We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely hotel, great location and fabulous rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ben's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ben's House
Ranked #41 of 292 Krabi Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great location and fabulous rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I spent 3 nights in this hotel on my travels through Asia, the location was walking distance from the town, no need for taxis or tuc tuc'is. The staff are lovely. My room was amazing, it was huge and had a balcony. We could see the sunset every night. I definitely recommend this hotel.

The only thing to be careful of is we arrived at 6am and our rooms weren't ready until 2pm. Also they have a pool but you can't sit around it, it's located in between 2 buildings, which is a bit strange.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    62
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
19
48
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This property is quite average, doesn't reflect the pictures on their website.
1 staff member seemed quite fed up with clients - this was not a nice welcome.

Room was clean except the bathroom which had mould and an erratic shower head, mattress very hard and thin and pillows small. Room had a safe and bathroom and mini bar.

For the price it wasn't too bad by normal standards, however compared to other properties in the area for cheaper or the same price, it was of average quality. Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMartin836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Basic needs were adequately provided. The room and the toilet is spacious, clean and reasonably comfortable.The hotel attendance is friendly and has moderate English proficiency. The place is quite strategically located near to all the happening and recommended places. A quick look at the map, one could see that happening places are within walking distance. It also has a pool, free wifi, hot water shower, and air-conditioner.

Room Tip: Hotel is reasonably near to happening and recommended places.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jykhjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kata Beach, Thailand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was a return visit,all new staff who where more interested playing with their phones.
Having booked a superior room,it was inferior and nothing like the brochure photographs.
The bathroom was dirty, with mold in all the tile groupings.The room furniture was scratched and varnish worn.
Breakfast was ,skimpy and not refilled when the scrambled eggs ran out, I had to ask for fried eggs and the waitress looked bored with my request.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franktheshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
653 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

By Thai standards this place is not cheap, but by Aonang standards its about average. Our room on floor two was reasonably big, with a big comfortable bed, TV, aircon and balcony. The pool is a plunge pool, but adequate to cool off in the heat of the day, and is bit quirky sandwiched between two buildings. We were lucky as we were there a week and it was realitively quite for us, small suggestion for hotel, fit anti screech pads to the bottom of the furniture very cheap to do and stops guest being woken by chamber maids or guests moving the furniture. The location is about 10 mins to Aonang beach and 5 mins the the shops and resturants , perfect in our view all the facilites close at hand without being disturbed by them at night.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RonA_Plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

i went to ben's house as part of my intrepid trip in nov 13. the room was nice and clean. we stayed on ground floor. Backyard is small but sufficient for 2 people. we had free wifi, hot water, aircon, swimming pool. its reasonably close to entertainment district where many clubs, restaurants , night market, and fun places were located.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend booked to stay for 4 nights at Bens House. I found this hotel/B&B to be a very nice little place to stay while exploring Krabi. The room was big, nicely decorated and had a lovely balcony over looking the garden. The beds were comfy and the aircon worked excellently. There was also a fan attached to the wall so you could leave the fan on over night. The pool was a nice little touch and they have made the most of the space they have. I found the staff to be very friendly and they could speak English very well which was an added bonus. They always greeted me with a smile and were very chatty. Whilst we were staying at Bens house I took ill and we had to ring the girl to get up from her bed and help us get a taxi to the nearest clinic. She was very helpful and I was really appreciative of all her help. They also found us 2 rooms we could stay in for 2 extra nights as I couldn't leave the area until I was well again. When I returned from the clinic late the next day the girl asked how I was which I thought was really nice. The breakfast was good, toast, muffins, tea coffee, ham, sausages, cereals etc. We got the breakfast included in our booking. The location is good if you want somewhere a little bit quieter rather than the Main Street, about a 10 minute walk to the beach, you can either go down the steps round the back or down a road, both take about the same time. We then went to Phi Phi for 2 nights and came back to stay at Bens house for 1 night before going to Samui. Overall I enjoyed my stay at Bens house and would return there again. I thank the staff for their help when I wasn't feeling my best :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
0.0 mi away
The Royal Nakara
The Royal Nakara
#46 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#26 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Won Won Place
Won Won Place
#75 of 123 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baan Bandalay Hotel
Baan Bandalay Hotel
#65 of 123 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tolmaj Family Apartment
Tolmaj Family Apartment
#46 of 131 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morning Minihouse Aonang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben's House

Property: Ben's House
Address: 155-155/3 Ao Nang Beach, Amphur Mueng, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 292 B&Bs / Inns in Krabi Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben's House 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to present our accommodation feature 31 Guestrooms, located between Ao Nang Beach and Noppharat Tara Beach. All rooms are equipped with Air condition, Private bathroom, Satellite TV, mini bar, in room safe and hot shower stall and Private balcony is available for the most of the rooms. Facilities also include internet café, restaurant and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Ben's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben`s House Hotel Krabi Town
Ben's House Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing