We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small nice clean hotel with very good service - Recommended”
Review of Khon Kaen Orchid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Khon Kaen Orchid
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Very good value for money this hotel.
Stayed here 2 nights with fiancee and 3 weeks old baby.
Very good service when calling; gave me recommendations on room. Everything very clean and service very good. Good potion of egg and bacon in the morning from room service.
Asked for golf opportunities in the evening; next day we headed of to Singha Park, Asia rank no 3 court, with two others and the hotel owner.
Only five minute walk from Central Festival shopping center - a minus here was crossing the road getting there. Recommend taxi or tuk tuk for 50 bath.
Could have been hotter water in the shower.
Recommend this hotel for very professional and good service, and very helpfull staff for all questions. No doubt that I will stay here next time I go to Khon Kaen. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask when booking and say if which category you belong (Family, solo...)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2011

This hotel is a gem, that gives terrific value for money. It has high standards; is spotlessly clean and maintained by a small team of staff, who are friendly, approachable and will do all they can to make your stay memorable. It is run by a Thai/Irish couple who are always on top of their game. They will pick you up from the airport, train or bus station, with the same available on your departure - the time of day being irrelevant. Help and advice are always at hand.
I've read reports about traffic noise at the Orchid, which may have been present last year, at times, when road improvements were taking place nearby; this is now finished and this is not an issue.
The reception area is open, which is a blessing when the temperature rises; it's clean and welcoming, and having cereal/toast and constant supply of tea and coffee available, it is a pleasant place to start the day.
There are laundry facilities available at a reasonable cost (travelling light would not be a problem here!). Cindy who speaks very good English will ensure your laundry is back in your room before you return in the evening; she will also provide you with a cooked breakfast, at a nominal charge. She is also available to help with problems should they arise; another charming Thai person you will meet at the Orchid.
Access for wheelchairs will be a problem as no lift is available; but that can be a problem in a lot of areas in Thailand. Another report mentioned noise from the Temple nearby - ridiculous! The temples, the Buddha days that occur are all part of the Thai experience (you must visit the New Temple in the city, which has a school attached to it and you may be lucky enough to be greeted by some young people, whose command of English will amaze you!)
Visit KK, stay at the Orchid and travel around and you will take away lasting memories of a people and a culture which will last forever. Probably not applicable as you will no doubt return soon!

Room Tip: Higher floors less noisey, but identical rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stuart01704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Hospitality, quality of rooms,value, location proximate to the "CBD" and the charming staff were exceptional.
The hotel owner gave me a ride to the Singha Park golf course and stayed to play with me...........how good is that?

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Touring94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

This hotel was simply one of the best!
The staff is very friendly, rooms are clean and no traffic noise at all.
Breakfast is good and location ideal nearly the big center.
I recommend this small hotel to everyone , who is looking for a low priced and nice hotel in Khon Kaen. we will definitively come back to this place. maybe even next year :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PurpleGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Great place very clean and the owners were very pleasant and helpfull

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thewinkingfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

Stayed here for 6 nights and I enjoyed every night in peace and comfort. Clean rooms, great service.
If I should give a low grade, it should be in climbing stairs to my 3rd floor room, far from city center and the fire crackers going off at the nearby temple in the early morning.
Otherwise, a memorable experience from the start right to the end.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eDHmRfc-H2Q&feature=youtube_gdata

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMLIMSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Friendly and helpful staff. Picked us up from the train station. Even when the train arrived late, we just called and Derek came and pick us up in minutes. Rooms are clean and spacious but without lift so it is not wheelchair friendly. Basic toiletries but without coffee machine or hairdryer.(suppose u can borrow) Ideal location to Big C (local megamart) and Central Mall and to the City Centre. Very reasonable rate. Thanks to Jong to send us to the bus station when we could not get a cab.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khon Kaen hotels
0 mi away
SF Biz Hotel
SF Biz Hotel
#45 of 67 in Khon Kaen
27 reviews
1.5 mi away
AVANI Khon Kaen Hotel & Convention Centre
0.6 mi away
Pullman Khon Kaen Raja Orchid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Terminal Hotel
The Terminal Hotel
#6 of 67 in Khon Kaen
34 reviews
0 mi away
Le Lerts Living
Le Lerts Living
#21 of 67 in Khon Kaen
29 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kosa Hotel
Kosa Hotel
#4 of 67 in Khon Kaen
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khon Kaen Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khon Kaen Orchid

Address: 149/96 Soi Wat Pachaiyawan | Mittraphap Road, Khon Kaen 40000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Khon Kaen Province > Khon Kaen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Khon Kaen
Price Range: £14 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Khon Kaen Orchid 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Khon Kaen Orchid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing