We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a must to see sight”

Emerald Pool (Sa Morakot)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$66.68*
and up
Full-day Krabi Hot Stream and Rainforest Tour
Ranked #16 of 98 things to do in Krabi Town
Attraction details
Perth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not a must to see sight”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We were staying in a resort in Krabi and it took over 2hrs to get to the Emerald pool. We didn't realize it was a Sunday so the place was filled with people,mostly locals. The pool is slippery and small. There's a long walk to get to the Blue Pool, the cement path ends about 200m from the Blue Pool and you have to walk though jungle to get to it.
The Blue pool is good to see, no swimming allowed and if you clap you get to see bubbles rising to the surface.
I would only go here if you have too many days in Krabi, we only had 4days and I feel I wasted my day going here. It took us all day to get there, look around, come back. My family wasn't impressed much.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Razmatazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    453
    250
    81
    58
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Paderborn, Germany
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hmmmm....”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Lovely colour pool but very busy and very slippery to get into and out of. We did as part of a package but I wouldn't waste my money going specifically to see it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samuilover2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puchong, Malaysia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful natural clear pool”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The pool is located in a National Park. Foreigners are charged 200 baht and 100 baht (adult and children, respectively) while locals pay far less.
The most direct route is via a wide mud track for 700m. However, there is a scenic, cement-paved pedestrian track that follows the course of the stream that flows through and from the Emerald pool. This 1400m route is shaded and you get to pass through a bird-watching tower and the Crystal Pool (no swimming possible).
The Emerald pool is accessible to swimmers.
The authorities constructed a raised cement pathway that leads further upstream to the Blue Pool. The path is quite long, exposed to the hot sun at places and terminates "200m" from the actual pool. From there, you have to track through a muddy path to reach the surreal-looking pool.
The sign board says swimming is prohibited because the pool is deceptively deeper than it looks and the mud can "suck" you in. Some brave swimmers usually jump in - they say the blue base of the pool has a weird texture - but they don't swim long because of the cold temperature and the fact that you have to continuously tread water to stay afloat - there is hardly any area to cling on to at the sides.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“still worth seeing it”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Thai people seem to use it as a public pool, so you shouldn't go there during weekend and don't expect to be there on your own.
From the parking lot it's a about 15min of easy walking there (or you can take a longer and nicer way).
Definitely go to blue pool (even though at the end it's a muddy way through the jungle), it's not just worth it, you otherwise would miss something amazing. You can't swim in it as it's too dangerous, but the water is crystal clear and if you clap your hands you can see the water coming up faster (for what reason ever).

Good to know: the hot springs waterfall is just a 15min car ride away, you should do both at the same day

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank backpacker123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice to see while you are in Krabi”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This place is quite beautiful, but for the trip I wouldn't have said we were in awe of the place. We went when it was raining which in hindsight was sort of a good thing because there was NO-ONE there when we got there which was perfect. We were able to swim alone for maybe 20 minutes until a tour group came. It's worth seeing but I wouldn't beat yourself up over it if you missed it. Oh, and I should probably add we got into a minor car accident on the way there - wasn't too bad, a truck collided with us at the petrol station so that delayed our trip quite a bit. This has nothing to do with the Emerald Pool but it's just a reminder to traveller's to be wary of things like this because we've heard of driver's blaming Westerner's for accidents so they can get money. We travelled here September 2012.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Emerald Pool (Sa Morakot) also viewed

 
Krabi Town, Krabi Province
 

Been to Emerald Pool (Sa Morakot)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing