We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay in Krabi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tha Lane Bay Villas
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good stay in Krabi”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at the big villa for 4 nights in April.
Overall we had a great stay and the villa was great.

Here are my negative comments:
• We were quoted an airport transfer cost of 1,000 bht in email. However the driver picked all 6 of us up in a giant 12 passenger bus. And then they asked for 1,200 bht.
• Despite having clearly communicated the times we desired dinner/lunch to be served, several times it was served much later. That doesn’t really work when you have hungry children and have already made plans revolving around the meal time. It’s a bit nit-picky, but we’re paying for a high level of service here.
• The shower in the bathroom off room one had a significant amount of black mold growing in it, especially on the ceiling. Unacceptable.
• I think the large villa could use with being shut down for a week for maintenance. The large bathrooms are overdue for deep cleaning and repair. The kitchen cupboards are in sad shape. The outside table has been beaten up and needs to be replaced. The aircon in the southern master bedroom didn’t really keep up.
• We were very much looking forward to the seafood bbq, and it was one of the points that sold us on this villa. It was completely terrible. It was hands down the worst meal we ate in Thailand.
• There appeared to be some sound system for the villa and pool area. It seemed like it was from the 90s. There were no instructions and no cables or ports that I could see to use it, much less hook up an ipod or something.
• The beds could be described as soft planks of wood. They were very hard.

Here are some general comments:
• We stayed 4 nights instead of 5, so we had to pay for our own airport transfer and the boat out to the private islands. It would have nearly paid for itself to stay the extra night and get those included. Not the villa’s fault of course.
• The level of English spoken by the staff varies, in the end we were able to get everything we asked, but sometimes we had to be persistent that they understood. Questions like, “What time will the taxi be here?” were answered with “Yes.” Writing seemed to help.
• It was very warm in April. The evenings are cool and you can comfortably sit outside and watch the sunset and no sweat too much. But the pool water was so warm it wasn’t really refreshing. It was hot. Bring more sunblock then you think you need. The pool is in the sun all day long.
• We asked beforehand that our driver take us to a grocery store on the way to the villa. That was a good move. We purchased some snack stuff which was nice to have on hand. Beer and wine was cheaper that way as well. We bought some fruit, and that was a waste since they have it super cheap at the resort. We also bought a bunch of water bottles. The villa has a giant filtered water dispenser. So we didn’t extra water.
• Most of the dishes on the villa menu are thai(duh!) or involve some kind of seafood. I enjoyed everything almost everything I tried. My mother in-law doesn’t do seafood or spicy, and I felt bad for her. I asked them to grill her some chicken along with our seafood bbq one night and they did accommodate the request. There were some veg entrees available.
• The village is a good 40 minute ride from town.
• A small tip of a couple hundred baht seems to be well received everywhere.

Here are my positive comments:
• The management was very responsive to my emails, but I had to ask several times to get every question answered.
• We only needed 3 bedrooms and got a discount for not using the 4th.
• The management arranged the airport transfer for us. All the busses/vans we took were lovely, and the drivers were kind and helpful. They also pre-arranged for a taxi to take us to meet up with a diving company the morning after we arrived. One evening the a driver took us into town and hung around to take us back after we finished shopping and eating.
• The management also arranged a kayak trip for us at Discover Krabi and it was fantastic. I highly recommend it. They took care of all the details for us. It was shockingly cheap as well.
• With the exception of the seafood BBQ, all the food was very good. Prices were acceptable on food and drink.
• Breakfasts are included with stays at the villa and entails eggs cooked however you like, a chicken sausage or deli slice of meat, various bread products and fruit. Oatmeal, yogurt, etc also available.
• The staff was very kind, helpful and friendly. Especially Da.
• When asked to cook some special chicken for my non-seafood eating mother in-law, the staff happily did so.
• The private islands are very cool and worth the effort. The longtail boat picks you up in front of your villa. The boat takes you around a large island so you can see it in detail, than takes you to a tiny beach to hang out. We went to both islands and they were really neat. Not much in the way of snorkeling, but there was some stuff. There are no lounge chairs, bathrooms, electricity or anything at all manmade on the islands. The resort thoughtfully packed us a bag of waters to take. The beaches are shaded in the late mornings. A lone monkey lives on the second island. Although the beach off the resort is not at all good for swimming, the beaches off the two islands are just fine and the water was nice.
• The villa is situated perfectly for eating outside and enjoying the sunsets. The way this villa wraps around the pool, plus the large deck umbrellas provide enough shade from the hot afternoon sun.

Overall we had a good stay and Krabi was better than expected. We would stay here again, but because of the remoteness of the property, and the expense, we probably won’t.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThePelikans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propriétaire at Tha Lane Bay Villas, responded to this review, 11 January 2016
Many thanks for your review. We really appreciate when our customers take time to encourage people to visit us.

Hope to see you again.
Best regards.
Francis COUPUT
The owner of Thalanebayvilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    8
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing 5 day stay in Villa Chubba. It was a perfect place to chill out and unwind. This was a return visit to the Krabi/Ao Nang area and we really enjoyed this calmer Thai experience. The villas are off the beaten track but not too remote. We hired a car to see the sites but transport to Ao Nang was available for shopping or dinner trips. We chose to dine in the villa each night and loved the personal service of the staff. Food and cocktails were yummy and reasonably priced. The staff were fabulous, nothing was too much trouble. The villa and grounds were spotless and beautiful If you want to get away from it all and still enjoy modern luxuries this is the place for you!!!!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Legana_crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propriétaire at Tha Lane Bay Villas, responded to this review, 11 January 2016
I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable vacacion in our resort. Thank you for your review.
Hope to see hear from you again.

Francis COUPUT
The owner of Thalanebayvilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We recently rented Villa Bua for a 4 day stay. it was a fantastic and relaxing vacation. The staff were extremely courteous and efficient. The breakfast was great and the staff were helpful in shuttling us to the nearby beach that was absolutely marvellous. The Bay view from the villa is also very nice. The living quarters were immaculate and the villa has all facilities for a very comfortable stay.

Although the villa is somewhat remote, it is an ideal place to rest, relax and recharge. Sandy and her crew were a pleasure to interact with and we much enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pxn121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propriétaire at Tha Lane Bay Villas, responded to this review, 11 January 2016
We are happy that you enjoyeds your stay. Especially for the situation of the resort in a magical bay.
Thank you also for the rewiew about the staff.

Best regards
Francis COUPUT
Owner of the villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The villa staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful, the food was nice. We stayed in the 2 bed villa which was very clean and well appointed. The villa is very remote - we needed to get a (pretty pricey) taxi to go out for food or shopping but for a 2-3 day break this would not be a problem. From the pictures we expected a swimming pool but it was actually more of a plunge pool, this was the only slight disappointment. Take some books and this is a good spot for complete and total relaxation for a few days.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propriétaire at Tha Lane Bay Villas, responded to this review, 11 January 2016
We appreciate your comments and thank you for publishing this notice.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the calm of our location and our team.
Hope to see you another time.
Best regards
Francis COUPUT
Owner of the Thalanebayvilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

ThaLane Bay Village - Villa Bua
- A secluded, tranquil resort by the bay, with spectacular, mesmerizing views and luxurious amenities! Resort staff are all friendly and helpful and their services excellent indeed!
- 5stars for its luxury, tranquility, service and value; 4stars overall.

In late Jan, our family of 6 including a 3-month old baby spent 4 fabulous nights in its large Villa-Bua, which is one of the 4 villas, all well hidden in this secluded paradise, known as ThaLane Bay Village! We enjoyed its tranquility; the pampering in luxury and
and superb service; had loads of fun in our excursions, too.

OUR WONDERFUL EXPERIENCES:

Our villa has 2 spacious master suites and a 3rd bedroom (no bathroom, though) in the charming attic! All rooms have spectacular views of our private pool outside of our rooms, a charming pond right below it, and the beautiful bay only less than 50yards beyond! Our villa also comes with a large living room, fully equipped kitchen; a gorgeous private pool and a covered sala (pavilion) by the pool-just a few steps outside of the rooms! The villa has a laptop and free WiFi. There are a few more pleasant surprises in the bedroom suites, too!
- The luxury and tranquility of the villa and its surroundings are beyond my ability to describe, one needs to personally experience it!

Daily FULL breakfast is included and served in your own villa! For any other meals, snacks or drinks, one can simply order off the resort menu. The resort staff will bring in the orders, set up the table either in the dining area or in your own spacious, beautifully appointed sala by the private pool, and they'll clean up afterwards! The menu selection is quite extensive, with comparable prices to outside mid-scale restaurants! If you want to learn how to cook Thai cuisine, they'll let you in the resort kitchen to observe and "help"! Our son and daughter did that and learned something!

EXCURSIONS/ATTRACTIONS
- There are several excursions available. We enjoyed our leisure Longtail boatride (~2000B/day); the Speedboat ride (~8000/day) among the nearby incredible boulders/isles and gorgeous beaches. We also hired a resort van with driver and had fun at several atteactions.
- Yes, for 1200-1600B, the resort will provide a nice van with a driver for an entire day to take you to various attractions such as:
(a) Bangkram Wildlife Sanctuary in Khao Pra ($90B admission, with natural pools, waterfalls, woods and nature trails); the Hot Stream Waterfall Park (natural spa) in Ban Bang Khram in Khlong Thom.

(b) Interesting Krabi Night Market; the magnificent Ao-Nang Beach, and its famous night market in town.

ADDITIONAL NOTES - possibly useful:

1. ThaLane Bay has smaller villas at lower prices, too.
- Actually, even in a large villa, if you don't use one of the rooms, the price could be reduced.

2. From the Krabi airport, it takes ~45min car ride. It's recommended that you make prior arrangement with the resort for convenient pickup. (~1200baht per car)

- BTW: On the way from the airport, the driver can stop at a supermarket to pick up food/drink items for your kitchen, if desired.

3. Only the mgr and one other staff member can speak English. The drivers for the resort-van speak very little English. If you hire a van, do make the mgr to assure you that your driver clearly understands YOUR EXACT PLANS prior to leaving the resort (with the place and time schedule written down in both Eng and Thai on a piece of paper, if necessary).

4. Being in a secluded paradise, there is nothing in the vicinity outside of the resort other than a freeway and some local villages, well, except for a restauran-bar (Khao Thong Terrace) just
a few yards from the resort entrance.
- To us, it's perfect for relaxation in luxury and tranquility here! But, if you want excitements and sight-seeing, you can always book excursions through the resort.

5. There's no beach in this resort (- though every villa has its own pool, and the view of the bay is spectacular!) The boat rides can take you to gorgeous beaches.

6. Understandably, being in an isolated country side by the bay, there would be some bugs inside the villa.
- They do need to exterminate more frequently and thoroughly.

7. Breakfast is included. For other meals/snacks, if you don't want to cook, you can always order delicious Thai cuisine from the resort kitchen. The prices are comparable to most in town restaurants (~180+ Baht per dish).

8. You can make massage appointments with the maseur coming to your villa, at very reasonable prices! My wife and kids all enjoyed that.

We all had a great time here! You'll, too!

Peterskis3, Jan 2013
---

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peterskis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propriétaire at Tha Lane Bay Villas, responded to this review, 11 January 2016
I really do appreciate you take time to make a review. It is great to hear that you found our location suitable and that you enjoy the hollidays in our resort.
Thank you for sharing your experience and recommending us to the Tripadvior users
Hope to see you again in Thalanebayvilla.

Francis COUPUT
The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Khaothong Terrace Resort
Khaothong Terrace Resort
#3 of 5 in Khao Thong
25 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Thalanena
Villa Thalanena
#91 of 301 in Krabi Town
25 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Nature Home Krabi
The Nature Home Krabi
#3 of 4 in Khao Thong
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kaleane Villas
Kaleane Villas
#4 of 5 in Khao Thong
26 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bananas Bungalows
Bananas Bungalows
#1 of 5 in Khao Thong
152 reviews
1.9 mi away
Thalane Palm Paradise Resort
Thalane Palm Paradise Resort
#4 of 4 in Khao Thong
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tha Lane Bay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tha Lane Bay Villas

Property: Tha Lane Bay Villas
Address: 212/3 Moo 2, Tha Lane Bay | Khao Thong Subdistrict, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand (Formerly Tha Lane Bay Village)
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 301 Speciality Lodging in Krabi Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tha Lane Bay Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tha Lane Bay Villas Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing