on if their was tour groups or many more Thais staying? I think the Resort is on the Tour Route? The rooms were clean and spacious, we had 2 to cater for the 5 of us. The pool is very good, deep and suitable for doing laps(not between 4 to 6pm when its full of guests) also seemed strange that the pool closed at 7Pm, we love to have a night time swim. The other thing that was missing from the hotel was the lack of tea/coffee making faculties in the rooms, this is not a big error but these days it is normal practice, all they need do is assign one wing of the hotel for westerners and perhaps charge a few extra baht p/n, this would surely cover the cost of the tea bags/sugar and the purchases of the kettles ? This and a few other wee items would have lifted my score. It was good to see Kanchanaburri, River Kwai etc. but its a once only visit I think.

Room Tip: upper level overlooking the pool on the eastern side,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IJArchibald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I traveled through Thailand last year in May for 10 days and I spend two night in here. It was the best place I have stayed in the whole trip.

It is outside of the city and getting there wasn't very easy but very worth it. I havent experience accommodation and food as good as I did here in the 2000 km I cover through the country.

The gardens are just beautiful and the food is amazing. The pool was great, the river was perfect for a night stroll, the staff was nice and helpful, everything was great.

I have read a few of the complaints and all I have to say is keep in mind you are in Thailand. It is not the most developed country and English is not the easiest language for them. I am sure there are other great places, perhaps with even higher quality but also at a higher rate. This cost $60 CAN for 2 nights for 2 people. It was a year a go but for the price we paid and I was quite impressed with the place. The food is not expensive either, very tasty and plenty.

I highly recommend the place and as an added bonus you are 30 min away from the Tiger Temple and a bit under 1h from the Erawan National Park where you can hike up the 7 level waterfall. If you feel adventures you can rent a scooter and make your way to the two locations. If I end up back in Thailand I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Andra8506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portoroz, Slovenia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

The resort is really a little heaven on earth, but there are some things to be improved:
1.The staff , especially the reception women in blue dresses, are not polite at all. We ask them about the trips possibilities and they just told us about the taxi prices althought in reception there is a book with all kind od trips offer.
2. The hotel doesnt have an anti mosquito net.
3.The hotel is located out of town and you need to pay a Taxi for 200thb.You cant bargain.There is also a free transportation offer in hotel, but only betwen 10.30am nad 2.30pm.
4.We went on a trip choosen from the hotel book to Erawan falls. It was just amazing. I recomend it.


The hotel vas a nice swiming pool and park.Itd well seen from the published photos.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank uganka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phrae, Thailand
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Warm welcome from front desk.
Good taste of food.
but it difficult to find because the sign is small.
If egg's chef more smile it maybe good for customers.
the environment it very good, a lot of tree make the resort cool.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pisekjoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel very good clean room and nice service. I love breakfast ,so good. Very nice big swimming pool and spa . There are river terrace restaurant very romance .location of resort close to River Kwai 10 min drive from city ^ ^. It Internet wifi available .

Stayed May 2557, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sasha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
54.0 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
54.0 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
53.7 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
54.5 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#8 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
54.3 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#12 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
31.0 mi away
Boutique Raft Resort
Boutique Raft Resort
#4 of 98 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa

Property: Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Address: 88 Moo 2 Kangsean,Kanchanaburi-Saiyok Road, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#2 Spa Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#7 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal River Kwai Hotel Kanchanaburi
Royal River Kwai Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing