We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location in the jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dream Valley Resort
Ranked #117 of 182 Hotels in Krabi Town
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quiet location in the jungle”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed here for two weeks in November. We went for the budget bungalow accommodation up the hill in the jungle instead of the nicer, expensive poolside rooms. The room was decent with an outdoor bathroom, cold water shower with good pressure. Every four days they would clean the room. If you need anything in the mean time you can just ask the reception. The pool was great if you didn't feel like heading down to the beach, which is about a 10 minute walk. You can choose to pay extra for the breakfast buffet, which we opted not to do. Right across from the resort is the Small World Bar, which is a great place to chill out at night. The restaurant at Dream Valley was pretty good! Each night they had a BBQ where you could choose your meat/veggies and an unlimited salad bar with nice options. Also, this resort was nice because they only cut the power off for two hours a day instead of the whole day. No wifi. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    42
    36
    18
    15
See reviews for
8
58
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Be very careful when booking this place. It might become dangerous. Using their close-to-monopoly position on TonSai (being one of two places in the bay that can boast hot shower), the owners raised their room prices sky-high and management skills and attitude fails to even approach the industry standard. Room prices are 1,5 - 2 times higher than they cost (even keeping in mind they use petrol generators for electricity).

Toilet waste from all the TonSai hotels and guest houses end up on the beach and in the sea, so we would advice you against swimming there. Also all our friends who lived on TonSai suffered from a really nasty stomach virus.
All the electricity is generated by gasoline generators, which are turned off to conserve fuel, so all the refrigerated goods are spoiled, which doesn't stop the stuff from feeding it to the guests. All fruit plates re left uncovered for the flies to feast on.

The hotel manager, named Praphang, total disgrace to his profession, a mentally unstable and nervous type, behaves rudely to guests, shakes in anger, raises voice to high pitch all the time, which looks scary. It seems he's on drugs or hormones all the time, apart from being uncomfortable to be male and hating al women. All the questions to him have one answer “you don't like - you check out now”.
Without shame he hits a hotel guest in the face, a girl two times smaller than himself, in front of her family and friends, knowing that hotel owner and police will cover him against any farang.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cybersonkina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Krabi Town hotels

Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Disgrace for the hotel. The front desk manager yelled at my friend and punched my other friend in the face, a girl twice smaller than himself. Unbelievable he's still working there. When me and my friends came to police, he invented his own story of what happened and delivered it to the owners of the hotel in Thai, refusing to speak English, so we couldn't understand him, having himself covered up. No wonder they kept him. We had to spend 6 hours in Krabi (police, hospital and then police again) and still didn't get any apologies. So my friends had to move from the hotel to Ao Nang, without any refund.

The pool view rooms are pretty good, but room service's the worse I've experienced. For that sum of money (3900 baht per night) rooms should be cleaned every day without asking. The breakfast is decent, the 2-level pool's really great, but the descent from the higher level to the lower one to the left is extremely sketchy. No sign saying "beware, no stairs". You just don't see there's nothing underneath when you pass the pool. Risk of breaking one's leg or neck. The management has to fix that, otherwise looking for some injuries among customers.

On the whole, I wouldn't recommend staying in Dream Valley. And it's such a pity, because the hotel itself is really enjoyable, but truly horribly managed. Oh, and yes, they do lie about it's topography: the hotel's in Ton Sai, not in Railay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksenia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked this hotel as the details were that is was near Ao Nang and Krabi and seemed good value. What wasn't advised in the details about the hotel was that it is in a bay that is only accessible by longtail boat. These leave Ao Nang when they have eight people on board and you have to carry your suitcases in the sea to load them. This would be fine if we knew in advance! We had to leave a day early as the boats are not reliable as to leaving times and we had a plane to catch the final day.
All that aside, the hotel was lovely. we had booked superior rooms (recommended) and we could not fault the room, views or service.
The bay (Tonsai) is geared for backpackers and climbers but a lovely place to unwind.

Room Tip: Superior for aircon and luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiggywinkle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We looked at a lot of resorts/bungalows in Tonsai before deciding to stay here. The bungalows cost a little more than elsewhere, but for a little extra cost you get a much nicer, newer & bigger bungalow, with mosquito nets, set amidst cute gardens, with a deliciously cool swimming pool with cliff views from the sun loungers, AND a buffet breakfast with a good selection of food options. Totally worth the extra 500 BHT p/n over the cheaper 'resorts'.
It's set near enough to the beach/restaurants/climbing etc, but far enough away to remain quiet & secluded.
I'd definitely stay here again when I go back to Tonsai.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cloudy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

basic and pricey room. The stuff treat us very poor. there is no free internet. Hotel is in tonsai not raillay. The front desk stuff not smile once. worst service in any hotel i stayed. There is no power between 1-3 pm. (most hotel has no power during the day even at peak season). Very basic room for what we paid for. Horrible service ever .... The pool is really nice and beautiful. best place for breakfast in Tonsai. (3 bar per mins for internet use outside the hotel run by the hotel) Don't go unless you can put up with the stuff attitude

Room Tip: good pool and decent breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yem27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Our bungalow had peeling paint, mold and ratty curtains. If we had maid service maybe we wouldn't of had so many bugs (ants, slugs and the largest centipede I've ever seen). The pool and restaurant was great. The newer rooms with pool view looked nice but were double the price. We really appreciated the beach greeting.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GoGoGal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
764 reviews
0.7 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#3 of 13 in Railay Beach
869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tonsai Bay Resort
Tonsai Bay Resort
#92 of 182 in Krabi Town
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chill Out Bar & Bungalow
Chill Out Bar & Bungalow
#2 of 4 in Railay Beach
81 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anyavee Railay Resort
Anyavee Railay Resort
#11 of 13 in Railay Beach
360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Railay Princess Resort and Spa
Railay Princess Resort and Spa
#6 of 13 in Railay Beach
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Valley Resort

Property: Dream Valley Resort
Address: 43 Moo 2, Tonsai Beach | Ao Nang Subdistrict, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Krabi Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dream Valley Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dream Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Valley Hotel Krabi Town
Dream Valley Resort Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing