We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average hotel”
Review of River Kwai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River Kwai Hotel
Ranked #51 of 78 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Gold coast
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Very average hotel”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The hotel needs refurbishing badly. The rooms are old and the bathrooms are cramped and small. The staff try to help but English is not good. There are not even maps of the area and attractions available. It was not an unpleasant stay but had to recommend as a worthwhile experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    89
    90
    43
    23
See reviews for
39
55
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel and had a good experience. We never heard any noise because we asked for a room in the back, not facing the street.
Good breakfast buffet, nice pool and staff very friendly.Room was clean and very spacious!
Good location and close to the main attractions.
We were travelling by car so it was convenient that the hotel has its own parking lot right there at the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose room on the back side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Western
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Staff are very good and the breakfast is pretty good. Pool good. Had to relocate from room affected by music from The House. New room O.K. For the proce it is good enough. Most of the bar and restaurant action has moved to River Kwai Bridge Road which is a 20 minute walk. Tuk tuks are not often around the hotel. Decent accommodation within easy access to the nightlife is hard to find. Mostly guesthouses that I did not really check out. WiFi is good enough.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are necessary unless you do not go to bed late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breckenridge, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed for two nights. We had a newly renovated room and I was pleased with it. Clean, enough space for two of us, and nicely decorated. Staff at the front desk spoke good English and were helpful. Breakfast was very good with many choices. Pool was nice. Its only a 10 minute walk from the bus station. It's a 15 minute walk past the War Cemetery to get to many great restaurants.

The hotel restaurant is expensive. The bar/restaurant outside the hotel had good food and good live music. Yes the disco was loud and we could hear it from our room; but we were still able to sleep. Probably not the best for a family with young children though, maybe request a room facing the other direction.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Boom! Boom! Boom! till 2am every night of the week.
A disco located at the front of the hotel and karaoke at the back echo throughout this concrete sound box.
Apart from the noise, we had to move rooms three times in one night due to various other disturbances and annoyances, one of which included being placed on a floor that was later swarmed with a boys' school sports team. The staff seemed willing to help, but had little foresight.
Coffee was good. And needed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kanchanaburi hotels

Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

The River Kwai Hotel is about a 10 to 15 minute walk to/from the bus station. This was the reason we selected it as we took a bus to Kanchanaburi from Bangkok to go and enjoy the Erawan Water Falls. The River Kwai Hotel is in a good location with 7-Eleven across the street, and a restaurant right next store. From here, you can also walk about 10-15 minutes further to historical sites, night market, and more restaurants. Good AC, WIFI, Comfortable Bed, free waters (2) in room, and very friendly front desk staff (everyone was so pleasant). Breakfast was okay, my friend had a made to order omelette otherwise more Asian options. Negative was that we were put in a room in the front of the hotel and music played extremely loud until 2 or 3 am (karaoke bar to left and restaurant/bar is on the right). Would recommend to request a room in the back. We paid 1100 baht (EUR 27). We inquired to stay a 2nd night, but were informed it was now 1500 baht because it was a Friday night before the holidays. For this area and noise, we wouldnt pay this rate so went next door to their sister hotel and paid 800 baht. We thought it was really nice of the front desk staff to even inform us to go to their sister hotel (River Inn). Tip: Bus Station offers transport to and from Erawan Falls / no need to book a tour!

Room Tip: Back of Hotel must be more quieter than front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Solo_traveler_girlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2012 via mobile

If I could add an audio file to this review all you hear is the repetitive bass of the awful club underneath the hotel. As long as the club exists this will always be a crap hotel. Find anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ollyknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
1.9 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
218 reviews
2.4 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
1.4 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#8 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
158 reviews
2.4 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
984 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hop Inn Kanchanaburi
Hop Inn Kanchanaburi
#12 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Kwai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Kwai Hotel

Property: River Kwai Hotel
Address: 284/15-16 Sang Chuto Road, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — River Kwai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel and TripOnline SA so you can book your River Kwai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Kwai Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing