We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but far from Krabi!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Klong Muang Sunset Hotel
Ranked #86 of 311 Krabi Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Run by a family as I have understood it, there are four giggly ladies that will help you. The breakfast was included in the price and was OK.
There is a large road just infront between the guesthouse and the beach so it is not quiet during the day. Worth mentioning is that Paddys irish pub is nearest neighbour so you might hear YMCA before you fall alseep and there is a mosque nearby so at 5am you will have a wake-up call from the minaret during 5 minutes!

The beachview is misleading as my view was to a backyard and only sticking out my head I would see the beach. The beach is quite small and with darker sand, not fine white-white. There are very few people so it is peaceful, but it is not possible to swim during the low-tide due to rocks etc. If you are looking for a postcard beach do NOT go here!

I rented a motorbike to go around for 250bath per day and it was a good idea. There are much nicer places near better beaches for same value closer to Ao Nang (except free internet, but free wifi is at the many of the resturants anyway today).
But for a night or two it is fine for the price!

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the top!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olifo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Klong Muang Sunset Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2011

We recently went to the Krabi area and couldn't decide which beaches to stay on. I had read so much about Aonang, Phi Phi, Railay, etc. but I decided to take a chance on Klong Muang. It was so perfect, I couldn't believe it! The beach was deserted, the local restaurants weren't packed with tourists and served great food, and there wasn't anybody trying to sell you things every 10 minutes like on the more popular beaches. This is the perfect area for someone who wants to see a unique, relaxing Thai beach without all the craziness and tacky tourist stuff. Great sunsets, too!

As for the hotel...it was a steal! The rooms were basic but very clean and the view of the beach across the street was great for this price range. It takes about a minute to get to the beach as you walk down a short path. The two people who run it are friendly and very helpful in recommending places and the breakfast was really good (and free!). As for the neighborhood, there is an Irish pub right next store, a handful of Thai restaurants and a mini-mart or two nearby. There is a common room on the ground floor that is nice as well.

We ended up renting a motorbike for about $8 and went to Aonang and after seeing the town and all the traffic, we were even more delighted with our decision to stay on Klong Muang. Everyone was trying to get us to buy a massage or eat in their restaurant...not my idea of a peaceful vacation in Thailand. That is maybe the only negative point I can say is that you have to rent a motorbike if you want to go to other areas as the taxis are pretty big rip-off. I think it was like $10 each way to Aonang, which is only about 15 minutes by motorbike or car. But having a motorbike was pretty cool as there are so many places to see around there.

Overall, the location and cleanliness of the hotel make this a great budget friendly choice.


Note:
We also went to Koh Lanta, which being more developed but having a slightly nicer and lively beach scene, was the perfect compliment to this trip. It was great to have the best of both worlds. I highly suggest starting your trip here and then heading to Koh Lanta... foregoing the noisy, crowded "most beautiful" beaches.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldwander8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

The glowing reviews on tripadvisor were misleading. The guest house was okay, but not that good. We stayed in a sea view room for 1100 baht with breakfast, which turned out to be extremely overpriced and poor value. The room was relatively clean, but not functional. The bathroom was the type without a shower curtain or dedicated shower area, so space was tight and the toilet/toilet paper/towel could get wet depending on which way you pointed the shower head. The closet was very small with some spider webs in the corner and was dysfunctional due to lack of size and cleanliness, so there wasn't really anywhere to hang clothes (especially wet clothes from the beach or rain). There was a wooden rack that could be used for drying towels, but there were grey mold spots. We had to take off our shoes before entering the guest house, but despite being the only guests in the guest house, the floors were not that clean (and it showed on my white socks)--usually when a guest house required guests to take off their shoes, the floors would be cleaned at least once daily, if not more frequently.

While the beach was nice and across from the guest house past some trees, the location was not convenient. There were several restaurants next door and along the road, but aside from that there was little--to get to a store to buy water would require a 10 to 15-minute walk. We felt a bit stranded as getting to anywhere such as Krabi town would have involved a good effort.

Also, wi-fi did not work, so we were told to connect to the one from the pub next door, which was available only when the pub was open.

We were looking for a place to stay for several days, but the room just did not offer adequate comfort or convenience, and was definitely not worth the rate we were charged, so we promptly checked out after 1 night.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank concorde20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

It was the best accomodation during our 17 days stay in Thailand.
We spend there 6 days. Why Klong Muang is the best plece to stay in Krabi, near AoNang ( awful city and beach) ? 1. It was the only pleace from Aonang to Railay Beach with Seview 2.Beach was as close from the guest house as in much more expensive hotels 3. Location was excellent - each day we rent motorbike to visit other part of Krabi. Location is not comercial as AoNang, the area seems to be real thailand: people, bamboo homes, low prices.
We will highly reccomend this guest house to our friends.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocbaroc_PL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

If you are looking for a budget accommodation that is very clean and very friendly, then this is the place for you. It is very close to many places and you can also rent a scooter for about $7-8/day to go exploring. Su(Carl's wife who runs the place), is SO sweet and is determined for you to have an excellent stay. Carl also offers good advice where to go exploring in the area. Don't be afraid to rent a scooter, we got the hang of it in no time and the traffic was not an issue.
The rooms are basic, but do have a mini frig, a/c, and TV. The bathroom is European style. I would suggest that you pay a little extra and do the sea view rooms(beach is actually across the street). We stayed in the one closest to the pub next door and the Wi-Fi from the pub worked great in our room.
The breakfast every morning was excellent and filling. The food at night in their restaurant was very good and for a good price.

Also, like one of the other reviews, they will pick you up at the airport for a cheap price. Also, they can arrange any tours for you for you. We did our touring of Krabi on our own via our scooter, but had Su arrange our transfer to Phi Phi via Minibus&Ferry.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BILLJ_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

If you are looking for a place that is not crowded with mass tourism, loud music and cheap shops then this is the perfect place. The owner and his wife provide you with a warm Thai smile and great service. For a small fee they pick you up from the airport and they also serve great food for a really good price. We looked for a quiet holiday away from the busy Ao Nang beach and found it here. We could not have wished for a better place to stay, a beach for yourself but still close to all the attractions which they can arrange for you.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetravellingdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I was walking around with a backpack trying to find a cheap place to stay during this off season. Hot and sweaty, I finally stopped to just ask for a recommendation. Sue was very helpful and made me an offer I had to take. This was the most well appointed room I stayed in the whole of my Thailand trip.

WiFi was available from next door. The owners were very helpful. The sandy beach was just a short distance away.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiker60Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Vacation House
Vacation House
#70 of 311 in Krabi Town
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Klong Muang Dream House
Klong Muang Dream House
#1 of 7 in Nong Thale
11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Isle Beach Resort
Isle Beach Resort
#138 of 328 in Krabi Town
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bann Chom le
Bann Chom le
#66 of 328 in Krabi Town
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bliss Resort Krabi
Bliss Resort Krabi
#14 of 311 in Krabi Town
123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Krabi Bay House
Krabi Bay House
#3 of 7 in Nong Thale
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klong Muang Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klong Muang Sunset Hotel

Address: 119 Moo. 3 T. Nongtalay M. Krabi | Klong Muang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 311 B&Bs / Inns in Krabi Town
Price Range: £10 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Klong Muang Sunset Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our pleasure to invite you to discover one of the last unspoiled beach areas in Thailand, an area much less crowded and noisy than Samui or Phuket. The beach is right outside your window along with the amazing sunsets and scenery of Phangna Bay we are famous for. Inside, bask in the comfort of our newly redecorated rooms, each with air conditioning, sat TV, hot showers, fridge, transport from airport and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Klong Muang Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klong Muang Sunset Hotel Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing