We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
River Kwai Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bamboo House(Kanchanaburi)(Great Value!)
US$12
US$9
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thai Garden Inn(Kanchanaburi)
US$41
US$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$38
US$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hop Inn Kanchanaburi(Kanchanaburi)(Great Value!)
US$21
US$20
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
17
92
99
45
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
92
99
45
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshall carpetsrailway tracknight marketegg stationrooms are cleanbreakfast buffetthai foodtuks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel itself seemed ok, rooms a little run down could be improved especially the bathroom. Had hot water and air con, room big and fine at the back of the hotel. Club at front of hotel is banging music every night so beware not that loud at back of hotel but can still here thudding till 2am. Food average had a lot better. Bar and restaurant at front of hotel nice food and band music but from 8-9pm every night 10-20 young Thai girls suddenly arrive standing around in clubbing gear just waiting very very odd and uncomfortable!! Put us off going there actually. Maybe if your a single lonely man then it would prob suit. Very odd! Not sure i would go back or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anniemacmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed here now a couple of times for work, but basically this place is a bit run down. most rooms are old although some are refurbished. I cannot really recommend this place except that the staff is mostly friendly and that the pool is nice to take an early morning dip. if you wish to save money and are on a budget, then perhaps this place could be considered. if you wish to enjoy the holiday then i think there could be better choices.

Room Tip: if you have to stay here then part of the rooms on one wing at the fifth floor are refurbished. careful though because if you are on the front side then the music of downstairs may keep you awake until 2AM. on the back side the noise has not disappeared, but it is less.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PopeyeCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed for two nights with my wife. Room was okay, but no hot water found. The room phone was not working properly and it was not attended even after informing.
Very difficult to communicate as most did not understand English. We were taking only the breakfast. Unfortunately the staff could not tell me what they were. Real problem for a vegetarian as there was not much of a choice.

Room Tip: Peaceful if you get a rear side room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newtonjsurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I stayed for 2 nights, the worst nights anywhere. The rooms are clean but need a lot of work, the bath has strips off the enamel, the floor is uneven, bed was comfortable, restaurant at the front was terrible, they gave me a bill for the wine on a scrap of paper, only one member there understood a little English, the Disco opens at 10 PM and we did not see one foreigner, lots of very pretty girls and heaps of Thai men with bottles of Whiskey etc walking inside. Pool was closed at 7 PM......... Huh ? breakfast was just OK, in area next to the pool, Yep pool was still closed at 9 AM. The back rooms overlook the railway line and they like to sound the horn, when coming thru town. No decent maps or tourist info about the River Kwai, I got a decent one when I went to the river Kwai Museum, that was very very good.
Overall, find another hotel this one needs a lot of work

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The hotel needs refurbishing badly. The rooms are old and the bathrooms are cramped and small. The staff try to help but English is not good. There are not even maps of the area and attractions available. It was not an unpleasant stay but had to recommend as a worthwhile experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulW502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews