We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey”
Review of Tonsai Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tonsai Bay Resort
Ranked #87 of 185 Hotels in Krabi Town
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Overpriced. Rooms were very average. Maid service was poor. Stayed in many a resort in Thailand and found this one to be poor value. Avertizes Wifi, it is very spotty. I'm not saying it is a bad resort, just not good value in our opinion. The bay itself is beautiful. Rooms can be aways from the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HEDZER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

This resort consists of a bunch of really cute bungalows. The entrance is right on the beach and even the furthest back bungalow is only a few minute walk from beachfront. Accommodations were nice and very clean. Decent restaurant right on the beach that overlooks the water. Reception seemed to lack interest in helping/talking to anyone...that was the only real downside. Tonsai is a cool beach...feels pretty deserted and personal. It has a definite hippie vibe and a row of chill bars. The beach is rocky so it's not really suitable for swimming but Railay is just a quick stroll away and that beach is wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights, last March 2014. From the start it seemed that everything is not okey with this resort! The receptionist didn't show any interest and the staff in generally was unhappy and avoided any contact to us. Only smily person was a guy who worked at the restaurant. The worst was the couple who seemed to manage this place. The lady was sleeping while she was seated at the breakfast ( behind the desk) and was showing angry faces all the time. Very scary! The man, who seemed to be the other owner was not nicer. He got very angry when we kindly asked if it would be possible to get some toilet tissue to our room. Well, we never got it. Funniest thing was that when we said that we are leaving the next day, the manager just sayed that: leave at noon..Oh my, this was truly an extreme experience, and would wreck your joyful feelings easily.

Just wanted to write some information from our experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teemu_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

After your cab drive from the airport, you have to take a longboat to Tonsai Bay. We had to wade through the water carrying backpacks with no help from the boatman.Upon arriving at Tonsai we were treated like a huge inconvenience. I had asked for a cot on BOOKING.COM and he had no record of it and told us my daughter could sleep on the floor. He said "no free breakfast" for her. The bungalows were pretty cool. Set up a dirt path set back in the hills with a front porch. Relatively clean but no lights in the bathroom. We reported it twice but it was never resolved so we showered by cell phone light. We did have a family of monkeys living above us so they were really cool to observe on the porch (BRING bugspray) . Although they did make a lot of noise jumping from roof to roof it was fun to watch them. Saturday night the local bars on the beach come alive with music and dancing. Great staff at the bar but be sure you know how know the prices as they upped the price a few times before we caught it. The beach is not as nice as Railey but you can wade through the water at low tide to go to Railey west. Long boats are available for your return but be sure to negotiate a price. It helps if you speak a bit of thai. I would go back here and stay longer to get into the relaxing island mode. Beautiful place.

Room Tip: Some bungalows are set way back so bring good walking shoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LorraineAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

A million miles away from the 'Riley experience', this place has it all: stunning rooms, one of the best restaurants in the village (located next to 'Muscle Beach' where rock climbers go about their business right next to the swimmers), their open air bar with wooden chill out platforms and very helpful and efficient staff. Right at the end of the small bay, the sunset views are beautiful, while you can catch the occasional base jumper flying over your head around 5pm in the evening. Excellent for a longer stay or a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariozM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

What a disappointment! Absolutly no value for money at all. It started at check in. The receptionist didn't show any interest in his job whatsover and during the whole check in procedure, which took about half an hour, he was playing poker on his phone. When I asked him what we where waiting for he just looked at me and continued playing. The bungalow we stayed in looked nice from the outside and was beautifully located. The inside however was very dated and poorly cleaned. There where mold spots on the wall in the bathroom and bedroom and the faucet and one of the lamps was broken. Then we got kicked out of the room at noon , while it stated on booking.com that checkout is at 13h. We payed quite a lot of money for this compared to the rest of the hotels we stayed in in thailand and the where all much better.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Remco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

A good resort with very basic amenities. The location is stunning with the bungalows overlooking the cliffs. Very close to the beach and probably the best resort in that beach. Breakfast was decent. But there are quite a few downhills to these, this is not located in Railay, but in the bay along Railay. You would have to take a log tail boat each time you would like to go anywhere else. It is 50 THB to Railay and 100 THB to Aonang on daytime. You could access Railay on foot whenever there is a low tide. And again one of the better restaurants in that area.

Overall a decent place if you would like to solitude and a great ambiance and if you dont mind shelling out few Baht to go up and down.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madhu_Nagarajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#5 of 12 in Railay Beach
942 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#3 of 12 in Railay Beach
824 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dream Valley Resort
Dream Valley Resort
#115 of 185 in Krabi Town
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Krabi Tropical Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#7 of 12 in Railay Beach
2,189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anyavee Railay Resort
Anyavee Railay Resort
#9 of 12 in Railay Beach
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonsai Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonsai Bay Resort

Address: 18 Moo 2 | Tonsai Bay, Next to Railay Bay, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Krabi Town
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Krabi Town
Price Range: £31 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonsai Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TONSAIBAY RESORT is located on beautiful Tonsai Bay beside Railay beach, Krabi. Our resort is set in the lush greenery geography with peaceful atmosphere and the world wide well known rock climbing cliff on the backdrop. It takes just two minutes walk away from Tonsai Beach, a swath of white sand that fringes the crystal clear water of Andaman Sea, to get to our beautifully appointed guestrooms which have been designed with the comfort and relaxation in mind. We offer 72 air conditioned rooms including Deluxe Villa, Superior Villa Deluxe room and Superior Room which open on to the rain-forest jungle while having the stunning of rock climbing cliff on the backdrop. Our resort's restaurant reside on the beach front of Tonsai bay offers various tasty both International and Thai food. Here you could enjoy the delicious cuisine while getting a pleasure from fabulous scenery of the ocean or watch rock climbing activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tonsai Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonsai Bay Hotel Krabi Town
Tonsai Bay Resort Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing