We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped at our favorite again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mai Thai Guest House
Ranked #1 of 82 Khon Kaen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Been to the eastern region of thailand and stopped at our favorite on the way home, and writing this now from there on the free WiFi

Pork mash and gravy wonderful, while my wife brings her local food from the market, service as always very good, English owner Ronnie with his Thai wife Son, always up and around early in the day

Read the last review by 651rob, they must have stayed at a different MaiThai

We love this little gem of a hotel with its peace and traquility surrounded by orchids and plants in the middle of an ever busier city

Thank you to Ronnie and Son

Room Tip: Top floor end ones have extra window but then ground floor cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlandPawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

we arrived at this so called guest house in the morning the owners were still in bed ..at this time it was gone 9am and hungry but no staff around ..a old gentleman managed to contact them so we could check-in. within a hour kids where racing about on motorbikes making noice which was great as we came to relax not listern to kids talking on phones and running around. i am not sure if they have a youth club in there house as people seem to come and go all day.
the staff not polite and look down there noses to people it seems. food ok when there are people to cook it, forget a early breakfast more like a brunch by the time they get up...itsonly a small menu so no need for a chef....the pool lovely to look at but once in it was sour and hurt my wifes eyes...great. dont have a room near there house as night time they seem to have a thai party on the for tv loud and on late. cleaners seem to clean the rooms when they want. not a place to relax

Room Tip: all rooms will suffer as there is only 10-12 rooms like a big house surrounded with dogs and kids et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 651rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

the owner of Mai thai guest house is not Khonkaen jimmy as stated in thie last responce
but ron stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

A little bit out of town(10km) and we had a bit of difficulty getting there(first Taxi/Tuk Tuk drivers not knowing Mai Thai then not having the address), but once we got there the kids were excited as it had a pool and Billard table.

Ron was very friendly and accomodating(as were all the staff) and dropped us at the Bus station on check out.

We stayed here 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer was a relaxing enviroment laying next to the pool reading a book.

The number 9 bus goes along the main road make sure the catch the one going to the right(and around the corner), it takes about 10-15 minutes on the bus to get to the town.

Room Tip: Be sure to have full address in English and Thai if getting Taxi/Tuk Tuk from town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cjmason8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Almost went to one of the larger (& much more expensive) hotels in Khon Kaen. Glad we checked Trip Advisor a bit more & found this place. It's quite far down the soi (street) from the main road but well worth the trip. Stayed here over the New Year, seeing in 2012. Everything here has been thought about and given a classy, loving touch. Mattresses & pillows are excellent, fridge, satellite tv, wifi, tea/coffee/water plus other stuff supplied already. Good size rooms very tastefully decorated. Good shower (which is important to me!). Everything looks or is new. The only minor thing is perhaps the curtains (drapes) are rather thin & let in a fair amount of light (I like total blackness!). Swimming pool, pool table, books, food, bar. Basically it's a large, friendly, classy and relaxing place. I certainly don't feel the need to 'get out' during the day as you do with some places. The owners, Ron & his wife are superb - friendly and welcoming without being in the way. My wife and like this place a lot (and she's quite fussy about where we stay). You can also rent motorbikes/cars here too. Mai Tai is the place where I will always stay when I am in the Khon Kaen area. If I was going to have my own guest house, it would be just like this one. Superb value for the money.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlvinStardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We have been travelling three months, and again stopped at Mai thai khon Kaen, so good so relaxing such a nice pool and excellent european menu and food
Ronnie and son are such good hosts and well Emma can only sya she will do anything to make you happy

many thanks

Alandporn

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlandPawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

For a reasonable price you get a very nice room with everything you need including TV and DVD player, wifi, etc. They also have a small swimming pool. The best thing is that the English guy is very helpful with telling you what to do/find in city and the other guests are all very friendly I found the place had an extremely pleasant vibe. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: They are very nice but there are only twelve so call and book first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsDeeChiangMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

When in Khon Kaen, you cannot go wrong by staying at this GH!!! Number 9 Blue Songtail takes you directly to this GH, but if you arrive without transportation, you can call the owner for possibly picking you up at the Bus Station and/or Airport!!! I have stayed at this property many times over the past few years and have never been disappointed. They have FOXNEWS and good Cable TV!!! Having cocktails in the evening by their pool is a PLUS, PLUS!!! The owners are very hospitable and helpful during your stay in KK!!! Ron (Englishman) is one of the owners, so call him and/or email him, if you have any questions!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomKorat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khon Kaen hotels
0 mi away
SF Biz Hotel
SF Biz Hotel
#46 of 67 in Khon Kaen
27 reviews
1.9 mi away
D'Ma Hotel
D'Ma Hotel
#42 of 67 in Khon Kaen
21 reviews
0 mi away
Le Lerts Living
Le Lerts Living
#22 of 67 in Khon Kaen
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Green Hotel & Resort
Green Hotel & Resort
#9 of 67 in Khon Kaen
22 reviews
2.2 mi away
Roma Hotel
Roma Hotel
#39 of 67 in Khon Kaen
51 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pullman Khon Kaen Raja Orchid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Thai Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Thai Guest House

Address: 211 M19 Ban Kok T/Ban Phet, Khon Kaen 40000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Khon Kaen Province > Khon Kaen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Khon Kaen
Price Range: £12 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mai Thai Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing