We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the rough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Bayou Bungalow
Ranked #104 of 311 Krabi Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed here in 2010 and looked forward to staying here again for our trip in 2012 (along with our 1.5 year old). Location location. Even though they do not have an email address, so you cannot book over the net, we found a phone number and booked from home before we left. We have never felt compelled to write a review until now. The rooms are simple but for the price (800 baht) they are awesome. Has a restaurant out the front with both Thai and western dishes, prices from 80-250 baht. Great place to see phi phi and surrounding islands from and if you can be here for Thai new year, you will not be dissappointed. Quieter and cheaper all round than Phuket. The staff of Blue Bayou are really helpful and make you feel very welcome with kids in tow. Very close to Krabi airport so makes it an easy place to stop at while travelling.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adznky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Blue Bayou Bungalow
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

One stop shopping! Rent a bike, bungalow, book a trip and eat very good Thai food at an extremely reasonable price for a restaurant opposite Nopparathara Beach

Always service with a smile here. The owner is very attentive to her guests offering advice for travel, trips etc

Bungalows are set back from the beach road and ar either fan or aircon. Prices vary according to the season.

Room Tip: Bungalows right at the back will be quieter as regard any traffic
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndyaonang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Blue Bayou, the bungalow was the best we stayed at in Thailand. We found out about it from the ferry port which meant that we ended up paying more than we'd have liked to, if you goo there on your own you'll be a good 200 baht less per night. Our bungalow was fully fitted with TV, fridge, Air-con and a nice clean bathrooom. The location is set just outside of the main tourist area in Ao Nang but an easy trip into the town and there's plenty to do in the area. (Definitely go to Railey & do the mangroves kayaking tour). Ao Nang has some brilliant restaurants too. Loved our time in Krabi and loved staying in Blue Bayou.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Seanspacifica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

One of the few affordable accommodation options in the area.
We stayed several nights during off peak season and got a good room rate for a/c, fridge, TV, private bathroom (600 baht!). The staff were friendly and efficient, they organised tours at the cheapest rates without being pushy (we got several quotes elsewhere!) and the restaurant was OK too. I liked the fact that it was on the more authentic Nopparat Thara beach but still close enough to walk to Ao Nang and the abundance of restaurants there (although there are also a couple of nice little eateries in the other direction). If I were to return to Krabi (which I don't think I would given the development & inflation over the last decade) I would probably choose these bungalows, especially if I were watching my pennies.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stinaandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

I think everything with the place was so good that it was a lot of more than i was expected when we arrived there the first time.¨
The stuff is so familliar and friendly and its very nice and clean bungalows with good price and its o lot of space in the bungalow.
But i think the service you can get there is one of the best i have got in my life!
They tooked care of me and my girlfriend from the start and they really want to help you if you wonder something.
Its just to go to the resturant and talk with the boss.
And they are not only thinking about sell things, i can promise you that.
Stay and try too talk with them and you will se and the food at the resturant is so good.
You can eat breakfast and international food there as well as asian food.
Its felt like my home in Thailand!
I can say i doesnt like Ao Nang center its just for the island outside and the Blue Ba You is the reason that i will be coming back here many times in the future:)
Blue Ba You its a little bit outside of Ao Nang center (500m) and its more calm here not so busy but you have everything you need here around like two food store, hippies bar(live band bar) luna bar ( dance bar) , many thai massage places and many resturants.
Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carl_holeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2008

We were fortunate to have had 1 year in Thailand, and luckily found Nopparatt Thara early in our travels.We stayed for several months at The Blue ba You, as we were so well looked after and catered for. The owner Kieb is an exceptional woman, and is a wonderful cook. Her lovely staff also made us feel part of there family. We will never forget our stay, and long to return. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Paldorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2007

This is a great place to stay and caters for budget travellers right through to those of us who need the luxuries of life...like friendly efficient room cleaning daily, television, a fridge for our gin and tonic and a HUGE bathroom. Situated around a well tended, pretty garden, with a hugely popular restaurant, the resort is just opposite the wide beach of Hat Nopporat Thara. Friendly staff, tours organised at no extra cost and great rates...we loved it!

6  Thank krabikrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,848 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,505 reviews
0.0 mi away
Islanda Hideaway Resort
Islanda Hideaway Resort
#1 of 1 in Khlong Prasong
281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#8 of 13 in Railay Beach
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bayou Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bayou Bungalow

Address: 79 Mu 3 | T.Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 311 B&Bs / Inns in Krabi Town
Price Range: £9 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Bayou Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bayou Bungalow Hotel Krabi Town
Blue Bayou Bungalow Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing