We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of Ben's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ben's House
Ranked #34 of 309 Krabi Town B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I stayed at Ben's House during a 2-week tour of SE Asia. Ben's House was by far the best place we stayed. Rooms are impeccably clean, comfortable, and well-appointed. We were greeted by Ben with fresh orange juice, fruit, and brandy. Wi-fi worked reliably. Beds were so comfortable it was difficult to leave them in the morning. The mini-bar was a nice added touch which made it easy to relax. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binarybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    66
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
51
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I first visited Ben's in 2008. I was very impressed with the personal service provided by the owners, and recommended it to friends and family. Upon my return, this year with a guest from the US, I was very disappointed with the attitude by the front desk staff and their lack of personal service.

The rooms are still well appointed and tastefully decorated, but in order to compete in the Ao Nang competitive market, they are going to have to go back to basics and reassess their customer service model.

When they first opened, they had it, they've now lost it and desperately need to get it back. There are plenty of other places in the area, worthy of your money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjhigginsiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Ben's place is situated just off the main waterfront road in Ao Nang where it turns to Nappharat Thara. It probably offers the best value in the area if you don't mind a little walk. It is close to both local beaches and is a 15 minute walk to catch the long tail boats to the islands and Railay peninsula. I stayed in front of here before at the now closed Green Lemon because I like the location. I discovered a short cut (down the steps) behind Ben's that is more pleasant than taking the road out front down to 'the strip'. The pool is a bonus. Our room was a triple and the only minus was that it's proximity to reception and eating area could bleed some noise, but it wasn't that bad.
The room was large with lots of storage and a balcony facing northwest, perfect for sunset time. There was good variation in the breakfasts compared to most places and the staff looked after our laundry. They also matched the cheapest price i found for the 'james bond' tour and organized our airport taxi. Good restaurants out front but probably the best deal is down the lane behind with good authentic Thai food at more reasonable prices and less crowding than on ao nang's beachfront strip.

Room Tip: facing the back looking over the 'luxury' complex behind you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fisher_eye_lens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

Guest of room 101. Very helping staff and they can communicate well in English.
But I didn't get a good shower experience here as the water pressure is low and it flooded after 5 minutes. I guess they didn't check if the bathroom is clogged.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coarsegold, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is a very clean and nice hotel with large, newly renovated rooms, a good shower, AC, a fridge, TV with good satellite channels, fast WiFi in your room, and a small balcony. There is also a small pool with shaded areas on each side of it to lounge in. The only deficits we have discovered so far (we are here until tomorrow) are that there is no lift, so you have to lug your bags up and down several floors, and the breakfast isn't included (it costs 150 Baht). There is a minimart within 20 yards (turn right at the main road) and many nice looking restaurants in the area. The rooms are quiet too. It is about a 10 minute walk down to the road which runs along Ao Nang Beach where there are really a LOT of stalls and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyMaryRVTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Good hotel for 1500 Bath in high season. Stayed here for 9 nights. Front desk staff is not smiling too much and is very busy taking care of their hair and make up. Room is spaceous and fairly clean. Aircondition, 21" crt ("old fat style") tv, safe and small balcony. View is better the higher in the hotel you get. Cleaning staff is pollite and smiling to the guests. Pool was clean and wedged between this and the neighbouring hotel. Fast help when aircondition stopped working. Breakfast is ok. I recommend this hotel if you're not too picky about small details and if you are on a tight budget.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnutG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We are staying here for 3 weeks in total. Our room is 103 so lots of steps down, great exercise. The room is huge has a balcony a tv mini bar-reaonsbly priced too, a massive bed a safe and a cracking shower, a fan and an ac unit We have felt really at home here. The breakfasts are super with very posh bread for toast. You can order you preferred style of eggs when you arrive at your table.
If I were to really search fir some feedback it would be. Butter fir breakfast, a reading lamp, coffee and tea making facilities and an extra pillow. thank you B H

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BanburyDiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
0.0 mi away
The Royal Nakara
The Royal Nakara
#42 of 108 in Ao Nang
261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Krabi Heritage Hotel
Krabi Heritage Hotel
#41 of 108 in Ao Nang
396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Home Ao Nang
Little Home Ao Nang
#33 of 108 in Ao Nang
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baan Bandalay Hotel
Baan Bandalay Hotel
#61 of 125 in Ao Nang
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Won Won Place
Won Won Place
#78 of 125 in Ao Nang
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tolmaj Family Apartment
Tolmaj Family Apartment
#55 of 142 in Ao Nang
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben's House

Property: Ben's House
Address: 155-155/3 Ao Nang Beach, Amphur Mueng, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 309 B&Bs / Inns in Krabi Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben's House 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to present our accommodation feature 31 Guestrooms, located between Ao Nang Beach and Noppharat Tara Beach. All rooms are equipped with Air condition, Private bathroom, Satellite TV, mini bar, in room safe and hot shower stall and Private balcony is available for the most of the rooms. Facilities also include internet café, restaurant and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ben's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben`s House Hotel Krabi Town
Ben's House Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing