We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique place in Isaan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wishing Tree Resort
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Khon Kaen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Not much comes close to this place in Isaan that we know of: a high quality, multi-facility genuine resort way out in rural rice fields.
We stayed in a villa with a view of the Chii river which was a beautiful sight and a spacious room. The private barbecue we had on the first night was an interesting idea and pretty good value with piles of good quality meat and seafood as well as som tam and western salad (some sticky rice would have been perfect to soak it all up!)
The breakfast was decent with some of the best bacon in Thailand. We didn't use the restaurant in the evening.
The whole sight is tastefully designed and planned although the owner (who owns Bangkok Glass FC) might have gone a little far with the huge photos of the team emblazoned on the walls of the restaurant!
You will need a car as the transfer into Khon Kaen takes a while and would have been expensive but why bother when you've got all the things to do on the sight: meet the animals, cycle around the local rice field (probably only enjoyable in the cool season!) or lazing by the river.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g0bgimmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Just spent three nights there in a junior suite.
Overall excellent experience with top marks to the staff who were helpful and courteous at all times.
The hotel , like most hotels with heavy occupancy, could do with some refurbishment. however everything worked and was spotless.
We made use of several of the bars and restaurants as well as the pool and spa.
Have absolutely no complaints and am looking forward to a return visit.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Celticjo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I arrived end of an afternoon on a sunday, after a long haul flight. Hotel sent over a taxi to pick me up which was very convenient (at the dear price though of 500 baths, the taxi driver only asked 350, go figure).

I considered treating myself to one of the villas, but gave up after visiting: the pool villas were nice and roomy, with plenty of those niceties that Thai hotels get one used to but many details went wrong: things here and there broken, villa pool didn't look too clean, it was not very clean.

Ended up in one of the normal rooms which was good, except it was very dark, a feature one might appreciate in the full heat of late spring.

Never managed to enjoy the spa as there was nobody there.

Breakfast was truly poor.

Staff helpfull and friendly, English ok. Everyone just seemed worn out by a large wedding party that had been held a couple of days earlier.

Decided to stay for one night only as the place felt mostly too deserted.

On the whole, prices are reasonable in comparison to Europe but still if you're going to have a villa, not to mention a pool villa, you do expect things to be run and kept nice, which was not the case when I was there. It's something that I've noticed more than once in Thailand over the last few years: beautfiful places are built but don't seem to be maintained.

Room Tip: Ask the staff to have a quick look around before you dcide which room you're going to treat your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EricNathM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Wishing tree resort is fairly new on the scene, located pretty far away from the city centre of Khon Kaen, off the road going south towards Nakhon Rachasima. You need a car, definitely, unless you are satisfied with remaining at the resort all the time. (The hotel provide limousine service if you need it.) And that is clearly an option, because it is a lovely place to spend a few days at. (Road signs make it easy to find, you turn off the main road and take the one that is heading toward Maha Sarakham. We choose a villa with a private pool, there are also villas without or nice rooms, all located along the Chi river, which is just floating way at pleasant speed 10 meters from where you are staying. We enjoyed a lovely BBQ first night at our villa, with lots of lovely food, seafood, pork, vegetables, fish in panaduls leavers and more, with delicious sauce to wolf it all down with. Worthwhile every thai bath. Second night had great dinner at the restaurant, with organic food (herbs and mushroom) from the resort garden, which is hugh and also worthwhile spending some time in. Breakfast can be served in your room or at the restaurant, you order from menu even, as in our case, that meal was included in the price. The spa is excellent and well equipped, contrary to many other so called fitness centers I have checked out in various hotels all over. Staff is extremely friendly and speaks relatively good English, some speak perfect as a matter of fact. And room service is immaculate. They come running at smallest request, even if the room or villa is far away in the garden. We love this place and can’t wait to come back.

Room Tip: Choose room or villa near the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stisse23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

just flew in to thailand from europe and spent 3 nights at this wonderful place. reading the traveller feedbacks, my expetations were fulfilled 100%. a 25 minutes drive from the airport, tough to find, even my navigation system failed for a moment. nestled in the middle of ricefields and close to a river, the silence and recovery was great. clean and large rooms with balcony and river view, good but quite expensive food at the restaurant. very helpful staff. not much to see around this place. great golfcourse (singha golfpark) nearby (10 minutes drive), dancoon golf about 25 minutes drive, but not recommended due to the bad maintenance. overall, i would come back again to recharge batteries.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank mrbright67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Absolutely wonderful. Relaxing and peaceful location on the edge of the river. Hotel had bikes that could be used to explore the surrounding countryside. Staff all very helpful. We had a very spacious pool villa overlooking the river that was very well equipped throughout. Wish we had been there more than 4 nights.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a pool villa. A little away from the main pool, spa, restaurant and other room but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Izzythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Located a few kilometres off the main highway, the Wishing Tree is a real oasis. Lovely surroundings and beautiful atmosphere help you relax immediately. Rooms are large, clean and very comfortable. Big gym and pool. I recommend the restaurant for an evening meal: attentive staff, great (spicy) food and cold beer. All the staff were super friendly and made our stay very special! A great way to spend a weekend away from Bangkok. Already planning my next trip (golf course very nearby!)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matty_James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khon Kaen hotels
5.3 mi away
AVANI Khon Kaen Hotel & Convention Centre
4.6 mi away
Pullman Khon Kaen Raja Orchid
3.7 mi away
The Terminal Hotel
The Terminal Hotel
#8 of 67 in Khon Kaen
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Glacier Hotel
Glacier Hotel
#11 of 67 in Khon Kaen
117 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kosa Hotel
Kosa Hotel
#4 of 67 in Khon Kaen
167 reviews
4.7 mi away
Charoen Thani Khon Kaen
Charoen Thani Khon Kaen
#5 of 67 in Khon Kaen
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wishing Tree Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wishing Tree Resort

Address: 114/1 Moo 5 Tambol Thapra | Amphur Muang, Khon Kaen 40260, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Khon Kaen Province > Khon Kaen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Khon Kaen
Price Range: £38 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wishing Tree Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wishing Tree Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing