We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic just for bed and location to boat trip.”
Review of Mild Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mild Bungalow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Basic just for bed and location to boat trip.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A basic place in humid climate. Bugs etc to be expected. Air con available, nice pool, pretty surroundings. Only five mins walk from a beach, half hour walk from boats to phi phi islands.

Half hour walk from Ao Nang main area, near Krabi town. If you want to party, don't stay at Mild bungalow.

Good base to get out and about, as Krabi is a large province!

Staff not experienced and have a bad attitude. Breakfast is cheap cereal, instant coffee, syrup juice etc. I had a plain omelette every morning, sometimes they have no fruit, so check and bring your own!

I didn't care really for £20 a night, it did the job, just disappointed after so many amazing places in other areas of the country.

If you are backpacking, this will feel luxurious!

French/Italian restaurant nearby is amazing, and the local people are adorable.

Good place to do the islands tour - a longboat is a smoother option, if you go by speedboat it is rough especially at the front where you will injure your back. Expect to pay between 1300 and 1800 baht.

Elephant trekking - Nosy parkers, Ao Nang, 800 baht, well looked after. If your are obese don't bother as it is cruel on your part.

Fresh coconuts nearby, amazing! Go see the tiger cave temple, no tigers but lots of monkeys- 1,237 very steep and narrow steps. Do it on a cloudy day as an individual trip though and take at least 2 litres of water per person. Wear karrimoor amazon climbing sandals rather than flip flops for safety.

Ao Nang is so far an unspoilt paradise. Keep it that way.

Room Tip: Be grateful for what you're given or sleep on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sazart28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    22
    31
    16
    20
See reviews for
13
42
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here 3 nights in May 2014 with family consisting of 5 adults and 2 children. I was cheated by the agent in the airport into signing up for all 3 nights and was told that beach was just within sight from the hotel. When we arrived there, we realised that the beach is not even walking distance from the hotel and a tuk tuk was needed. The rooms were poorly maintained. The room and bathroom floor had been mopped but was soapy when in contact with wet feet. We had 2 adjoining rooms. The heater did not work in one bathroom whilst the other bathroom's heater worked. The bathrooms had poor drainage which saw dirty water accumulating after a bath. There were traces of termite infestation on all the wooden structures. The TV was hazy and only had local Thai channels. The air-cond leaked water on the floor. However, the beds and sheets were clean.

The environment was nice and quiet and I liked the pool, which was also quite clean. Breakfast was simple - 2 slices of toast, an omelette and sausages (upon request only) accompanied with tea or coffee or orange juice. There was no hot water flask in the room so guests have to come to the reception lobby to get hot water. The water from the taps were salty. The door to the adjoining room can't be locked so imagine it was a different guest staying there - they could have come into my room easily.

However, the staff were friendly and helpful. I think that we were overcharged for this hotel. Overall, I am not going back here again.

Room Tip: These are chalets in a jungle setting, better to get rooms away from the roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cj7174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Krabi Town hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

stayed at Mild bungalow for four nights in March was clean and secure, air con basic bungalows, quiet and in the quiet part of town but not too far from the night life breakfast was nice but basic and staff were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceyandvikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after booking through a travel agent in Bangkok airport. Learnt a very valuable lesson check with trip adviser first!! We asked to be moved after the first night to a different room as was so noisy by the road. We didn't sleep a wink. To which got a look of disgust of the manager and had the key to new room thrown at me!! Had a bottle of water from the fridge at which she snapped 30 baht handed over a 500 baht note and received 70baht back at which I said you have given me the wrong change. She insisted I given 100 but know for a fact it was as all the money we had was in 500baht notes. So watch your money.

Other than that incident the new room was ok clean and tidy apart from no hot water from electric shower. But too hot so a cold shower was fine. Breakfast was not good, we only went once. But the pool was great. It was a experience staying here but won't be going back again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakejc90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed here with a friend for 2 days. We booked it straight from the airport in Krabi, relying on the booking agents there. Try anything once, I guess. Note to self, always check on TripAdvisor before booking anything. I'm confident we paid too much for the rooms, which I think was 1200 Baht a night, if I remember correctly (but don't hold me to that). While not fully sure about the value of rooms in Ao Nang, this seems really high for the location of the hotel, which is off the main path.

The rooms were very clean, so no concerns there, but what really bothered me was that the lady at the desk was incredibly rude. She had no time for her guests, and I instantly disliked her. On our last day, I asked for change for a 1000 Baht note, and she actually put her hand to my face waving me away, with a grunt. Unbelievable.

Room Tip: Maybe haggle for a better price... if you don't talk to the lady and the price is cheaper, it ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdbjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed there for five days... The overall feeling is that there must be better places in Krabi...
The hotel management was rather greedy... They were not helpful.. And they overcharged any tour or transportation that they could organize..
The bungalow as such was not that bad... The mattress was ok.. And the airco worked fine...the minibar is also a plus... However it was never cleaned during our stay...and the wifi was not working... The breakfast is way too expensive for the quality...

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Dark dingy, no natural light, showers filthy and disgusting, staff not good, pathway to bungalows dangerous, pool and furniture in poor condition. breakfast a joke and too far from beach however nice little restaurant at end of road near beach run by a very pregnant Nina, food in here good and staff talkative and friendly

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Noppharat Resort
Noppharat Resort
#77 of 107 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaya Resort
Chaya Resort
#73 of 107 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lazy Bar And Guesthouse
The Lazy Bar And Guesthouse
#103 of 138 in Ao Nang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sunda Resort
Sunda Resort
#60 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Emerald Bungalow
The Emerald Bungalow
#184 of 308 in Krabi Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Krabi Aquamarine Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mild Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mild Bungalow

Property: Mild Bungalow
Address: 148 Moo 3, T. Ao-Nang | A.Muang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 308 Speciality Lodging in Krabi Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mild Bungalow 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Mild Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mild Bungalow Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing