We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded place near the airport”

Palm Driving Range & Resort
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Driving Range & Resort
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Secluded place near the airport”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The stay was a mixed bag. I chose this place as it was near the airport and I just wanted a place to spend my layover in Krabi.

PROS:
Near the airport
Calm and quite place
The owner dropped us to the nearest public transport point and the airport
Food is kind of OK
Rooms are big, much bigger than what you pay for.

CONS:
I was hounded by the stray dogs. The dogs are a part of the resort. This was pretty scary. I was confined to my room and was scared to go out.
Secluded, not a place to go if you don't want to play golf. Nothing else to do. TV just shows Thai channels.
Nothing nearby, the closest public transport point is 2-3 KM away. Hence you are dependent on the owner to drop you to that point.
The staff in the restaurant doesn’t understand English. I relied on Google to speak Thai for me.

My ratings are towards lenient side as my requirement was of something close to the airport. I won't recommend this property on any other marker.

Room Tip: All the rooms are same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mudit_Krishna_Mathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    5
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is the first time I have been duped by reviews on trip advisor. This is the furtherest thing from a resort you can imagine. Firstly I was looking for a place close to the airport as I had an early flight. According to their website the 'resort' is AT the airport which was perfect. However when I got there the hotel was 3 kms away and it would cost me a 200B taxi to get to the airport. (this taxi ended up being the managers son) This place is just a few rooms in a field in the middle of no where. If you have no car or bike you are stranded. Their website also said there is mini golf...but alas no. An information desk is just a few leaflets and their shop is a fridge with some drinks. Only other guest was put in the room next to mine and I could hear him snoring all night through the paper thin walls. AVOID.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Phantom1980678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Me and 4 friends were originally going to stay here for 2 days but ended up staying for 5 as it was just so nice. It is a family run business, run by an extremely nice family who go out their way to help! The mother speaks incredibly good English, and the rest of the family speak good English also! It's Clean, well priced and over-looks an amazing driving range!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

After two months traveling in Thailand, before our flight to Bangkok and back home, we spent one night in Krabi. Palm Driving Range and Resort was a little escape from the usual Thay atmosphere, very quiet and clean place. And it is 5-10 minutes away from the airport. I highly recommend it! It is also easy to find, just ask the taxi driver for the Tesko near the airport:)

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zhenya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Wonderful place with a perfect service, location and kitchen for a good price!
The morning views are wonderful, also I admired there cary with beef!
I was in the hotel alone only for one night, but It's the place where I'd like to return with a girlfriend for few days, to play golf, to enjoy nature, food and silence.

P.s. By the way, the hotel is located very close to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorjik99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
421 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Run by a family whose son is a golf instructor. He willingly gives golfing tips every night to all guests who wish to hit some balls on the driving range.

The rooms are very large as are the bathrooms. This place is clean and you feel safe here.

If you do decide to stay it is best to rent a car or motorcycle as places of interest are a quite a way away.

They rent out motorbikes for 200baht per day. The mother teaches English, make sure to catch her in the evening to ask her your questions as the staff in the day speak no English.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ivana-banana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zabul, AF
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I LOVE Krabi Province for its beauty and the many things you can do here, and I have returned many a time to visit. The one thing that has always disappointed me during my visits is the lack of decent accommodation. The Palm Driving Range Resort is a new establishment that is operated by a lovely Thai family. The rooms are very clean and well appointed, and the family really bent over backwards to ensure that I was comfortable during my stay. This resort is unique because its main attraction is a golf driving range, which the rooms all overlook. You can literally step out of your room onto the patio and drive a few balls whenever you desire. The hotel also features a great restaurant that sits on the shore of a pond with giant fish.

The hotel is set away from the chaos of Ao Nang and is close and convenient to the airport and Wat Tham Sua - an absolute MUST SEE temple (with wild MONKEYS!!) situated atop a limestone karst that you have to climb 1,400 steps to get to. Krabi Town is just a short drive away. The hotel can also help organize tours to the numerous other things to see and do in the area. This is a great base from which to explore beautiful Krabi and I will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean and comfortable and overlook the resort's driving range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Krabi Town
6.5 mi away
Palmari Boutique Hotel
Palmari Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Nuea Khlong
72 reviews
2.0 mi away
RC Guest House
RC Guest House
#185 of 310 in Krabi Town
2 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kohjum Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Thip Residence Boutique Hotel
12.1 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,775 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Driving Range & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Driving Range & Resort

Property: Palm Driving Range & Resort
Address: 243 Moo 2, Krabi Town, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 310 Speciality Lodging in Krabi Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Palm Driving Range & Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palm Driving Range & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Driving Range & Resort Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing