We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okish”
Review of River Kwai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River Kwai Hotel
Ranked #51 of 78 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Okish”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel itself seemed ok, rooms a little run down could be improved especially the bathroom. Had hot water and air con, room big and fine at the back of the hotel. Club at front of hotel is banging music every night so beware not that loud at back of hotel but can still here thudding till 2am. Food average had a lot better. Bar and restaurant at front of hotel nice food and band music but from 8-9pm every night 10-20 young Thai girls suddenly arrive standing around in clubbing gear just waiting very very odd and uncomfortable!! Put us off going there actually. Maybe if your a single lonely man then it would prob suit. Very odd! Not sure i would go back or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anniemacmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    89
    90
    43
    23
See reviews for
39
55
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed here now a couple of times for work, but basically this place is a bit run down. most rooms are old although some are refurbished. I cannot really recommend this place except that the staff is mostly friendly and that the pool is nice to take an early morning dip. if you wish to save money and are on a budget, then perhaps this place could be considered. if you wish to enjoy the holiday then i think there could be better choices.

Room Tip: if you have to stay here then part of the rooms on one wing at the fifth floor are refurbished. car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PopeyeCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kanchanaburi hotels

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed for two nights with my wife. Room was okay, but no hot water found. The room phone was not working properly and it was not attended even after informing.
Very difficult to communicate as most did not understand English. We were taking only the breakfast. Unfortunately the staff could not tell me what they were. Real problem for a vegetarian as there was not much of a choice.

Room Tip: Peaceful if you get a rear side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newtonjsurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patong, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I stayed for 2 nights, the worst nights anywhere. The rooms are clean but need a lot of work, the bath has strips off the enamel, the floor is uneven, bed was comfortable, restaurant at the front was terrible, they gave me a bill for the wine on a scrap of paper, only one member there understood a little English, the Disco opens at 10 PM and we did not see one foreigner, lots of very pretty girls and heaps of Thai men with bottles of Whiskey etc walking inside. Pool was closed at 7 PM......... Huh ? breakfast was just OK, in area next to the pool, Yep pool was still closed at 9 AM. The back rooms overlook the railway line and they like to sound the horn, when coming thru town. No decent maps or tourist info about the River Kwai, I got a decent one when I went to the river Kwai Museum, that was very very good.
Overall, find another hotel this one needs a lot of work

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold coast
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The hotel needs refurbishing badly. The rooms are old and the bathrooms are cramped and small. The staff try to help but English is not good. There are not even maps of the area and attractions available. It was not an unpleasant stay but had to recommend as a worthwhile experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel and had a good experience. We never heard any noise because we asked for a room in the back, not facing the street.
Good breakfast buffet, nice pool and staff very friendly.Room was clean and very spacious!
Good location and close to the main attractions.
We were travelling by car so it was convenient that the hotel has its own parking lot right there at the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose room on the back side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Western
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Staff are very good and the breakfast is pretty good. Pool good. Had to relocate from room affected by music from The House. New room O.K. For the proce it is good enough. Most of the bar and restaurant action has moved to River Kwai Bridge Road which is a 20 minute walk. Tuk tuks are not often around the hotel. Decent accommodation within easy access to the nightlife is hard to find. Mostly guesthouses that I did not really check out. WiFi is good enough.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are necessary unless you do not go to bed late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
1.9 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
218 reviews
2.4 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
1.4 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#8 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
158 reviews
2.4 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
985 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hop Inn Kanchanaburi
Hop Inn Kanchanaburi
#12 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Kwai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Kwai Hotel

Property: River Kwai Hotel
Address: 284/15-16 Sang Chuto Road, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — River Kwai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your River Kwai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Kwai Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing