We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark and depressing...low point of our stay in Thailand ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Nantra De Deluxe
Ranked #165 of 184 Hotels in Krabi Town
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we knew we had made a mistake. The resort is dark, isolated and has an eerie feeling. We weren't the only ones who had made a mistake, upon arriving we were told they had overbooked the "resort" and did not have a room for us. This was after we had called to confirm the booking that morning, and a 60 minute taxi from Ao Nang. Instead we were sent to a resort down the beach which was also part of the Nantra group- Coco Beach. Before leaving Nantra, we had a chance to look at the resort and have a complimentary meal before being shipped to another hotel (they later tried to charge us for this meal).
Coco Beach resort was identical to Nantra- creepy vibe and all. The shower did not work in our room and there was little hot water, no phone or safety deposit box. The room was also shared with bugs and large cockroaches.
The breakfast was very poor, the kitchen had no fresh coffee and the only juice was tomato juice.
Would preferred to have camped in a tent in the beach- especially considering the price this hotel was charging. Total scam- poor management and the lowest point of our trip to beautiful Thailand.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank MaggieHK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert F, General Manager at The Nantra De Deluxe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Maggie,

I have read your review and I'm sorry about your experience and I regret that your very first review on trip advisor turns out to be a negative one.

I respectfully disagree that our resort is dark and depressing in the appearance to you some people have a different opinion on our resort in terms of design and style.

As I looked at the other points you made we obviously need to improve on, thank you for mentioning them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

I was there in Krabi from 2nd Dec till 5th Dec and I stayed at Nantra De Deluxe - Deluxe Villa. If we talk about the room then it was a perfect room specially when you are on a honeymoon. The hotel is about 50mins drive from the main town Ao-Nang so if you are looking to stay in a hustle bustled area then this is not the right choice but if you want to enjoy nature, peace and solitude then there cant be anything better than this hotel. So being in solitude is a pro as well as a con for this hotel.

It also has its own private beach and scenery and weather in December was highly enjoyable. The hotel staff barely knows English so conversing with them could be a hard task for a non Thai speaking person but the staff is really helpful and they try to help as much as they can.

Room is having a cable connection but very few channels options and thats a con. There is no telephone in the room or in the hotel as they go by paradise theme but the entire hotel is wi-fi. Only a few staffers carry mobiles so if you need a mobile number you better buy it from bangkok airport as there is no 7-11 shop or any other mart near by the hotel hence you wont be able to buy anything.

Restaurant is also good but most of the options you find there is thai dishes but the preparation is good.

All in all I would rate the hotel 4 out of 5 for its theme and its a must go place for solitude, peace and nature loving people.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank batraman87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert F, Manager at The Nantra De Deluxe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

We want to thank you for your kind words for our resort and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are now working with our staff to improve their communications skills in English to better provide for our guests this is a challenge that we are focusing on.

Currently we are in the process of installing phone lines for our rooms and we will let guests use our mobile phones at the front desk to make local calls and also assist guests with their activities.

We hope to welcome you back to our resort in the future.

Best Regards,

Robert Falls

General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I'll keep it simple.. Don't do it!!.. Unless you feel like you have done something wrong and would like to punish yourself with terrible food, numbskull management, diseased cats fighting in the kitchen and ridiculous isolation, be my guest..
Read other reviews carefully and go with your gut.. Not your skinny wallet.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Locky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert F, Manager at The Nantra De Deluxe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Locky,

I have read your comments on your stay at our hotel and I would like to thank you for taking the time to make your very first comments on trip advisor, as a hotelier we take these comments very seriously and by reading your review I see we didn't meet your expectations.

We are currently working on upgrading the service and facilities at the hotel and will continue to strive to meet our guests expectations.

Best regards,

Robert Falls

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Plus: if you like solitude, then go to this place
Friendly welcoming by staff

Minus:
- cockroaches in our room
- big nice looking bath but no hot water in our bathroom.
- about 50min ride from krabi town in the middle of nowhere
- no free shuttle service as mentioned on the website, only on monday
- deserted brown sand beach full of garbage and crap
- restaurant service was a total mess and abt 75% of menu was unavailable ("only beef today sir, sorry")
- no wi fi in the rooms, only in the lobby
- exactly one dvd available for our entertainment...
- generally poorly maintained site.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SophieDJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

An honest review.. i booked this hotel on agoda..before i saw the reviews.. i saw the pictures and the price and immediately thought BARGAIN..

It was only after it was booked that i checked the reviews. Immediately i regretted my decision as did the people with me. we decided we would stay one night and leave the next day to at least save some money.

all i can say is that the bad reviews i saw definately did not sum up our experience. quite the opposite. our rooms were immaculate and clean. the service from the staff was exceptional and i thoroughly enjoyed my time at nantra as did my father and friend.

the hotel is a distance from shops / bars but they are due to get a games room and bar. also the hotel taxi offers rides to the local town or krabi town for a fee.

this is the perfect place for peace and quiet and total relaxation. the sunsets are beautiful and the pool over looks the ocean. the beach is chocolate but if you are that fussed about having the white sands you could arrange a day trip to ko phi phi from krabi. its only an hour and a half away on a boat.

i saw commments about ants and cockroaches. i saw one cockroach outside and i did see ants but they were not in my r oom. i have seen both around 5 star resorts afterall it is thailand.

i would highly reccommend nantra de deluxe - i would return.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelfanatic23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Our stay was only for 2 days and we were nervous considering the reviews we had read. However, it was very good. The rooms were very clean and in excellent decor. All the bungalows had good sized terraces with a full sixes day bed to relax on. The pool was clean and inviting. Staff were friendly and fixed issues such as TV cables. The safe did not work and was not attached to anything, they replaced the safe with another quickly. The beach was brown and slightly disappointing in that it was not cleaned of tidal debris. The hotel was remote so one should accommodate this for extra needs. We enjoyed our short time there and our chance to relax after bustling Bangkok. Taxis to and from the airport were 600 baht.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shopwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I had 5 nights in heaven at this resort.
The staff are all local Thai's and really nice friendly people.
The chocolate beach just runs forever and the view across the water to Phi Phi Island and lots more islands is awesome.
It is out of town yes. BUT I was not hassled by one hawkers or annoying tailor.
I took a local long tail boat trip to The Islands and ur was a hoot.
The rooms are large and very very clean.
The property looked like is is well cared for and ur is just heaven.
Just wish more English TV channels . :-) Otherwise it was perfect

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnRoberts81293916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
3.5 mi away
Islanda Hideaway Resort
Islanda Hideaway Resort
#1 of 1 in Khlong Prasong
282 reviews
6.8 mi away
Dee Andaman Hotel
Dee Andaman Hotel
#1 of 18 in Pak Nam
365 reviews
16.9 mi away
Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort
Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Nong Thale
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
#42 of 110 in Ao Nang
326 reviews
7.9 mi away
Thip Residence Boutique Hotel
7.8 mi away
Krabi Tropical Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nantra De Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nantra De Deluxe

Address: 153 Moo 4 T.Talingchan | Nueklong, Krabi Town 81130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Krabi Town
#50 Luxury Hotel in Krabi Town
#52 Top resorts Hotel in Krabi Town
Price Range: £19 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nantra De Deluxe 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Nantra De Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nantra De Deluxe Hotel Krabi Town
Nantra De Deluxe Krabi
The Nantra De Deluxe Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing